Fred 6/10/15 AMPS 146 , +2 @ 233 , +6 @ 277 he's eating

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamye and Fred

Member Since 2015
Update at bottom !
Fred is in the hospital, receiving pain med, fluids. All other tests were good...kidney, RBC, WBC etc. BS was over 400, of course. He hasn't had much insulin since he's been sick, the last few days, ...not eating etc. I hate that he has to stay in the hospital. I'm taking his food, for when/if he wants to eat and his Lantus and a sheet he likes to lay on, and his catnip sock. :(
previous thread
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fred-6-7-15-vet-tomorrow.138997/#post-1434868
 
Last edited:
{{{Jamye}}}

I'm dealing with p-titis myself in one of my civvies right now, so I understand what you're going through. It sounds like Fred is in good hands. It's great that all his other test were good. Sending healing vines.
 
First take a deep breath. Pancreatitis is very common with kidney disease and diabetes. I was pretty sure that was what was going on and was hoping you would get to the vet. My first cat had a few acute episodes. Max has chronic pancreatitis for 5 1/2 years and maybe longer. Like most people I thought he was being picky about his food. It is a frustrating disease but when you treat the symptoms quickly it doesn't usually get to the point of needing hospitalization. Make sure you bring him home with cerenia or ondansetron or ideally both. The latter tge may not have but can be purchased from Costco or your pharmacy of choice. Just shop around using Good RX to get the best price. I'm sorry he's in the hospital but it's good news that all his other tests are normal. This could be a one time thing. There's a thread explaining what we know about pancreatitis you might want to read. I highly recommend the IDEXX Round Table Discussion. :bighug:
 
Is he eating? More than 2 days without eating can turn into hepatic lipidosis, too.
 
All other tests were good.
Spent an hour with him, at the hospital, tonight. Hard to see him , with the IV/ fluids...just plain not feelin good. I gave him insulin and antibiotics while I was with him and just loved on him a bunch. He got pain med before I left. Hate coming home to an empty house. Fred not meeting me at the door. Hurts my heart. I hope he's better soon. Thanks guys.
 
Vines for dear Fred. I'm glad they let you visit. Hopefully he will come home tomorrow or the day after. Is he eating or are they assist feeding.? Ask them if you don't know. Not all hospitals do it and like BJM said he needs to eat at least half his normal amount to avoid fatty liver disease.
 
You've got my good energies going to Fred. Hope for a speedy recovery and home soon with health. I had a dog who had pancreatitis twice and it's hard to see but, he made it through both times and lived a full life span. Good wishes all around...for you too!
 
He's home and purring and has already munched on oat grass. You can see on his neck where they took blood. His leg is shaved where the IV was. The discouraging part of this is that my vet sent him, not because she felt he was ready, but because he was unmanageable today! WTH? So I'm Going to be doing what they should be doing. That's ok. I'll give him his pain and nausea MEDS and antibiotics and insulin and see that he eats and gets water. I'm glad he's home. I just hope it wasn't too soon. Father help me take care of FRED. Thank you. Amen.
meds : Cerenia, Buprenorphine, Metronidazole
 
You will do great, Jamye!

Not only do you have the love and support of your L&LL family, but a WEALTH of knowledge of people who have been through this and will be able to help you with anything you need!

We are here to answer questions (those smarter than me or who have been through this of course), support, "listen" to your vents, whatever you need!!!!
 
He's coming out of anesthesia.... they doped him to take out the IV. So I am sure he won't be hungry for a while. He gets no meds tonight. He has purred non-stop! The vet said he was very aggressive with them. Well, maybe because he is in pain? I'm very disappointed in the vet.
 
Did the send you home w/ sub-cutaneous fluids? What they can do for p-titis can mostly be done at home and many cats aare much better off w/out the stress.

Some cats are like that w/ vets. My first cat went wild there, she could tell the sound of the tires pulling into the gravel parking lot. By the time we were inside she was in full frenzy. Luckily the vet was also a friend and would come to give her vaccinations at our house, the techs were afraid to go near her! At home she was the friendliest cat, even flopping down in front of strangers on the sidewalk for a belly rubT

After we moved to CA she was fine at the vet here, until we boarded here there once when we had to go out of town. They put her in the cat room and she went nuts! She just hated other cats and the old vet in Mn had a clinic cat who came out to greet everyone! DOH!!! Some cats jsut have weird triggers. Tricia's Harvey goes nuts and attacks when he hears another cat yowl.
 
Last edited:
Sorry to hear that your vet is unhelpful. Perhaps begin searching for a different one? At least you are getting good advice here. Fred will be OK. Just make sure that he eats. What he eats isn't as important as that he eats.

Sending many healing vines to your boy,

Ella & Rusty
 
Mine has weird triggers.... she gets very aggressive with the vet... especially after they've done something to her.... they don't try to touch her again and have me come to the back to get her. She also flips out if she's put in a cage....starts rolling over and over....
I've had her her entire life.

So maybe it's his way of venting that he doesn't like what they do....

adding prayers and healing vines....
 
Thank you all. We will be just fine. I appreciate all of you here ! He's been going to the plate of food and eating a little at a time. Hes a smart man. Don't eat too fast.
 
