Frodo AMPS 155

Status
Not open for further replies.

heidi

Member Since 2012
This was a shocker after pretty consistent pre-shot numbers in the 400s over the last few cycles. I'm home from school today so I decided to give a drop of insulin (0.12 u) 45 min. delayed with monitoring. Now I'm second-guessing my decision but I imagine we all second guess ourselves a lot in the beginning.

I also decided to recheck my consistency/accuracy with microdosing and it seems like I might have slid into the 2.5 - 3 drops range in the last few cycles. I practiced my drop method a lot the first two days and am confident I was consistent with giving two drops (with four drops being 0.5 u). Then I got busy with school and sick boys and work and didn't keep checking myself and practicing. It was thinking those 400 pre-shots (down from 500s and "hi") were because we'd filled the shed and he was setting into a consistent pattern with this dose. Perhaps it was because of the slightly higher dose and a filling of the shed at the higher dose?

So some possible explanations for the low number -- not as much food overnight last night. His pancrease is erratically trying to produce a little insulin here and there and just happened to get some out last night (would also explain some of the other really low numbers over the last few weeks.)

Thanks for your thoughts.

Heidi
 
Hi, Heidi ~

Hope your sons are feeling better now.

I think you've come up with several plausible explanations for Frodo's nice blue numbers yesterday :smile: . Hard to tell for sure. If you were actually shooting a higher dose than .25U, maybe that's what gave Frodo those lower-than-expected blue numbers. And at AM +10 yesterday, you got that higher than 600 number because Frodo is bouncing off those lower blue numbers. A bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear, Heidi, but Frodo is often a surprise so you'll need to wait to see what he does now.

Are you going to continue with the 2 drop method, trying for consistency, to be giving close to a .25U dose, Heidi? Or do you think it would make sense to reduce to 1 drop for a .12U dose to see how that amount works for Frodo?

Boy, your furboy does keep you dancing, doesn't he?

Hope you have a pleasant day,
Eva
 
My feeling right now is that I'll keep him at the 0.25 dose and try to be more consistent this time. At least now I know I need to keep practicing my mico-dosing to keep myself honest. Those blue numbers were actually looking pretty good! I'm going to let the bounce clear then try to run a curve. Do you think Sunday would be long enough for the bounce to clear? If not, I could probably do the curve on Tuesday. How do I tell if the bounce has cleared?

I'm also making a change to my mudroom situation so that if my Mom let's Frodo in again while baby-sitting my boys, he won't have the opportunity to free feed on high carb food. I can't imagine the high carb food would have caused the >600 readings-- that's a bounce, correct? But I still have to have a better system for feeding my kitty who doesn't tolerate the canned food.

Thanks for your thoughts.
Heidi
 
Hi, Heidi ~

"My feeling right now is that I'll keep him at the 0.25 dose and try to be more consistent this time." -- Heidi, that's what I'd do, too, to see what the consistent .25U dose is doing for Frodo's numbers. You don't want to change that dose now and possibly bypass a good dose for him. And also that way, you can see if you need to hold steady at the .25U 2-drop dose or increase by a drop or decrease by a drop depending on how Frodo's numbers are looking.

The >600 numbers could have been caused by a combination of bounce and high carb foods, Heidi. You can tell a bounce has cleared when there's a breakthrough in those higher numbers, and you start getting some lower bg readings. However, Frodo was at 463 at AMPS this morning, already dropping some, and he's had other AMPS numbers in the same 400 range since being on the .25U dose. Not sure if he's still in that bounce or not.

What I'd suggest, if possible, Heidi, is to wait until Tuesday to run the curve. You want the curve to reflect Frodo's bg results after several days on the consistent .25U dose, not sure Sunday would give you enough time for that. And by Tuesday, the bounce (if there is a bounce) would have cleared.

Let's see what others have to suggest, too, Heidi.

TGIF,

Eva
 
Yup, you can never really tell what's a bounce or a dose change need or a result from sneaking some of the forbidden tasties!

In time, as you gather more and more data, you will get to know how Frodo really is.... maybe Frodo is super carb sensitive, like my Shadoe... she gets 3 pieces of some dry food and I may see her numbers jump almost 250-300 points! She don't care... she lubs them carbs!

For bouncing, as Frodo gets used to the better numbers, you should see less bounces and less huge bounces, but every once in awhile you may see a bounce... just cuz.

With the dosing, practice makes perfect, and you will get much better at the drops... you will be able to eyeball the size of the drop before flicking it off.

And never lose sight of your goal, if attainable..... OTJ. So, if you start to see lower numbers, it may be that Frodo is getting better at running the show with less need of your help with the drops, and not because you have dosed a bit bigger of drops.

Whenever you want to do a curve, it's a perfect time. All data is good to have no matter what you find out, good or bad. I think the best times to do curves would be on cycles where you will be around to watch closely and see how Frodo is acting, making notes on when food is eaten and when LB is used, if active or if sleeping lots. Every single bit of info you gather and record is useful.

That 155 is a pretty nice number; let's hope Frodo gets down into some nice green numbers soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top