? Frankie......what to do with him?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue484

Member Since 2015
Morning. Frankie has just started his 7th cycle on 3.25 units and the best number I have seen is an amps of 281 (15.6). Is this still NDW? Does he need an increase or decrease? Could it be the hot weather affecting him? Is he bouncing? I am at a loss on how to help him.
 
I'd increase. NDW only lasts a couple of cycles. He's had enough time at this dose to show what it is capable of, and it's nothing to write home about. It's not uncommon for cats to have to go up and down and up and up and down and up in dose.

Hot weather could be affecting him, but what I see more often with hot weather is less appetite and not eating as much.
 
Ditto on what Wendy said. From your signature, you indicated you're following TR. If that's the case, then if Frankie's nadirs are not routinely in blue numbers (or lower), then you should be increasing his dose every 3 days/6 cycles. Frankie is bouncy. The best strategy at this stage of the process is to keep increasing until things start to level out. I'm concerned that if you hold his doses for too long when he's in a less than desirable BG range that glucose toxicity can start to build up which will add to the bounciness and make it harder to get him into good numbers.

 
Typical!! Just because I ask as question 5 am +6 he has beaten his lowest figure and is 15.4 (277). Still not brilliant, so I will definitely increase tonight and every 6 cycles until he nadirs in the blues and stops bouncing!!!
 
Just an FYI. Some cats are bouncy. It has nothing to do with you or what you're doing. Cats bounce until they don't. Try to not get too frustrated. It's a normal process.
 
Sue I know how frustrating this is. My guy is a big bouncer and it is only recently that the bounces seem to last shorter periods of time. My earlier numbers (which are not on my s/s) were largely blacks and reds. The occasional time Tuxie hit a lower yellow or blue he was way back up. If you look at Frankie's s/s you will see that the biggest bounces are after he has hit lower numbers, especially after hitting green. As others have advised increasing little by little will hopefully he;p him get down into lower numbers on a more regular basis. Good luck!!
 
At +7 he's 232 (12.9). Blooming cat! I never know what he's going to do!

He is heading in the right direction. Maybe Frankie will try out some blues later today. Fingers crossed.

Come on Frankie...blue is much nicer colour to hang out in!
 
Every 3 days / 6 cycles as the protocol states. Look at the spreadsheets of the longer term members and notice how low they shoot and the nadirs they aim to get.
You want Frankie to get nadirs down to just above 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer or 68 mg/dL on a pet glucometer.
 
Since Frankie still has not hit the blues or greens, I would think that the increase should still be done.
 
The goal is to get Frankie into normal number range. This dose still isn't getting him there - I'd increase.
 
Thanks folks. I increased tonight as advised. He had a low (for him!!) PMPS of 18.6 (335), paws crossed he starts stabilising as he was heading in the right direction today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top