Frankie 4.23 PMPS 212 +8 190

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay

Member Since 2010
He does better during the day when I'm not around.

Do you think he is trying to tell me something??? Like

"Give me my medz and get out of the house,get a life and stop worrying about me"


viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12689
 
Re: Frankie 4.23 AMPS 320

Yes.
Now will you please start paying attention to Frankie's directions!

I think we all get the feeling from time to time that we are just big fussy pots, and kitties act just like kids who get annoyed when the parents fuss over them and embarrass them, but you need to know that they, kids and cats, really do appreciate all that fuss and worry.

Frankie knows you care so much for him; he really does. And your caring helps him feel better inside, even if his numbers don't reflect it.
 
Re: Frankie 4.23 AMPS 320

Gayle and Shadoe said:
Yes.
Now will you please start paying attention to Frankie's directions!

I think we all get the feeling from time to time that we are just big fussy pots, and kitties act just like kids who get annoyed when the parents fuss over them and embarrass them, but you need to know that they, kids and cats, really do appreciate all that fuss and worry.

Frankie knows you care so much for him; he really does. And your caring helps him feel better inside, even if his numbers don't reflect it.

He kept waking me up, at all hours of the night, when he jumped off the bed, and walked to his food bowl. He was eating all thru the night and different times. Thne a big jump back into bed (landing on me)

That could be the reason he has been high during the night.
 
Re: Frankie 4.23 AMPS 320

Who knows with kitties? For all you know, he's just still getting used to the two of you, and needs more attention?
Or, maybe he just wants more of the foods? You changed over to the ff yes?
One thing that could help the food issue overnite is to use an auto feeder and then he can sit and wait for it to turn and give him a little snack to tide him over.
As for jumping on you, I can relate to that for sure! Shadoe is always lying on me until I get up to start our day.
They certainly know how to get our attention!
 
Re: Frankie 4.23 AMPS 320

Morning Jay...they don't realize how it feels when they pounce.. (or DO they? hmmmmm....)
Well anyway, was just wondering how the LB action has been lately....
Hope you and Frankie have a good Friday....maybe he is having friends over when you leave ...party time maybe? :lol:
 
Re: Frankie 4.23 AMPS 320

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Morning Jay...they don't realize how it feels when they pounce.. (or DO they? hmmmmm....)
Well anyway, was just wondering how the LB action has been lately....
Hope you and Frankie have a good Friday....maybe he is having friends over when you leave ...party time maybe? :lol:


LB? Whats that?
 
Re: Frankie 4.23 AMPS 320 +6 183 +9 142 +12 104

Is dosing BID ever going to happen, or should I just give up and dose SID
 
Re: Frankie 4.23 AMPS 320 +6 183 +9 142 +12 104 +14 117

Jay.....I hope one of these days when you feel more comfortable you will shoot a lower number just so you can see how Frankie responds. I would never want you to do something that you don't want to do but it is Friday and the weekend is the best time to get some data. :mrgreen:

SID shooting is not good with Lantus.
 
Re: Frankie 4.23 AMPS 320 +6 183 +9 142 +12 104

Jay said:
Is dosing BID ever going to happen, or should I just give up and dose SID

The reason your AMPS is ahem not so great, is because you're NOT dosing bid....but you already know that. If you're home to see what happens if you shoot a low number, what are you so afraid of? Frankie might surprise you and surf. And if he didn't you have hc, right?
 
Re: Frankie 4.23 AMPS 320 +6 183 +9 142 +12 104 +14 117

Jay, dont mess with success!! He is doing great!! Forget SID, for now--No on we know was ever successful with it on lantus with that.. You arent doing BID?
Cats feel themselves dropping & know to eat...Hope you have a good night!
 
Re: Frankie 4.23 AMPS 320 +6 183 +9 142 +12 104 +14 117

What's wrong with reducing the dose? That's how you shoot BID.
Hey, you have a cat that is going down the dose ladder -- do you know how cool that is?
Go with the cat.
 
Re: Frankie 4.23 AMPS 320 +6 183 +9 142 +12 104

Caryl and Alex said:
Jay said:
Is dosing BID ever going to happen, or should I just give up and dose SID

The reason your AMPS is ahem not so great, is because you're NOT dosing bid....but you already know that. If you're home to see what happens if you shoot a low number, what are you so afraid of? Frankie might surprise you and surf. And if he didn't you have hc, right?


