Freckles/Judy - Fur shot this AM, PMPS 256, 227@+1, 185@+3, 173@+5

Judy and Freckles

Member Since 2019
Last post

A little hard to do an increase when you do a FURSHOT! :banghead: I thought I was finally on a roll with no more fur shots because I was using the shaved area around the Libre for shot time. I must not be inserting the needle straight in, because the insulin came out the side of the 'tent'.

Tonight, I had to use 4 different spots for the injection because Freckles was flinching when the insulin was injected. She was fine with the needle inserted but sensitive to the insulin.
 
Oh no! :( I'm so sorry that happened...she'll give you another chance tomorrow.

Are you using a short needle? I did that once with Luci...she doesn't have much fat and I held up skin to make a tent and shot clean thru to the other side...I got rid of those long needle syringes and now I use the shortest one's 15/64's.

Hang in there...happens to all of us at one time or another.
 
I had better luck with the longer needles too. You say Freckles is flinching - I wonder is she is starting to feel the sting of the higher dose of Lantus. It's acid base often causes a sting when you get to higher doses. Not always, it's ECID. Knew of some higher dosed cats on Lantus, but most people switch to Levemir if the dose is high enough, especially if the cat is responding to the sting.
 
I wonder is she is starting to feel the sting of the higher dose of Lantus.
I thought of that as well as I remember reading of the possibility of the sting, but given in each of the 4 shot areas tonight she maybe only got about 1-1.5 units at each injection site, I wouldn't think that the small amount would give a sting?

I don't think Freckles will be at this dose for long. She and I had a talk about the dosing level and she's agreed to start getting reductions...;)
 
I also can name cats that felt the Lantus sting at smaller doses. Neko used to occasionally walk away from the Lantus shot - resulting in fur shots. :banghead: She never moved for her Lev shots.

Speaking of dosing levels, Freckles is at that point in her diabetic journey (6+ units), that we suggest getting tests done for acromegaly and insulin auto antibodies. The vet draws the blood and sends it to Michigan State University for the tests. Cushings is another secondary endocrine condition that can require higher doses, but is less common and usually associated with skin issues. Whereas one in four diabetic cats has acromegaly. Neko had it and IAA, much to the surprise of my vet.
 
Neko first saw green at 3.75 units, she had two of the conditions, and didn't earn her first reduction until 8.75 units. We have seen kitties under 4 units with acromegaly, IAA and Cushings here. And also seen cats get up to 5.5 units then turn it around. Over 6 however, there is almost always another condition present.

Unfortunately, Michigan State University is the only place in the Americas that has the equipment that can test for acromegaly and IAA. Cushings tests are available at more places. Cushings in dogs is fairly common.
 
Incredible appetite, stealing and eating inappropriate foods (baquette, muffins, banana bread), and her dose. She was on a low carb diet at the time of her diabetes diagnosis. I found out later that her tearing of one eye was due to soft tissue growth in her eye duct. Pretty subtle sign, vetty wrote it off as nothing. The majority of cats with acromegaly don't show obvious signs at diagnosis. But there are some common signs such as a pot belly, noisy breathing/snoring, not losing weight in spite of not being regulated. There is no symptoms of insulin auto antibodies, other than in the spreadsheet.
 
Incredible appetite, stealing and eating inappropriate foods (baquette, muffins, banana bread), and her dose. She was on a low carb diet at the time of her diabetes diagnosis. I found out later that her tearing of one eye was due to soft tissue growth in her eye duct. Pretty subtle sign, vetty wrote it off as nothing. The majority of cats with acromegaly don't show obvious signs at diagnosis. But there are some common signs such as a pot belly, noisy breathing/snoring, not losing weight in spite of not being regulated. There is no symptoms of insulin auto antibodies, other than in the spreadsheet.
K. Thanks and good to know. Something to think about. We are still seeing: ravenous appetite (but has lessened - she isn't stealing food anymore, nor swiping at our hands); and higher insulin dose. Since starting insulin she has gained her weight back that she lost and her coat is better. No change in breathing or meow; no UTI; no physical appearance changes; I rarely see her drink water (but I do add water in with her FF); always pees in LB.
 
Back
Top