Foster Cat Shadow- time to increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shadowboy

Member Since 2013
As you can see we've been at 3 units for a while now.... thinking it's time to increase to 3.5units. I know we missed a couple days of testing....

I do have one question. Why had he not reached his low point for BG readings even at +11? At 6p the PMPS he was still dropping from his morning numbers....
Thanks
 
Those 3 BG numbers you got testing today are all the same, within the 20% variance that meters are allowed to have. I would not say he was still dropping at +11. the numbers you did get, if plotted on graph paper, would be a very flat curve, more like a straight line.

Testing at +2 when you can would be helpful. Also, a test close to a +6 would be informative.

I see a 100 point drop last night from +3 to +4. Shadow very likely dropped even lower overnight and you are seeing the bounce today. Bounces can take 72 hours to clear. We don't know how long Shadow takes to clear a bounce.
 
I give his insulin around his neck mostly- sometimes a little lower near the shoulder area.

Does anyone ever give a different dose in the AM/PM? Say, 3 in the AM and 2 in the PM?
 
I've seen it mentioned in a number of places, that the ruff (scruff.. back of the neck, whatever you want to call it) is not the best place to give insulin. For some cats it may not be a problem, but for many it is. This page shows a diagram of good 'shoot' locations, as well as offers an explanation of why the scruff is not the ideal place. Hope it helps some.
 
Lantus is a long lasting, depot type insulin. One shot given will last longer than 12 hours, up to 14-18. That means there is overlap with one shot in one 12 hour cycle affecting the numbers into the next 12 hour cycle. That is why you do not want to give a different amount AM and PM. You want the consistency over time.

The scruff does not have as many blood vessels so the absorption of the insulin can be slower or even more erratic. That is why we do not recommend shooting in the scruff. On the other hand, there are plenty of members here that for whatever reason, have only shot in the scruff area.

You got a BG of 47 last night. That is an automatic decrease using the TR protocol. The decrease should be 0.25 units so dose should be 2.75U.

With that low number last night, Shadow will be bouncing into higher numbers for about 3 days. You need to hold that decreased dose for at least 6 cycles, maybe a bit more until he clears the bounce and has time to settle into the new dose.

ETA: Definitely NOT time to increase the dose. When you make dose changes, you only want to change in 0.25U increments. After that hypo last night, and the scrambling you did to keep his numbers up, now you see why we wanted that before bed test. I bet he dropped even lower the night before which is why you were seeing those 400+ numbers on Sunday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top