He might surpirse me, you are right. What if he doesnt?

I'm chicken, what can I say.

I shot last night when he was 185 or so. I havent shot that low in a long time and he was high this morning.
 
Re: Frankie 4.23 AMPS 320 +6 183 +9 142 +12 104 +14 117

Jay...don't be chicken. That is what this board is here for. He may go low or he may surf but isn't it better to know how he will respond to shooting low while you are home and can test? You control the numbers with food and we are here to walk you through it if you need help.
I think Frankie is doing great despite all the missed shots so.......think of how much better he will do with both shots.

If you decide you want to shoot a lower number just post the word "eyes" and we know to look out for you or whatever word you want to post to let us know you want to be watched...k?
 
Re: Frankie 4.23 AMPS 320 +6 183 +9 142 +12 104 +14 117

Miriam and Putty said:
Jay...don't be chicken. That is what this board is here for. He may go low or he may surf but isn't it better to know how he will respond to shooting low while you are home and can test? You control the numbers with food and we are here to walk you through it if you need help.
I think Frankie is doing great despite all the missed shots so.......think of how much better he will do with both shots.

If you decide you want to shoot a lower number just post the word "eyes" and we know to look out for you or whatever word you want to post to let us know you want to be watched...k?


I havent missed a shot in a while. I have been shooting under 200 for a couple of cycles on the PM side. Check the notes on my spread sheet in the individual cells. My problem is this, if 2.5 drops him 200 points on the AM side. How little of a dose to give him when he under 180? Its guess work. In the beginning I was told to base my dosing off his Nadir. The last few days, his nadir has come at +12. I tried reducing his dose a few days ago, and sure enough he was very high the next AM.

So, you see, he peaked today at +12 from a high of 320 down to the low 100's. I dont really know where to go from here. 2.5 units at under 180 may be way too much, yet has been too little the past few PM shots.
 
Re: Frankie 4.23 AMPS 320 +6 183 +9 142 +12 104 +14 117

Your morning was a beautiful cycle for Frankie.

Jay & Frankie said:
I have been shooting under 200 for a couple of cycles on the PM side. Check the notes on my spread sheet in the individual cells. My problem is this, if 2.5 drops him 200 points on the AM side. How little of a dose to give him when he under 180?

If you look at some of the other people's SSs here, one of the things you will notice is that if you do shoot low, you generally do not get the same kind of drop as you do with a higher PS number. Instead, you can get a low, flat cycle.

The first couple of times you manage low numbers with HC food are nerve wracking to be sure. Caryl can probably describe how she reacted the first several times with Alex. Then you learn that you really can manage low numbers with judicious use of HC food. It gets to the point that you look for those lower greens so your cat can earn a dose reduction. You become confident and the process becomes easier. All of us have been through those first several times and there is someone here who will walk you through. Even the very serious hypo events have had board members watching and guiding and members behind them observing as backup. This place is a team effort to keep each others cats safe.
 
Re: Frankie 4.23 AMPS 320 +6 183 +9 142 +12 104 +14 117

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you look at some of the other people's SSs here, one of the things you will notice is that if you do shoot low, you generally do not get the same kind of drop as you do with a higher PS number. Instead, you can get a low, flat cycle.

The first couple of times you manage low numbers with HC food are nerve wracking to be sure. Caryl can probably describe how she reacted the first several times with Alex. Then you learn that you really can manage low numbers with judicious use of HC food. It gets to the point that you look for those lower greens so your cat can earn a dose reduction. You become confident and the process becomes easier. All of us have been through those first several times and there is someone here who will walk you through. Even the very serious hypo events have had board members watching and guiding and members behind them observing as backup. This place is a team effort to keep each others cats safe.

Thanks, Sienne..That's what I was trying to say but you put the whole thing into a much neater package...

Yes it's scary at first but that's how we learn that WE really are in control, and getting to those blue and green surfs becomes really exciting. I mean..I remember it was..I hear it is :lol: And once the bouncing stops, shooting a low number generally does produce a surf rather than dropping numbers...which one will never see if one doesn't try.

But most important is that EYES are here to help if needed. There really isn't a reason to be afraid because there is always someone here to help and of all things, Frankie will not get in trouble from seeing what will happen if you try to shoot a low number. Not if you have your supplies and and all of us. As Sienne said, we've ALL been there many many times. (remember my 34 this morning? Alex is still here to talk about it) :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top