? Frankie 07/06 AMPS 59 NS +5 (2.75u given) 247 PMPS 63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue484

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/frankie-07-04-amps-329-4-293-pmps-76-2-128.160668/

Sorry, no condo yesterday. It was my birthday and for various different reasons, it was a horrible day. I have attached Frankie's condo from Monday though and his spreadsheet is filled in for yesterday.

My question today is at AMPS he is 3.3 (59) so I did not shoot. I will get the sitters to shoot when they come at lunchtime and I will have to do an 18 hour cycle. Technically, he has not reached his reduction point of 3.0 (54) as he is a long term diabetic and on AlphaTrak. He doesn't hold reductions well either, so as he is so low I am presuming he went lower last night. 2.75 does not seem to be enough, so should I reduce to a skinny 3.0 or a fat 2.75 ( would those be the same things??) I think I need to reduce as he needs the shots every 12 hours. What do you think?
 
Is there a reason you're not reducing at 68? That's the reduction point we use for the AT

Even with long term diabetics, we usually only change the number of times they drop below the reduction point.....not the reduction point itself.

Like with human meters, a long term diabetic we'll suggest waiting for them to drop below 50 three times (or below 40 once) before taking a reduction, but Frankie has dropped below 68 three times on this dose so I think I'd take the reduction to 2.75
 
I was told the reduction point for a long term who doesn't hold reductions well was 40 which is 2.2 so I just increased to 3 to account for the AT readings. I was also told about the three times limit to take a reduction, but I was told it should be on consecutive days. But I will take the reduction at lunchtime. Thanks @Chris & China
 
Last edited:
No, it doesn't need to be on consecutive days....just reasonably close together

Like with China....she's dropped into the 40's twice on this dose, but those drops were a week apart.....so if she drops below 50 again, I'll have to use my knowledge of China to decide if it's really time to reduce or if I should wait awhile longer for her to drop 3 times closer together (or drop into the 30's once)

Once again, the "Know Thy Cat" saying comes into play
 
Well, at +17 hours from last night's PMPS, he is still only 13.7 (247) so he was given his reduced 2.75 dose.
 
Good luck with the new dose.

For long term diabetics using a human meter, the reduction is 3 times below 50 on separate days, or once below 40. We know that 50 on the human meter should be 68 on the AT but don't have an equivalent to the 40. We don't know if 3.0 on the AT is equivalent to 2.2 on the human meter. Regardless, looks like Frankie told you he wants a reduction with 3 under 68.
 
So, at what should be PMPS but in reality (due to the 18 hour schedule) at AM +7 Frankie is 3.5 (63). I presume this is the depot at work, but let's hope this reduction holds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top