Frank, the 2nd chapter

Status
Not open for further replies.
I do think it's partly that they feel better and partly that they KNOW you are making them feel better. People on here have reported having a much closer bond with their sugar cats than they had before the diagnosis.
 
Teasel has always been an attention hound so all the extra FD TLC is right up his alley. I think he enjoys the testing and injecting rituals because they involve a lot of treats and one on one time.
 
He even purrs at testing time. Maybe because sometimes he gets a snack (though not always)...Frank does love food.
And I was writing this he was on the fridge, crying. He always tricks the dog with this. You know how Lucy always tells Charlie Brown that she'll let him kick the football and then doesn't? That's the relationship with Frank and Belle. Anyhow, I had to shoo him off the fridge when the magnets all started raining down on the poor dog.
 
So close to that green! Did the play session help drop him? He'll probably go back up because he scarfed all of his over night food. At least on the canned food he doesn't scarf and puke like he did on the dry food.
 
Sleepy babies.
 

Attachments

  • 20170422_000326.jpg
    20170422_000326.jpg
    56.6 KB · Views: 158
It's still possible he could make it to green by the +4! I love all the pictures around tonight! It's so fun to see everyone's babies!
 
I truly believe that the less I fuss over Chloe and don't stress with the constant glucose monitoring, she is getting her usual personality back. She still doesn't like the injections, but she is much happier not having her ears pricked.
 
Tonight's shot was late, but I was really happy with that preshot number considering the insulin was probably out of his system. I was going to start an 11/13 hour cycle to get those PMPS down, but I think instead I'm going to do a full curve tomorrow. (I need one for the vet anyhow, even though we aren't going to talk about how I've increased his dose without her advice. Oops! Lol.) I'll grab a few tests tonight too so I can see where we are.
 
So I stalled for an hour with tests 20 min apart and got up to 206. I didn't want to go without a shot, cause I knew he'd skyrocket. Totally meant to give 2U and without thinking drew and shot 3. Yikes. Had to run out for about an hour but knew he'd be OK while I was gone. He got into a bag of spiral ham that I accidentally left on the counter while I was out (with a brown sugar glaze!) And still only tested at 84 at +4. So I panicked a bit, knowing he could go lower still in the next 2 hours and added about a tsp of honey to his nighttime food. Will get a +5 before calling it a night to see if I need to do any steering yet.
 
So I stalled for an hour with tests 20 min apart and got up to 206. I didn't want to go without a shot, cause I knew he'd skyrocket. Totally meant to give 2U and without thinking drew and shot 3. Yikes. Had to run out for about an hour but knew he'd be OK while I was gone. He got into a bag of spiral ham that I accidentally left on the counter while I was out (with a brown sugar glaze!) And still only tested at 84 at +4. So I panicked a bit, knowing he could go lower still in the next 2 hours and added about a tsp of honey to his nighttime food. Will get a +5 before calling it a night to see if I need to do any steering yet.
He was steering himself with food! :)
 
I wonder if 4u might be a little bit too much for him? There isn't any daytime data from the 3.75u dose, but he did get into greens with it during the PM cycle. You might consider giving him a few more cycles at the 3.75 and see what happens.
 
I wonder if 4u might be a little bit too much for him? There isn't any daytime data from the 3.75u dose, but he did get into greens with it during the PM cycle. You might consider giving him a few more cycles at the 3.75 and see what happens.
That was part of my pondering in my last comment :smuggrin: But I had not figured out which one to suggest yet. Still analyzing :bookworm:
 
Honestly, I've thought about starting back at 3 or 3.5 and giving it a full 5 days before an increase. I woder if those higher numbers were just him bouncing all over. Idk.
 
Sigh. This is so hard! Trying to make the right decisions, the right dosing, the right times. The right cat litter. I went to 3.5 again just to see, but after 2 cycles of high numbers, I bumped to 3.75 tonight. (I've attached a picture of where I filled, which might be slightly more than when I was doing 3.75 before. We had a quick drop, and I'll be testing in 10 minutes to see where we are. I just want to find the magical dose. So, all that said....advice on what dose to try over the next few days? Right where I'm at? Just a teeny tiny bit less? This is what I shot tonight. (Sorry, I didn't fill it with colored water. I will on a used one tomorrow, but currently all my used ones are locked in the sharps container.)
20170426_001141-1-1.jpg
 
Just NEEEVVVVEEEERRRR satisifed, huh Sarah? :smuggrin: That green from last night is nice! I'd stick with it for a few cycles and see what you get.
Nope, never. Haha. I love those greens, but sometimes he drops to green so fast I'm afraid he'll go hypo. But I haute the morning red and blacks. I liked when we were pink on the PS. It's an OCD thing, I think. I hate things that I can't control.
 
