Frank is still bouncy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frank's Mom

Member Since 2017
Ok, so my goal was to try the 11/13 cycle and hold at 3.75 for a week. Tomorrow is day 7. AMPS has varied since we hit 3.5U and up, with some of the highest AM numbers scattered around since then. PMPS have been all over the board a bit, too, but over all lower in recent weeks, and the lowest when we were doing 12/12 cycles on 4U. Any thoughts on where I should go from here? I'm inclined to think we need to go back to 12/12, and wonder if we're getting bouncing numbers (did I miss a good dose somewhere because of bouncing?), insulin resistance numbers, or...we're just not where we need to be yet, dose wise (although 4U seemed like it might be too high). Would love to hear the input of the board, and any advice you all have!
 
You've had a couple of good cycles on 3.75 - 4/21 and 4/25 and some PS numbers that look like bounces, but also be from waiting until +13 for the dose. I agree that going back to 12/12 would be better if your schedule allows it. And stick with the 3.75 until he's had a few cycles to readjust. Then maybe consider a dose change. But as Kris says....only change one variable at a time.
 
But as Kris says....only change one variable at a time.
Definitely only one at a time. I think I took all the thoughts and trials and things that worked for other people and tried to do it all at once with Frank. So back to 12/12, on 3.75U, for Sunday-Wednesday I think. I can get more tests in the evenings, so those will have to be my curves during the week....I don't think I'd get a useful one tomorrow, with the change from 11/13 to 12/12, so I'll just so a small curve of +3, 5, and 7 tomorrow during the day and again at night, if I can stay awake that long.
I should get my sample of YA this week, too, and will be ordering a bag, so that's going to be another change coming that I'll have to work through. I'm thinking 1 full can each in the AM and PM, with YA left out for grazing.
 
I need to fix my spread sheet (back to 12/12) but I'm pretty sure if I had gotten a test at like 330 or 430AM I would have been freaking out. What do you guys think of a +12 AMPS of 95? (Tested 2x to verify.)
 
Hmmm....that's interesting. How are you on your schedule right now? Did you already feed him? Can you stall and retest?
 
I wouldn't shoot at this number. Even with stalling he likely wouldn't be high enough in the next hour or so. I think you might consider a small decrease in dose tonight to 3.5 u too because he'll probably be a bit more insulin sensitive.
 
Actually, I did stall 20 and retest and he's up to 135 on the relion, 181 on the AT2. If I can get him over 200 in the next 20-40 minutes I'm going to give 2U I think. And I'll be expectin his bounce later today.
Edit....also, he's starving. I'm killing him by not feeding him. I think he's threatening to kick all of us out of his house if I don't feed him RIGHT NOW. Lol.
 
It's interesting that his PMPS are so consistent, and his AMPS are so random. Maybe he goes out and parties during the night? :cat:
I wouldn't be surprised. Some nights he runs through the house and sounds like a freaking elephant. Others he curls right up in bed with me (something he hadn't done in a very long time, prior to insulin) and sleeps. Last night I didn't hear him and he wasn't in bed so....?
 
Edit....also, he's starving. I'm killing him by not feeding him. I think he's threatening to kick all of us out of his house if I don't feed him RIGHT NOW. Lol.

That's why I hate stalling. Those cries of dismay tear my heart! Plus, it never works for Sam. I think it works better for kitties that are bouncy and/or run in higher numbers.
 
LOL!!! I can totally picture that! I'm going to remember that next time Sam starts yowling at me!
 
Others he curls right up in bed with me (something he hadn't done in a very long time, prior to insulin) and sleeps. Last night I didn't hear him and he wasn't in bed so....?
Was the same with Maury, he stopped coming upstairs to sleep with me. Then he had a temporary ban because he peed in my bed :( Most nights now he will come up and cuddle until I fall asleep. So if I wake up in during the night I'm like, "where did he go.... *listens for eating or potty noises*... fall back asleep" :smuggrin:
 
Got a shootable #. That's one heck of an increase in 40 minutes, but Frank is happy I finally gave him breakfast.
 
