Frankie 5.16 AMPS 165 +2 171 +5 105 +9 101 +12 116

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Frankie 5.16 AMPS 165

Nina and KB said:
Woo hoo, look at that!

Look at what? The last time I shot at 170, he ended up going up over 300.

Even if today the dose works like its supposed to "flat curve, with drops, not rises" I'm here all day to keep an eye on him.
 
This is exactly what we want to see.. Frankie surfing lower HEALTHY #s! Are you home to monitor? If I were you.. I would shoot, feed & get a +1 or +2 to see where Frankie is going!! Way to go Dad!! :thumbup
 
Nicole & Baby said:
This is exactly what we want to see.. Frankie surfing lower HEALTHY #s! Are you home to monitor? If I were you.. I would shoot, feed & get a +1 or +2 to see where Frankie is going!! Way to go Dad!! :thumbup

He's heaidng up (based on +9 tp +12) I think I'm going to wait a bit, (he nibbled), maybe till 6:00 and shoot a dose of 1,5

Yes I'll be home
 
Re: Frankie 5.16 AMPS 165 +12 116 PMPS 130

Done

1.5 units

I'm glad my AC is finally on, as it could get a bit dicey in here from shooting this low.
 
Great job!! I suspect Frankie is still in LTS (Liver Training School) so he will probably go a bit higher & not drop too low.. but who knows..these CrAzY kitties keep us guessing!! Have an enjoyable evening, Jay!
 
Marvie and Tugger said:
Gorgeous numbers Frankie!

Did you shoot Jay?

Yep at +13 130 and reduced the dose down to 1.5.

I know know that at 165, 1.75 will do the trick. Will 1.5 at 130 be just as easy of a drop and flat curve out? Stay tuned
 
Nicole & Baby said:
This is exactly what we want to see.. Frankie surfing lower HEALTHY #s! Are you home to monitor? If I were you.. I would shoot, feed & get a +1 or +2 to see where Frankie is going!! Way to go Dad!! :thumbup

I waited an hour till 6:30 at which time he was at 130 and I gave him 1.5 units.
 
Nicole & Baby said:
Great job!! I suspect Frankie is still in LTS (Liver Training School) so he will probably go a bit higher & not drop too low.. but who knows..these CrAzY kitties keep us guessing!! Have an enjoyable evening, Jay!


Testing and wondering is not eggackley our idea of an enjoyable evening.

How about an outdoor cafe/restaurant, good food and good company and a cocktail or two. That sounds like so much more fun doesnt it then testing all night.
 
What a gorgeous day of numbers for Frankie. Sure hope you shot Jay.


I know you've heard this so many times, but I copied it from another post for reference since this is one of those times it would be good to have as a reminder.

Generally, what is advised if you have a low PS number that you are uncomfortable shooting is a variation on this. The options are:

Stall for 15 -20 min and don't feed. Re-test. Repeat this process until you get a clear surf in a shootable range or the numbers are rising.
Shoot a reduced, big chicken sh*t (BCS) dose.
Skip the shot.
What you want to try to avoid is stalling for a long(ish) time and shooting a reduced dose. It has double the effect on the shed. Each of these options has it's pros and cons.

It's always scary when you first get them, but later these are the numbers you'll be wanting (except green :mrgreen: is even better). These are beautiful and easier to be comfortable shooting after the first time or 2. This is what keeps him where you want him and out of the bounces. You want to keep him surfing, and from rising not having gotten his insulin in time. You know it's the number you will have at onset in a few hours you are shooting, not the PS.
Sure hope he got his dose.





EDIT: i see you posted while I was typing. Yay Jay...You shot! :thumbup It will get easier, really it will. I know how scary it can be to shoot lower numbers. We felt scared just like you. But we didn't have anything to un-learn from before. We knew nothing. I, like you, didn't understand why to give a shot 'he didn't need'..but i was wrong, he DID need it. I just didn't understand how it worked. And I saw that in his numbers every time we skipped or overstalled.
I had to follow Hank's lead, whether ready or not and the advice from all the well-meaning people here. They saw it when i didn't. Check out our SS. As soon as I started listening and dropping dose, he responded needing less and less insulin. And he stayed in very safe numbers. We never had the really low, scary lows...never came anywhere near a real hypo.
As the dosage gets less, so do the ranges, they don't drop as much anymore. Hank ended up being rather flat and boring.
But it was scary at times, at each lower PS ever....I'd be lying to say otherwise. I even shot in the 60's, but was on a micro-dose by then so knew he'd be safe. I just fed him through it. This is when THEY feel good.

Good for you for shooting your lowest PS ever. Congratulations. No worries, just learning about your cat and how Lantus works with him,
Give his some mini-meals tonight.
You'll learn something new about how he operates and now have new information that can offer you freedom from concern later so you can go have the drink.
 
Am I in the right condo? Is Jay here or is this an impostor? What did you do with Jay?

Hold that 1.5u he's been doing "his" way of asking for a reduction.

p.s. nice hooting who ever you are.
 
YAY DDDDDDDD-

We were hoping you were around! we tried to hold the fort short term.
What a gorgeous day in here, huh? great news.
 
