Frankie Needs a Push

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dan and Frankie

Member Since 2013
Hey all,

I've been over in RL and I was hoping someone could look at Frankies SS... Shes been bouncing back and forth between mid 200s to low 100s and had 66 amps yesterday which I skipped her shot. Her PMPS is in 45 Mins. It' looks like she needs a little nudge to stay in the blues and greens and possibly go OTJ within a month or so *fingers crossed* Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!!
 
I always like to get a +10 or a +11 test when possible, so I can compare that test to the PS test and know whether my kitty is surfing or rising or dropping at shot time.

Can you get some more tests during the night time, so we can help you better with your dose questions? It's kind of hard to say what to do when there's all those nadir numbers that we can't see.
When you're home during the day, I would try for at least a mid-cycle test. I would try to get a +2 whenever you can, as that will tell whether it might be an active cycle coming up and more tests may be needed. Also, if possible I would try to set an alarm to get a mid-cycle test at night time. I know it sounds like a lot of work and a lot of testing, but it's how we keep our kitties safe while working through the dose adjustments.

I hope your wish comes true on the OTJ ;-)
 
Hi, Dan and welcome to the TR version of LL.

We tend to be a bit more data driven on this side of the Board. I'm not comfortable with making any suggestion regarding dose given that you don't have any PM test data and very limited spot checks. With Lantus, what you see at pre-shot doesn't really tell you the story of what's happening with respect to the effectiveness of any given dose. Further, dose decisions are based on the lowest point in the cycle (aka the nadir) and not on the pre-shot numbers. With both TR protocol and the SLGS approach, it's recommended that you get at least one test per cycle in addition to your pre-shot tests, whenever possible. This will give you a better sense of what the dose is doing. With the data you have, there's no way to know if those pinks are bounces or what may be going on. If you are hoping to get Frankie into remission, I'd encourage you to get some spot checks.
 
I have been lax on the testing because she has been doing so well (Whole Cat), but it seems that I need to get back to more regular testing to have the possibility to go OTJ... I am open to suggestion. I'm going to go ahead with the same does at 6:30 and get a +2...and +4 Do I need to run a curve?
 
Curves can be helpful. However, it can be just as helpful to get somewhat random spot checks. It's really up to you and your schedule. If the push is for remission, getting more information with respect to how low Frankie is going and what is or isn't a bounce will help you to make informed decisions about dosing.
 
Hi Dan

Glad you came over...I know Mel has had computer issues.

You did a good job of testing today. With the spot checks, as suggested, we can figure out where Frankie is with this dose.

I know you aren't used to posting like we do here, but it does allow those of us watching to scan the numbers in the subject lines.

Thanks, Dan.
 
I'll get around to it... I've been lax on this for about month or two... Just been very busy with work as I'm trying to sock away every penny can til the babies get here, but I don't want to deny Frankie (or myself) the possibility of going otj... I just posted her lights out numbers... I've got a very busy day tomorrow, so I can't stay up for more and I can't set alarms as both of us have trouble sleeping after waking up in the middle of the night. Tomorrow I''ll be able to get an out the door at +1 (probably not event worth taking) and I should be back around 12 (+5.5) I can do tests all day after that,
 
Dan and Frankie said:
...It' looks like she needs a little nudge to stay in the blues and greens and possibly go OTJ within a month or so *fingers crossed* Any advice would be appreciated.
Well hello Dan--great to hear from you! Long time no see; I was wondering how you, DW and Frankie were. I bet you and your DW are starting to get really, really excited about your twins!!! Due date is in July, right?

I have no advice regarding dosage, but can tell you that the advice given here from the Advisors regarding getting more tests in is extremely important to managing Frankies' FD and can have a huge impact of getting her OTJ. I know it is a lot of work and some interrupted sleep, but I can tell you that it has really helped Gobbles' chance of being OTJ; as of today, it has been 13 days since Gobbles has had any insulin, and I am certain that is due to following the TR Protocol, participation in the Lantus TR group, and because of all the advice, opinions, support and education that I receive here. Keep up the great work testing :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top