Freddie PMPS 167

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yvonne & Freddie

Member Since 2014
3-12 AMPS 346 +7 282 PMPS 167

I didn't give Fred his shot last night because his PMPS was 189 so his numbers were high this morning .
Would anyone know what could be going on with Fred why his numbers are going down for the evening PMPS without having any change all day. Why would his BG go down from Nadair +7 I thought after 6 hours it should start going up .
I tested him an hour later tonight and hi reading was 173.

I did make a SS chart for him but no clue why it will not upload for anyone to see. I truly know nothing how to work a computer I guess I should not be here because it is to confusing to me. But if I would be listening to my vet, Freddie would not be here. He wanted Freddie on 2.5 units and felt I did not need to test. With all this wonderful information on this site I am so grateful for that. I know so much more on diabetes when I knew nothing when I came here, I just want to help Freddie and do what is right for him..He can hardly walk I know he has diabetes neuropathy He is the love of my life and I feel I am failing him and just don't have a clue what to do anymore to help him. And I am sure you guys are really thinking I am an idiot. I am just making myself so sick I am so stressed. I just don't know anymore how much I should be giving him...I have been giving him 1.5 units and now his numbers are down so I don't shoot like last night and tonight and it goes back up in the morning...

I want to thank everyone that has tried to help me but I will just try and figure out how to treat him because I don't want to take up anymore of your time --just can not get the SS out for you to see his numbers. I have tried to write them out but I know I was all over the place. I am just over the moon with this.
Thank You Yvonne
 
Yvonne, we are here to help you, and we can help you with getting the spreadsheet going too.

Please don't feel bad because you think you can't do it. Not everyone is good with computers, and getting it set up truly is the hardest part, so please let us try to help you. Once it's set up, all you have to do is enter the test numbers as you get them!

As for the numbers, there aren't always any easy answers. It takes time and patience to start seeing how each dose is really doing, and the goal is to get the numbers down into the normal range for as much time as possible.

If you're home testing, feeding low carb food, and giving insulin, those are the most important things. The rest is "book-keeping", and we have people here who can set up your spreadsheet for you and help you learn how to use it.

As you get more tests in, you'll learn when it's safe to shoot. With a 189, I think it would have been perfectly safe for you to shoot last night, but I understand your concern. There really isn't ANY number you can't shoot (except maybe under 50) as long as you can test, and intervene with high carb food if necessary.

Please don't give up on us now! We don't think anyone is an idiot, and once you truly understand more about treating Freddie's diabetes, you'll feel a lot less stress in your life knowing you're doing the best you can for him, and there's really nothing you can't handle.

I sent you a private message, so look up on the top left side for something that says "1 new message" (although it could say "4 new messages"...for some reason it was sent 4 times)

Here's Yvonne & Freddie's spreadsheet link...we will work on getting it into her signature tomorrow https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0ApY8pEc4H62zdDVaY2REVzF4cmVVU3BPYkFWbnVuRmc#gid=0
 
Hi Yvonne. I know you are frustrated. It happens to me on a daily basis. But we will figure this out. I know you have been told not to shoot under 200. Look at some of the spreadsheets of people who do it on a daily basis and some of the ones where you see OTJ (off the juice). It didn't happen in a day. Max is still not regulated after going back on insulin in January. Hang in there.

Elise
 
One other thing is that you want a dose that is safe to shoot twice a day. Since you keep having to skip shots due to low pre-shots, this usually means a dose reduction is warranted. In your case, this would be 1.25u per day instead.
 
Hi Yvonne!

Glad we at least got your spreadsheet up and you've got the test results in that you've gotten so far! That'll help a lot!!

Since you dropped Freddie back to 1 unit this morning, get as many tests in as you can, and then at PMPS, if you get a number under 200, DON'T FEED, Don't shoot and post and ask for help. If you go to the first post here (the one with the subject line "Freddie PMPS 167") and "Edit" it to say something like "PMPS ### Stalling, need help", then someone who's watching should see it and help you. It would be even better if you could get a +11 or +11.5 before the PMPS test is due so you'll know if he's going up, or going down.

You DO want to learn to shoot lower numbers that are under 200, but the first time it's scary for most people, so we'll be happy to hold your hand and help you through it. It's important that you don't skip any more shots since Lantus needs consistent dosing to do it's job.

Hang in there Yvonne! You're doing a great job with him so far in getting the testing in. The spreadsheet is just a tool to help share his numbers with the other members here so they can give you the benefit of their experience.
 
I like the fact you decreased the dose but hold it a few days before deciding if it works or not. Lantus is a depot insulin and so a dose change will take a few days to show if its working while the depot drains.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top