For Libre users 12/15 Monster AMPS 85, +2 63, +11.5 78 PMPS 81

Monster's Mom

Member Since 2025
Yesterday
Good morning everyone. I did the reduction yesterday with PM dose. Also decided to use the other syringes I have without the half unit markings with it being a whole unit dose and save the half mark ones for when I need them.

This morning I woke up to the wonderful sound of the Libre alarm, again, It had maxed out on it's 6 hours in silent mode and started again at 6am. But today there is something definitely wrong with it. As I go to our morning routine to test, feed, shoot, the alarm is going off, in the 50s as I'm testing her and she's 85. Another nice green. So, I'm thinking, it'll start coming up, like it usually does as she eats, but this time it doesn't. It continues to drop into the 40s and now just says "LO out of range". (I'm glad this happened while I was here to test her or I would be freaking out.)
As I'm typing this, it now says "sensor error". UGH!!! The last one I applied on a Wednesday and it quit on me the following Monday, deja vu. I hope it it can "right itself" and last longer than just 5 days, that's only 1/3 of the time it's intended for. I really don't know what I could be doing differently that would effect it. So we'll see how that never-ending issue turns out this time. I'm still waiting to hear from Abbott about replacements for the 2 previous ones.

Monster is doing fine otherwise. She can't reach her shaved areas and I think they itch, so she's taken to licking other surfaces to satisfy her frustration. That's her PICA emerging.
And she also has a case of the "dirty booty" again 💩🙀 so she's not smelling so fresh today! I'm going to get that area shaved weather she likes it or not!!

Safe surfing for kitties today!!
 
Ooof, that's stressful! I know that at least one other Libre user has had frequent false lows from a Libre when the cat lies on or otherwise squishes the sensor, but that doesn't seem likely to be your issue since it seems like you're getting the false lows regardless of what Monster is doing.

I've been getting more sensor errors the last couple of days, since I changed Gen's dose, and I think it's the sensor needing to recalibrate more since his numbers are shifting a lot, but I don't think that's what you're dealing with either. So strange.

I'm glad she's doing well (booty aside), even if the Libre is confused! ❤️
 
Ooof, that's stressful! I know that at least one other Libre user has had frequent false lows from a Libre when the cat lies on or otherwise squishes the sensor, but that doesn't seem likely to be your issue since it seems like you're getting the false lows regardless of what Monster is doing.

I've been getting more sensor errors the last couple of days, since I changed Gen's dose, and I think it's the sensor needing to recalibrate more since his numbers are shifting a lot, but I don't think that's what you're dealing with either. So strange.

I'm glad she's doing well (booty aside), even if the Libre is confused! ❤️
The error as of right now says rapidly changing levels. I'll have to wait a while to see if it's OK, or needs replacing. Here's hoping!!
 
There goes another one after only days!!!!!! I'm so mad!!!!!!
20251215_111926.jpg
 
Wow. What junk. I can't imagine if you had been at work and it had the numbers plummeting and then the 'Lo' reading.
I'm glad Monster is doing so great!🥰
 
Good heavens, this one only lasted 4 days. Looks like all her nice steady greens are confusing the poor Libre 🤭. It probably can’t figure out why! For a human, that kind of pattern would be unthinkable.
 
Wow. What junk. I can't imagine if you had been at work and it had the numbers plummeting and then the 'Lo' reading.
I'm glad Monster is doing so great!🥰
Me too. I was hoping it would come back up after a couple of hours like it did before.
Good heavens, this one only lasted 4 days. Looks like all her nice steady greens are confusing the poor Libre 🤭. It probably can’t figure out why! For a human, that kind of pattern would be unthinkable.
Could be... I'm so frustrated at this point. I have 2 more at home. This will make the 3rd one I need to request to be replaced. I just don't understand. I wonder if it has anything to do with how fat she is. I haven't seen many fat cats wear them. I know it can be faulty on really thin cats, but I can't find any info on really fat cats.
I'm going to have to seek help on why so I can try to keep it from happening over and over again. I can't quite ask the company.
 
Me too. I was hoping it would come back up after a couple of hours like it did before.