Nope, never. Haha. I love those greens, but sometimes he drops to green so fast I'm afraid he'll go hypo. But I haute the morning red and blacks. I liked when we were pink on the PS. It's an OCD thing, I think. I hate things that I can't control.
I used to be a control freak and still am in some areas but FD has erased a lot of it.
 
I can reasonably say that I KNOW I can't control this, it's a static diseases, etc, etc....then like 2 minutes later I'm stressing out that I can't control it.
What's better....when he was pink and yellows all day or now, when he's red/black and then drops so fast to green and back up to black? I stress that I'm not making the right decisions overall and that something I do will make it worse. :banghead::banghead::banghead: The struggle is real!
 
I can reasonably say that I KNOW I can't control this, it's a static diseases, etc, etc....then like 2 minutes later I'm stressing out that I can't control it.
What's better....when he was pink and yellows all day or now, when he's red/black and then drops so fast to green and back up to black? I stress that I'm not making the right decisions overall and that something I do will make it worse. :banghead::banghead::banghead: The struggle is real!
Bouncing is infuriating as I well know. So far, 3.75 u - 4 u seems to be his "sweet spot" - doesn't mean he won't bounce but that range gives you good numbers when he stops for a bit. You could try leaving the dose at 3.75 u both AM and PM for a couple of days to see if the stability settles him a little.
 
I think a lot of us feel that way! We just WANT to control it, but we can't.

As for which is better, I would say neither really...he might have been more stable in pinks and yellows, but getting in those greens helps his pancreas have healing time even if he does bounce. I think it's the nature of the disease though...you see some higher numbers, and then you break through and have that bouncing...and hopefully over a short time he settles back in to lower numbers. I like Kris's suggestion of holding the dose steady to see if that helps.
 
I'm noticing that the doses look like they have been adjusted around a lot. I've been reading some of the older threads on here, that advocate for holding doses for longer periods of time to give the cat time to settle out all the bounces. Only using sliding scale dosing if you have ample data that it's necessary. If the cat is under 200 at PS, then a dose adjustment may be necessary, but above that, holding the same dose and only changing the dose after a minimum of six consistent cycles, and only changing if the nadir is too low or too high. Holding longer than that if you're getting 50-120 at nadir, or big drops from PS to nadir.

I agree with Kris that 3.75 might be a good dose to hold for awhile.
 
I'm just going to hop on the bandwagon with everyone else in holding that 3.75U :). Side observation, are you using 11/13 schedule now or are the +#'s just accidentally moved to the left one column? :D
 
I'm doing 11/13 because his PMPS are always higher, and I an hoping to even those out some (although in recent days we've had high AMPS, too...but I'm blaming those on bouncing). I'm going to hold everything as it is for a full week, then see where I need to go I think.
 
I know I said I was going to hold Franks dose and times...then last night was late (life got in the way). Now this morning I had to give an adjusted dose; no way could I shoot 3.75 on that PS without being home to monitor. So those plans of holding at 3.75 and 11/13 went right out the window. Now I'm second guessing myself again. I need a drink.
 
I know I said I was going to hold Franks dose and times...then last night was late (life got in the way). Now this morning I had to give an adjusted dose; no way could I shoot 3.75 on that PS without being home to monitor. So those plans of holding at 3.75 and 11/13 went right out the window. Now I'm second guessing myself again. I need a drink.
You have to roll with the punches in this game ...
 
You hold the syringe, and always need to make the decisions that you think are best. That being said, you shot a 3.75 on 4/19 and 4/21 with similar pre-shots to today (262 and 289). Another factor to consider was that he had only had 11 hours to rise at that point. If you'd gone to +12, his number would likely have been higher -- and prozinc doesn't kick in that fast. So always better safe than sorry, but for what it's worth, I think the 3.75, or at least 3.5, would have most likely been okay.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top