Free feeding, no shots, holding in the 130s...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tammy S

Member Since 2018
Bugs was diagnosed 3/5/18 at 450 (first trip to the vet in quite a while. I'm sure this high number was somewhat stress related), started on novolin (sp?) 3 units. I changed his food per advice on this forum. New vet switched him to Prozinc 2 units after his first curve. He has since lost weight, curves have improved, & he was down to .5 units. I didn't want to stress him with more curves at the vet, so we started testing him (Advocate System). On 2 canned meals a day, he was coming in at 90 to 120 in the morning and no higher than 120 pre-meal at night...

Without going into lengthy detail, right now I am free feeding with dry zero carb, and canned snacks with water added, making sure he is drinking, so I am not getting fasting results. I test 2-3 times a day, and he is steadily in the 130's.

So, we are at about 10 days with no shots...

Today, by phone, I discussed my testing results with my vet, who supports home monitoring. I told her I was skipping shots at 150 or lower, but her response was it is risky to "take him off his insulin," but if I am comfortable with that, to do so.

hmmmmm... I think it's more risky to shoot at those numbers... I'm not "taking him off his insulin," per se. Rather, I am evaluating the need one test at a time...

Since I got no solid validation from my vet, I guess I am looking for some validation from this group that I am not doing him more harm than good by testing and skipping shots based on the results. It took Bugs and me a lot of courage to start testing. He seems to be in the 130's every test... (again, food is available all the time right now).

So, is 130 normal for a cat that is free feeding?

Your expertise, thoughts, advice, and support are greatly appreciated. Thank you all.

... this was much longer than I thought it would be. thanks again.
 
I'm in the same boat. Gerdy's BS is 139 and the vet is telling me to give the same 2 units as if over 200.
 
Hi, I found this thread by searching on here about "skipping shots."
I'm currently going through a similar situation. I began home testing this week, and for the last 3 days there has only been one time (and this was an hour after feeding) that Doody was over 200, and I gave him his 1 unit of Lantus.
Every other time I've tested him, he's been as low as 81, but no higher than 185. With those readings, I've not given him a shot. I'm going to attempt to make a spreadsheet this weekend, so I can share the results of tests on here.
Two weeks ago, the Vet did a Glucose Curve and none of his readings were under 300. The Vet told me to increase the dose to 2 units, twice per day.
But since then, I've switched to low carb food only for Doody. Thankfully I'm home testing, because he'd have been in trouble several times with lows in the 80's and 2 units of insulin!!!!!!
 
Truffles is doing the same thing. I am skipping shots if his bg is way under 200. Stalling if just over. My feelings are that we know our babies better than the vet. In Truffles case he is my happy contented cat again. I read him for signs he is unwell and home test He loves his wet food diet too, the YA zero I fed as a free snack really upset his stomach so I stopped that. At the end of the day isn’t that what we want, happy contented kitties. This forum has been invaluable and the support I receive.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top