Could be... I'm so frustrated at this point. I have 2 more at home. This will make the 3rd one I need to request to be replaced. I just don't understand. I wonder if it has anything to do with how fat she is. I haven't seen many fat cats wear them. I know it can be faulty on really thin cats, but I can't find any info on really fat cats.
I'm going to have to seek help on why so I can try to keep it from happening over and over again. I can't quite ask the company.
Might be worth talking to the facebook group? I don't have a link to hand but I'm sure there's one posted around here somewhere.
 
I got a new sensor on. But now I have no extras because this time the first one didn't stick, so there's another I have to try to get replaced. I've gone through 4 sensors in less than a week. I don't know what to do if this one fails too. I was thinking of not activating it yet and letting it "soak" as I have seen recommend. Anyone have any advice or suggestions. I'm open to anything at this point
 
Where are they placed on Monster? Are you using anything to help hold it down (e.g. vet wrap, TypeOneStyle patches, tegaderm, etc.)? Are you following the application process from the FB group/our instructions here, so you have a close shave and good skin prep? -- Not accusing you of anything, just trying to get info that will help us troubleshoot what might be going wrong. The behavior you're describing sounds like a sensor that's loosened or possibly placed in a bad spot and can't get a good read. Obviously sometimes the devices are just bad, but if we can rule out all the factors within our control that will help you not waste more going forward.
 
Where are they placed on Monster? Are you using anything to help hold it down (e.g. vet wrap, TypeOneStyle patches, tegaderm, etc.)? Are you following the application process from the FB group/our instructions here, so you have a close shave and good skin prep? -- Not accusing you of anything, just trying to get info that will help us troubleshoot what might be going wrong. The behavior you're describing sounds like a sensor that's loosened or possibly placed in a bad spot and can't get a good read. Obviously sometimes the devices are just bad, but if we can rule out all the factors within our control that will help you not waste more going forward.
I followed the instructions from the FB group. I even watched the tutorial again last night. I had bandage wrap around her to help hold it, but currently nothing. I've ordered the type one patches but haven't received them yet.
20251215_224253.jpg
 
The shave looks good! And if you followed the FB instructions, the rest of your application was probably also fine. Hopefully the experts there will have more ideas about placement on a larger cat. Esse is on the slimmer side so we have run into issues with placement being too close to a bony area--even just an inch in any direction can be slightly different, so that's something we've played with a bit.

I know the shipping on the TypeOneStyle patches can be kind of slow, but hopefully once those come in that will make a difference as well.
 
That is the only thing that makes sense, is the filament must be coming loose somehow. Her just wearing a shirt isn't keeping it in place. I wish I had the patches. I ordered 5 days ago.
The Facebook group is no help at all. I posted everything they asked for and took them all day to approve my post, then turned off commenting on it an hour later. I didn't even have a chance to reply to anything. They only link the tutorial for any question I have!!! Frustrating!!!
 
At this point, I'm wondering if a bandaid would help until I get the TypeOne patches. I saw Walmart carries some cobers but the soonest I can get them is tomorrow. Of course that still better than the others I ordered.... *SIGH*
 
The flexible fabric bandaids would probably be okay for short term use but it would be tricky to remove the bandaid without pulling the Libre. I'm not sure if they'd irritate the skin if you tried to use them for an extended period of time. Maybe if the bandaid was big enough that the 'pad' (non sticky middle part) was on the Libre itself? So the Libre would be intact when you remove the bandaid?
 
That true. Human bandaids aren't made for their delicate skin. I may have some large ones that wouldn't stick to it. I just ordered some patches from Walmart, I should get tomorrow. I don't want to give up on this but getting close to the point that I can't take it anymore. 4 sensors in less than 7 days. I can afford to get more, that's not the issue, but I shouldn't have to do that, it's just throwing money away. These things should be lasting the full 2 weeks and I'm still waiting to hear back from Abbott about 3 I requested replacement for. Now I have 2 more to replace.
 
I think Abbott only replaces a few a year (per person), just so you know--not sure if the limit is two or three. But I've seen it mentioned on the FB group.

Totally sympathize about the fact that it feels super wasteful though. And annoying to have to repeatedly get prescriptions, go to the pharmacy, etc.
 
