Fred 6/28 AMPS 71, +3@52,+4@58,+6@47,+6.5@58;+6.75@60;+8@57;+9@51;+10@72,+11@58 ,+12 @77,+13@64 skip

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamye and Fred

Member Since 2015
Yesterday :
Fred 6/27/15 AMBG 78 skip; +9@101,PMPS 77,+2@68,+5@54,+5.5@64
I shot my lowest number last night and apparently have balls of steel (eeek) ... I slept with one eye open and checked him twice and used 6 strips! I'm gonna be in and out today.... I took the day off..... going to my Lone Star Cowboy Church to give thanks for Fred's health and mine. I know some of y'all shoot some really low numbers (Sienne and Gabby comes to mind).... how low do ya go? I know .25 ain't much, but I'm still pulling my hair out.
 
He got .25U at 9:00 last night, so he was due almost an hour ago but he didn't eat til just now. Just retest @ 71.
 
Last edited:
You realize that you shot last night lower than the skip yesterday morning? How much did you stress about it before you did it? And like Shiloh, who skipped yesterday morning, b/c of a 53 PS, Fred doesn't seem to be showing any reaction to it.
 
the most experienced choose not to shoot below 50.

you can stall... just remember don't feed... but if it's been a while since eating, he may just continue sliding down.

if church doesn't take too many hours (like 2 to 3) ... I would shoot... feed (know that he eats) ... run home and test....
 
I just realized that. Yes. So I gave him the .25. Changed my numbers to reflect +12 and AMPS. I'll retest after church. Let's surf safe guys!
 
He ate about 2 tsp poultry platter pate which is 33/60/7. Dang I sure am nervous when he does this! I waste 3 - 4 strips! He's at 58.
 
Here's your link to yesterday, where we mentioned the 0.1U dose. Looks like you get to try that one next. :D There's been enough skips in there I wouldn't do .25U again. Here's a picture of 0.1U:
01unit-1.jpg


BTW, lowest I've ever shot was 52, but I stalled when I got a 49. But it's easier on Levemir cause often Neko's nadir is at shot time.

Up a bit more please Fred!
 
The rulers in that document only work for BD syringes. If you look in the New to the Group Sticky, there are some other pictures of smaller doses. You'll have to eyeball it.
 
one hour til shot time..... he's eating.......:nailbiting: ....the question is ....to shoot or not to shoot.......... he's staying pretty flat all day!
 
If he's this low and you fed him within 2 hours of shot time, we won't know if the number you get at PMPS time is food influenced, ie, higher than it would have been without the food. You could either stall a bit to see if he is rising without food influence, or skip tonight.
 
He is still in the 50,s so I felt he needed food. He's not due for shot for 45 minutes. We shall see. He's been in the 50's for most of the day. Will retest at 10p.
 
Well it's shot time and he's at 77, same as last night. I'm exhausted and I'm sure Fred is sick of being poked. This was an unexpected curve today. 50's most of the day. I need another day off. Back to work tomorrow at 1pm.
 
I'd go to the 0.1u as his next dose:
  • Since 2006 we've encouraged those practicing Tight Regulation to attempt reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely. During a two week OTJ trial, you want to see mostly green numbers (under 100) with only a few random blue numbers between 100 - 120 to help ensure a strong remission.
Doling out low carb food every hour or so will help him surf. I'd give a teaspoon or so.

It's going to be worth all this work. Hang in there!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top