I'm wondering about your comment that they doped him up to take out the IV. Like actually knocked him out? If so, go really slow with the food - like a teaspoon watered down every half hour. Anesthesia slows down the motility of the gut, plus it can lower blood sugar, and you don't want a cat that's barfing and having low blood sugar.

Have you checked his blood sugar and how long until you shoot? If he actually had a full anesthesia, you might be better off skipping his shot tonight.
 
Julie he was under anesthesia when they removed the IV. He's going very slow on his own, with food. Just licking, nibbling every so often.
I just checked his BS he's at 258. I dont know what time they shot him the 1.0 today. Vet said no meds at all until tomorrow. He's not eating enough that I would consider it anyway. He's coming out of the anesthesia and he's been hanging out with me, hanging out on the balcony. He's even on the table with me now. Seems fine.
 
I received very little instructions re MEDS. Advice please on the Buprenorphine. Does it go in the muscle? Any other advice? We had a good night. He's eating a bit more. Will give MEDS at 9:00-9:30.

meds : Cerenia, Buprenorphine, Metronidazole
 
Most bupe goes into the "cheek" of their mouth,(it's a liquid oral med) but it does also come in an injectable...if it's the injection, it can go subQ just like insulin
 
I would call the vet and get detailed instructions from them - it's their responsibility and obligation to give you that info!! How's Fred feeling today?
 
Thanks Chris. Yes this is oral. The antibiotic is oral. I found instructions. He gets those this morning. And gets Cerenia tonight. His BS was 146 so I wasnt going to give insulin because I will be at work and can only come home once to check on him. Don't want him going too low.
 
It sounds like he's feeling much better! I'm not sure if it "technically" makes a difference which order, but my personal inclination would be to give pain meds first.....just my gut on that, though. We'll see if others have more "technical" responses for you!
 
Well since the antibiotic needed to be swallowed, I gave it first and then put the pain med on the gums, as per the instructions. He's sunning on the balcony. I'll check his BS again and decide on the insulin. I go to work 1-9 and could shoot him again late tonight. Gotta try to get him back on schedule.
 
Sorry to hear that your vet is unhelpful. Perhaps begin searching for a different one? At least you are getting good advice here. Fred will be OK. Just make sure that he eats. What he eats isn't as important as that he eats.

Sending many healing vines to your boy,

Ella & Rusty

I would have to agree with this statement @Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)! What vet sends a pet home *IF* they are not ready to come home especially, just because they're a difficult patient? I've had vets who have had to deal with Morrigan and in spite of her being a handful, have done what was needed to take care of her.

The ONLY explanation that I can see on this one is that he was ready to come home and with a bit of frustration on their part, decided not to keep him in any longer. I cannot see a vet pass up an opportunity to rake in more money by keeping them longer if it's necessary. Sorry to say but, if they can rake in a few extra bucks by giving a need for it, they will so, that leads me to believe that it was more about the fact that he was considered ready to come home.

But, I totally agree with you here. I think another vet clinic *might* want to be looked for after some clarification is given by the vet for release.
 
He's @ 233 now @ 11:30 am. Should I shoot a partial dose?

Since he's heading up, it probably is a good idea to get at least a little insulin in him. Just remember that you'll be shooting his next dose 12 hours from when you shoot this dose. You're heading out for work, right? Are you able to get a test before you head out the door, just to see what he's up to?

I'm at work myself right now, but I will try to check back...
 
Hi. I just saw this. I'm very glad he is home and I think will do much better with you. Max who is the most laid back cat on the outside but way too stressed internally gets cage fever. He was a terror when they did his first curve after administering Lantus for the first time. Other than that my vet always says what a good patient he is. He growled after being caged for his heart echo as well but was wonderful to work with otherwise

So, I'm home if you have any questions. :bighug:
 
Just checked him, he's at 277. My vet used to say what a good patient he was. Pain makes a man cranky! He's eating now. Seems to be good. No vomit. No diarrhea.
 
so glad to hear he's doing pretty well today! That's the best news ever! I don't think it would matter if the antibiotic or the pain med went first.

Would you go ahead and start a new thread for each day? This one now has 45 replies on it and is on it's 3rd day - they just become unmanageable if they get too long!
 
Thanks, Julie. I'll start a new thread tomorrow. I thought with all the history in this one, it was the logical one. But I have a question about his dosage on insulin. He's gotten off track, obviously....your advice? I just checked him an hour ago and he's at 385. He didn't get a dose this morning because he was under 200 and I was gonna be gone at work and didn't want him going too low. I've given him all his other meds tonight. He hasn't eaten his dinner. He seems fine. No vomiting or diarrhea.
 
Hey Jamye!! Sure hope Fred's feeling better now that he's home!! I know you are happy to have him there with you!

The general "rule" is that if you get off schedule (have to skip several days or have someone shooting for you while you're on vacation, that kind of thing) is that as soon as possible, you return to the same dose you were at before the "event", so I'd probably take him back to 1.75 tomorrow morning unless his BG does something really strange tonight
 
Thanks Chris. He's doing ok. The meds have him feeling a bit dopey, but that's expected. Lol. I just wasn't sure about the dose since he's off track and highly medicated so I went with a low dose. Tomorrow's another day and another day closer to feeling better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top