Fostering New Diabetic Kitty PMPS 63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katy and Remy

Member Since 2009
Hello Everyone!
It's been a LONG time since I've posted, but I'm fosterin a newly dx'd diabetic kitty and need some help from my old friends, and any new ones who've come since I last posted.
Leo is a four year-old from the rescue I volunteer at.
Diagnosed Friday with BG 600 and ketones.
On 2U Lantus BID.
His amps is 63, so of course NO shot.
Seems to feel okay. Has eaten a little.

I'll continue to test every hour. Any advice?

Thanks!
 
With ketones, we need to make sure he eats. Please let us know about eating, and get as many ketone tests in a you can.
Post often with updates, please.
 
Why is he getting 2U? Obviously that is too much, the dose should not produce such a low preshot that you can't give shot. Especially with the ketones, he needs insulin regularly, so having to skip the shot isn't good.

1U is standard starting dose. Weight has very little to do with optimum dose, if his is overweight, dose should not be based on current weight.

Has he been given fluids and can you administer sub-Q fluids at home? Fluids help flush ketones.

Thank you for fostering him!! Lantus has a very good remission rate if the Tilly protocol is followed.
 
Katy so nice to see you back here.
Yep, you KNOW that dose is too high.
Have you changed diet?
I wonder if you already 'broke' this diabetic by just having him enter your house and loving arms.
Lori
 
Leo is newly diagnosed. This is his third day on insulin. I brought him home last night with the instructions from the vet. I've never had a cat on Lantus, don't know what the standard start dose is, but I imagine the vet started the dose high because of his astronomical bg. That's usually one of the yardsticks they use.
Obviously, it's way too much insulin and I'll reduce the dose.
No ketones in urine.
He's getting 100 Ml fluids BID.
He's rising slowly, he's at 94 now.

Thanks!
 
Hi Lori!
It's good to hear from you again!!
I'm so sorry about Tom...Safe Passage, Sweet Boy...he's with Remy now, and they're having such fun.

Thank to everyone for your help and Welcome Home.
I'll check Leo every hour today and check back with you.
I hope you're right Lori, maybe this changed his mind about being diabetic! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top