You had a jump of over 100 on the +11 and +12 during your PM cycle a couple nights ago. And I've seen that one other spreadsheets too. A lot can happen in that last hour as the insulin wears off.
 
He's staying within OK numbers with Friskies and some of his glycobalance. No honey or anything needed yet, but I wish I had shot 2U instead of 3, lol.
 
Prozinc has some slightly different protocols because it is an in - and - out insulin, unlike Lantus and Levemir that are depot insulins. :)
 
I'm trying to figure this all out still...week 3 for us. So pardon the ignorance. How did you determine to reduce from 3.75 to 3 based on those numbers?
HI Susan! Don't use the prozinc board fire dosing on Lantus...the 2 insulins act differently, as Yong said. I would be lost in Lantus land. Lol. But what I did was stall and test for 40 minutes and got a higher number. It was mid 90s when I started, and it went to 260...which is a number I've shot at before. So I looked at my spreadsheet and used 4/27 as my guide.
 
l I didn't realize I was on that forum. But no, I don't follow anyone 's dosing regime. But I'm definitely learning a lot from others SS and comments. Bummed tonight - Jimmy had the lowest PMPS number since starting this and I blew it with a fur shot. I am on day 2 of an increase too. :banghead:
 
l I didn't realize I was on that forum. But no, I don't follow anyone 's dosing regime. But I'm definitely learning a lot from others SS and comments. Bummed tonight - Jimmy had the lowest PMPS number since starting this and I blew it with a fur shot. I am on day 2 of an increase too. :banghead:
That stinks, but you'll be back on track tomorrow! ;)
 
Preshots today were in the higher side. Leftover bounce from yesterday? I still can't decide if I might have missed a good dose weeks ago because of bouncing and me not having enough patience, or if we're getting so close to a good dose now and that's causing bouncing. Ugh...if he's a 4U 2x a day cat, that's going to be so expensive.:blackeye:
 
Preshots today were in the higher side. Leftover bounce from yesterday? I still can't decide if I might have missed a good dose weeks ago because of bouncing and me not having enough patience, or if we're getting so close to a good dose now and that's causing bouncing. Ugh...if he's a 4U 2x a day cat, that's going to be so expensive.:blackeye:
Hey may not need it for a long period :bighug:
 
I just caught Frank eating the dog food. Cleary not his first time at that all you can eat diner, either. I'm going to kill him.
 
I put glucobalance back out for free feeding today. It's got to be better than the dog food, and numbers were lower when I was still free feeding it in addition to the canned food. I think I'm going to need to start over/lower the dose, especially once I get the YA in the mail. I think I'll see a drop in numbers once I get my darn cat off the dog food.
 
Glycobalance is super high in carbs. It may not be better than the dog food. You can free feed canned food. I put out canned food in the morning and leave it until dinner. I do add extra water to it in the morning so it doesn't dry out during the day, but my cats are both grazers, so they just eat as they wish throughout the day.
 
Glycobalance is super high in carbs. It may not be better than the dog food. You can free feed canned food. I put out canned food in the morning and leave it until dinner. I do add extra water to it in the morning so it doesn't dry out during the day, but my cats are both grazers, so they just eat as they wish throughout the day.
I do leave out canned food...but he scarfs it. I guess I can go back to 4 cans a day to keep him out of the dog food...the canned is healthier, so that might be the best idea. Right now he gets 2 cans a day. When his preshots were lower, he was getting 4 a day to help him gain weight. He's a healthy weight now, which is why I was limiting it to 2 a day. But...freaking dog food!! Grrr. I couldn't believe it last night.
 
He looks pretty good tonight, but I can't get into my spreadsheet. Grr. 264 at +11, 278 at PMPS. And I see that yesterday I put a number in today's box, so I gotta fix that too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top