Fred 5/19/15 AMPS 350 and possibly a furshot ! grrr

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamye and Fred

Member Since 2015
First day of switching to TR and possibly gave Fred a fur shot! Grrrr ! AMPS 350 , +3 @ 332 ! This is not a good start.
 
You'll want to note on the ss that it was possibly a furshot this morning. That will become important the next time you're evaluating what to do with the dose.

I see a mention of trace ketones yesterday. Ketones indicate not enough insulin and not enough food. I'm not sure why you skipped his shot last night - it doesn't say. Whenever you see even a trace of ketones, i'd move to checking for ketones twice a day. It's possible for them to grow from trace to large in a matter of hours. Also adding as much water to his food as he will tolerate will help to flush them out.

Here's a link to information on ketones, including good discussions on the condos/threads that are linked at the bottom of the page.

Fur shots happen to everyone. All you can do is your best. Are you having trouble seeing where to shoot? There are things that help with that - if that's your situation just ask.
 
I'm considering shaving his scruff so I can see to shoot, better, because it takes so long to get a sure shot, that he gets p.o'd. SS updated. Thank you!
 
I saw a really cool idea somewhere - have the vet shave a spot about the size of a quarter. Then when you shoot, work it "around the clock" so that you don't shoot repeatedly in the same spot. For example, Monday morning shoot at 12 - Monday night at 12:30. Tuesday morning 1, Tuesday pm 1:30 - and just work your way around the shaved spot.

Haven't tried it but thought it was a good suggestion.

Punkin's hair was very light colored next to his skin, basically the same color as his skin at the base. We bought a Petzl Headlamp, sorta like the one I've linked here, but not the same exact model. I don't think ours cost that much, but I'm not sure. It made a HUGE difference in being able to see where I was shooting. We always gave punkin his shots while he was eating, so we'd have everything ready to go with his syringe already full, when we set down his food bowl. After we had more experience I didn't need the light anymore, but for the first little while it was really helpful.
 
I've got some hair clippers. I'm gonna try this. Freds fur is so soft and thick. This has to be done. I give him his shots while he's eating. Thank you !
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top