D and Noisy said:
Am I in the right condo? Is Jay here or is this an impostor? What did you do with Jay?

Hold that 1.5u he's been doing "his" way of asking for a reduction.

p.s. nice hooting who ever you are.


Who's Jay?

Actually, if you recall a while I go, I mentioned here that I need to generate some history and actually see an easy drop, and some duration at a particular dose. Well I saw it today, at 165 I know that I can safely shoot 1.75 units and it wont cause him to tank out.

Here we are at 130, and I am running a test to see if 1.5 works at that number, the way this insulin is supposed to. Flat curve.

Now to get history at this dose at this PS. Do you see where I am going with this. Its really not about blind faith for me, but comfort in know at what PS and what dose would work. As far as waiting for the onset, I have been fooled many many times into thinking that the dose i just put in wont kick in for 4 hours, only to see him start driopping right away. PZI Vet had the exact same onset, (at least on paper). It didnt always work that way, and I suspect neither would any insulin including Lantus, as there are more variables involved. Food and the carbs in the food, his weight (which goes up and down on occasion) his metaboblism, and whether or not he eats what I put out. Hopefull that all makes sense.
 
Re: Frankie 5.16 AMPS 165 + PMPS 130 +1 139

His ear will be getting a work out tonight.
 
Nice!

Jay, I totally understand that cabin fever you talk about. Not being employed I was or more accurately, I felt like I was prisoner to the house almost 24/7. My sister often said that's how it seemed because every time she wanted us to do something together I said "I can't. I have to be here to shoot/test the cat." My husband was in Japan and my kid... only so much help out of a 15 year old with raging hormones and Xbox, yanno? But the lower his insulin dose got, the easier it was for me to give up those times out when I had to, because I knew that soon he'd be OTJ and I'd have freedom again. Now I can honestly say that it was worth every minute of lost sleep, every missed night at the movies or whatever because now, well now I can do it! I'm not looking at ten more years of having to live to test and shoot the cat. I'm looking at (hopefully) ten years of diet controlled, healthy cat and the ability to go where I want, when I want. :mrgreen:

I think Frankie is taking you to that place too (anti-jinx) :mrgreen:
 
Re: Frankie 5.16 AMPS 165 PMPS 130 +1 139 +2 126

Marvie and Tugger said:
Nice!

Jay, I totally understand that cabin fever you talk about. Not being employed I was or more accurately, I felt like I was prisoner to the house almost 24/7. My sister often said that's how it seemed because every time she wanted us to do something together I said "I can't. I have to be here to shoot/test the cat." My husband was in Japan and my kid... only so much help out of a 15 year old with raging hormones and Xbox, yanno? But the lower his insulin dose got, the easier it was for me to give up those times out when I had to, because I knew that soon he'd be OTJ and I'd have freedom again. Now I can honestly say that it was worth every minute of lost sleep, every missed night at the movies or whatever because now, well now I can do it! I'm not looking at ten more years of having to live to test and shoot the cat. I'm looking at (hopefully) ten years of diet controlled, healthy cat and the ability to go where I want, when I want. :mrgreen:

I think Frankie is taking you to that place too (anti-jinx) :mrgreen:

Maybe he is takin gme there, however he will be keeping me up most of the night at this point.
 
Testing and wondering is not eggackley our idea of an enjoyable evening.
How about an outdoor cafe/restaurant, good food and good company and a cocktail or two. That sounds like so much more fun doesnt it then testing all night.
Open your windows... pour yourself a good whiskey & a glass of wine for me.. the message board is great company!! Just don't eat the food for Frankie drinking24
 
Nicole & Baby said:
Testing and wondering is not eggackley our idea of an enjoyable evening.
How about an outdoor cafe/restaurant, good food and good company and a cocktail or two. That sounds like so much more fun doesnt it then testing all night.
Open your windows... pour yourself a good whiskey & a glass of wine for me.. the message board is great company!! Just don't eat the food for Frankie drinking24

Now, Frankie decides to go on a diet! I'd like to see him eat some more to soften the drop
 
No worries ;-) Dad (YOU) are doing a great job with lil man.. no diet.. he just isn't too hungry because his blood sugar is healthy.
Just a bite here or there is all he needs..

& your +2 is exactly what we want to see.. similar to your preshot #

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Re: Frankie 5.16 AMPS 165 PMPS 130 +4 129

Nicole & Baby said:
No worries ;-) Dad (YOU) are doing a great job with lil man.. no diet.. he just isn't too hungry because his blood sugar is healthy.
Just a bite here or there is all he needs..

& your +2 is exactly what we want to see.. similar to your preshot #

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Re: Frankie 5.16 AMPS 165 PMPS 130 +4 129

Jay said:
Nicole & Baby said:
No worries ;-) Dad (YOU) are doing a great job with lil man.. no diet.. he just isn't too hungry because his blood sugar is healthy.
Just a bite here or there is all he needs..

& your +2 is exactly what we want to see.. similar to your preshot #

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.


Text book bell (upside down) shaped curve. Too bad Frankie isnt a bell. 5 years of doing this and I have never seen him peak at +6 and end the cycle where he started it. I'll be amazed when I see that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top