Fred 4/28 AMPS 440 !!! WTH?

Status
Not open for further replies.
The 440 is not that far out of the previous PS of 374. Last night could you have given a partial fur shot or he ate more/higher carb food?
 
With the 20% meter variance factored in, as Larry said, the 440 and 374 are essentially the same number. I know it feels so much worse to see a red number on the ss instead of a pink, but if you think of it like that, the 440 could actually be as low as 352! Looking at that and the fact that he got down into the 200s last night, it doesn't look like last night's was a fur shot. The numbers our cats get do vary even with the same dose, same food etc as insulin is a hormone so there's no guarantee that every dose will be used in exactly the same way by Fred's body. I am, however, thinking that the reduction from 1.25 units to 1 might have failed as he's been mostly in yellow and pink with only an occasional blue number since the reduction. He might need to go back up to the 1.25 units for a little longer.
 
Yeah I was pretty certain I didn't give a fur shot last night, that's why I couldn't understand the 440 #. He's down to 301 now. Should I go ahead and go back to 1.25 cuz you're right....the decrease down to 1.0 doesn't seem to be working? I'm going on vacation May 4 - 8.... but my sitter is a vet tech so she tests a couple times a day. She goes to school and works all day, so she can't test during the day, except maybe one day when she's off. I don't wanna worry about him going too low or too high. ACK!
 
Oh, that makes it difficult to decide. If it was me, I think I'd be inclined to keep the 1.0 until you're back from vacation - he's running a little higher than is ideal but that's safer than him going too low if your sitter can't test him during the day. But you'll probably want to increase back to 1.25 as soon as you're back to pull those numbers down a little. :) Failed reductions happen - once he's ready for the reduction, he'll earn it again so don't worry that he needs to go back up to the slightly higher dose. :)
 
I agree with manxcat in keeping the dosage at the 1 unit until you get back from vacation. I'd think that a sitter (even though a vet tech) might be a little pressed for what to do *IF* those numbers began to run lower than you'd be comfortable not being home for. It's only a few days. :)
 
Just got back from vet. Took my meter to compare with theirs and the numbers were identical. 244. I went straight there from home...less than 20 minutes. I thought the human meter Relion Prime ran higher than the pet meter. Vet wants to increase dose to 1.5 when I get back from Mexico on the 9th.....depending on how he does with the sitter while I'm gone.She has been looking at my SS via email... I had to explain some of it to her ie the +2 +3 etc. She seemed miffed that I've been changing doses on my own. Whatever. You guys have helped me so much!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top