I followed the instructions from the FB group. I even watched the tutorial again last night. I had bandage wrap around her to help hold it, but currently nothing. I've ordered the type one patches but haven't received them yet.View attachment 75842
Hi Regan, I use a tegaderm "patch' it's a c;ear "bandage" over top of the Libre. Then I put a wide headband around Ivy's torso, topped off with a "tube top. I then stuff a folded square of fabric (an old tee shirt cut up into a 6" square, folded down to a square, which sits atop the Libre, to prevent her from getting at the Libre.
Sigh, I don't trust my girl!

Also, I have found that a Libre will shut down when Ivy spends several to many hours either LO or with the sensor not reading.
My hunch is that (since it's made for a human) that if a human lingered in the LO range (under 40 on a Libre) then either they were in danger and/or the sensor must be "malfunctioning", thus it shuts itself down for the safety of the human.

It's probably a "safety" feature, if I had to guess.

So....when our cats get down to that range, it's an issue, since it "can" be where we actually want them.
(When Ivy is Lo on her Libre, it usually means she's under 100, say 60-100, on a handheld device.)

So it's kind of tricky, and helps top know how low your cat actually is on a handheld device.

I do try to use the "soak or marinate" method. I apply a Libre the day before I need to activate it. Then after I activate the new one, I then remove the old one.

Of course, when one fails, I don't have the luxury of waiting a day for soaking it.

Hope this helps!!
 
The good news is that she can't get to it. She's a little to plump to bend that way. Sounds like I need to put more on her to hold it in place. I was worried the bandage wrap was doing something to it, but it sounds like it might be ok. I'm afraid to wrap it too tight because it's harder for her to breathe.
I hope I can figure something out.
 
I think Abbott only replaces a few a year (per person), just so you know--not sure if the limit is two or three. But I've seen it mentioned on the FB group.

Totally sympathize about the fact that it feels super wasteful though. And annoying to have to repeatedly get prescriptions, go to the pharmacy, etc.
Oh, yeah. I forgot that part. Hopefully they will replace atleast 2 of them.
 
Hi Regan, I use a tegaderm "patch' it's a c;ear "bandage" over top of the Libre. Then I put a wide headband around Ivy's torso, topped off with a "tube top. I then stuff a folded square of fabric (an old tee shirt cut up into a 6" square, folded down to a square, which sits atop the Libre, to prevent her from getting at the Libre.
Sigh, I don't trust my girl!

Also, I have found that a Libre will shut down when Ivy spends several to many hours either LO or with the sensor not reading.
My hunch is that (since it's made for a human) that if a human lingered in the LO range (under 40 on a Libre) then either they were in danger and/or the sensor must be "malfunctioning", thus it shuts itself down for the safety of the human.

It's probably a "safety" feature, if I had to guess.

So....when our cats get down to that range, it's an issue, since it "can" be where we actually want them.
(When Ivy is Lo on her Libre, it usually means she's under 100, say 60-100, on a handheld device.)

So it's kind of tricky, and helps top know how low your cat actually is on a handheld device.

I do try to use the "soak or marinate" method. I apply a Libre the day before I need to activate it. Then after I activate the new one, I then remove the old one.

Of course, when one fails, I don't have the luxury of waiting a day for soaking it.

Hope this helps!!
Hi Staci! Does the Tegaderm bandage not upset Ivy's skin? I was looking at those Type One Style patches, but that's a lot to spend on something non-reusable (especially with shipping).
 
Staci can speak to repeated use but I can say that we used Tegaderm once with no issues! Ironically I am allergic to Tegaderm and some other medical adhesives so my expectations were low.

We only switched to the T1S ones because they're cuter and also easier to cut down to a smaller size so we don't have to shave as much. But you can definitely be successful with either!
 
Hi Staci! Does the Tegaderm bandage not upset Ivy's skin? I was looking at those Type One Style patches, but that's a lot to spend on something non-reusable (especially with shipping).
I'm too cheap to use those "cute" patches. Tegaderm is very cheap and works for us. And not coming from the UK, I order from Amazon.
I cut them in 1/2 and it covers it just fine!
 
Back
Top