Friday 2-4 ~ Jeddie +6 was 39

Status
Not open for further replies.
Something told me to get a spot check... I fed some MC and will retest in 30 mins.

Well, probably no one cares, but he was back to 60 in 45 mins and 275 at pmPS. Reducing the dose by .1u to .5u even though that didn't seem to be enough "last time". :YMSIGH:
 
Sheila, I wonder if he has been going that low through the last week or so...since there are very similar PM and AM PS's...maybe tha is just his cycle?

Not to make light at all, but 39 is really within reasonable limits if that is the lowest and he will get himself back up reasonably without rebound and whatnot- which is quite possible that he has been doing that as I mentioned.

Since you are home frequently, what do you think about giving this dose change some settle time and then the next time you catch a low like the 39, why not test through it to see if he hangs?

I mean, if you are testing every half hour or so and he hangs, no biggie, and if you see that it is actually a continual drop, then you are there to feed.

of course, I don't recommend this to new folks or people that don't have data or the time to be home to test theough leaving the low without food...And Sheila has her own mind to decide what she feels comfortable with.

I just wonder- with such similar PS's recently, if he might have been dipping that low for nadir, hanging, and then going back up...what do you think?
 
It's possible that he does that low, but when I spot check him, he is usually NOT that low. I think he has gone low evry time a PS is in the mid-upper 200s. When he is in the mid-upper 100s, he probably did not go that low. I think he is like PK in that if he drops low he bounces, so I'd rather have him not going that low.

Today's +5 was 195, but his amPS was 279 - almost 100 points higher than yesterday's. He might have gone low the day before from the 101, I meant to spot check, but I was busy working on an illustration and forgot.

I'll try to catch the next low and test again in 30 to see what happens.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
.Today's +5 was 195, but his amPS was 279 - almost 100 points higher than yesterday's. He might have gone low the day before from the 101, I meant to spot check, but I was busy working on an illustration and forgot.

Yeah, I know that one...PK has had a few 100's PS's in a row after all those pretty 60's and I have been meaning to curve to see if he is bouncing or needs more insulin and keep forgetting the furry little soul...

:roll:
 
Holding .5u.... he had a nice amPS today: 218. Looks like the bounce is settling.

I'm going to try for a few spot checks, but I also have a very complex illustration to do today, so I hope I don't forget. :roll:

FYI, I just got 6 boxes of my favorite lancets* on ebay for $18 (incl. shipping) - that's $3 ea when they normally cost about $11/box! And I got 600 test strips back in Nov. so there is no shortage of supplies.... I just gotta remember to test!

*I only use and recommend BD Ultra Fine II 30 gauge lancets.
 
my cell phone has an option to set up to 5 alarms at once...when I have a night I have to test through (its been a LONG time since I had to do that! LOL! ...ah, knockwood, antijinx!) Before I lay my head on the pillow I set the cell for every 2 hours or whatever.

You could do that for the day time...set them all at once to go off at the interim you want so you don't have to remember to set cell again after last test.

Now- you just reminded ME that I was supposed to curve this cycle, myself- duh!

One of my dogs is not well and have been up all night and trying to make him comfortable today...trying to hold out for vet tomorrow, but ER is only 10mins away if needed. *sigh $$$$$$

Anyway, cell alarm is great!
 
So, of course, I forgot. ohmygod_smile

Got a +8. He was 66. Probably lower earlier - and from a higher PS than last time. I don't know what this boy is doing....

My plan is to let the dose settle, get spot checks and if I catch him below 40 drop the dose. Repeat as needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top