Fred is doing good. Since I returned from Mexico, he's been feeling good. I'm doing a curve today and then starting TR. Wish us luck. Hope y'all are having a good Monday. It's our weekend!
Based on his curve, today, his nadir was @ +6 @ 180 .....so going into TR protocol for the first time , recommended dose is 1.7 U (15 lbs is 6.8 kg ) 6.8 x .25 is 1.7 U) I'm using 3/10 ml syringe do I do 1.5 U or 2.0U ? Do I have this figured correctly?
Since Fred has already been on Lantus for a while, we wouldn't start back at the beginning with the TR starting dose. Instead, we'd look at where he is on his current dose. You've been at 1.0 unit long enough to see some nice blue nadirs, but not green, so I think you have room to increase to 1.25 units. From the TR protocol:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Thank you. I'll increase to 1.25 in the morning. I enjoyed my trip to Cancun, except for the worrying about Fred. He's the man in my life, so I couldn't get him out of my mind.