Freaked out kitty, freaky numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
We had some new furniture delivered today and, due to past scary associations with certain types of noises, Squallie completely freaked out. Then not long after the furniture was all moved in/out, we had a guest who stayed most of the day and into the evening, someone Squall knows, but doesn't see often. He freaked out even worse, and hid for most of the day. His PMPS was only 161 so I stalled for a while, during which time he hid again, and this time we couldn't find him when it was time to re-test. He finally came out of hiding about an hour later, and his BG was 139! And he was shaking like a leaf and obviously very terrified. This is so unlike him! Our guest left because she was afraid she was causing his distress, but he continued to tremble fairly violently even after she left. His last test was 172 so I fed him and gave him a lower dose for tonight.

Could this all be stress or should I be concerned that something else is going on? He seems more like himself, now, but I' still worried about him. In all the years wew've been together I've never seen him shake like that, except for his last visit to his ex-vet (and which she thought was febrile seizures but wasn't!), but that passed very quickly, this didn't.
 
Well, to add to poor Squallie's rough day, Mom did not do a very good job estimating how much insulin to give and he's been dropping close to the danger point. I've been testing every 20-30 minutes, and have been giving him gravy from canned food and a little Karo to keep him from going too low, but we're only 4 hours into his 12 hour cycle - gonna be a long night for us, I think.
 
Oh Lucy, I'm just reading all about poor Squallie. How is he doing now? Were you able to steer him out of a hypo event? I know you need some coffee:coffee: please keep us posted :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top