Flying solo with Olive for a while

Status
Not open for further replies.
If you do shoot you need to give the 0.1 a real chance. It might cause high numbers at first. Then you wait to see what happens when she settles in. I think that’s a good plan. Just don’t freak if you see high numbers.
I'm kinda laughing here. Only because you guys seems to really know me well already. Freaking out is what I do these days with Olive. :eek: I think it's really sound advice. I'm just afraid of a catastrophe if her BG goes as high as it has in the past. When she reached about 650 at her highest, I was a basket case worried she'd have a seizure or something. The ironic thing is that she acts her BEST when her BG is higher. Can't figure that one out.
 
I’m wondering given the low numbers today and no tests to see how low last night you might be better skipping insulin tonight.
@Nan & Amber (GA) Robyn has a thread on LL site.

Good point. Spreadsheet doesn't have anything past +7 so I thought there was still time to increase before shot time. I'm a little out of the loop today, I guess-- haven't been checking the LBL forum, sorry...
 
While too high is not good, a hypo is worse. Better a day too high than a hypo. It’s up to you. So 0.1 and HOLD?
I suppose that's the plan, although I'm uncertain about giving her the 0.01 at +12 because she's still only 114+10. Any suggestions on that? I just fed her a half hour ago, so she's got two hours to go until the PMPS. The great news is that she LOVES the FF turkey and giblets. Hubby picked some up on his way home from work. Normally I would have held off for her largest meal of the day to be timed with the insulin, but she went crazy eating and there was no way I was going to stop her. It's the most food she's had in one sitting since before diagnoses.
 
I agree. I'm really at new at this, but to me it just makes more sense to skip tonight. I will test her about every 3 hours through the night just to see what the numbers are doing. Thanks for all the help today. :bighug:
 
I should be in bed right now but I decided to check her once more before the AMPS as her BG has about doubled every 3 hours. I'll be back 3 hours from now with the AMPS BG and I can only imagine how scary the BG will be by then. But regardless, I'll give her the .01IU unless anyone thinks I should do more.
+12 155 (we decided to skip the insulin)
+3 298
+6 493
 
It’s okay. Let’s see if we can get her to stop the huge dangerous drops to hypo range and get her on a diet to gain weight so she can get the insulin she needs. We can gradually increase but keep her safe. A symptomatic hypo can be deadly. I know the highs are scary but think about that.
I emailed a vet nutritionist near me. If you go that route fair warning. They are 200% against raw. Every one I looked at. I’m not opposed to gently cooking if I decide to try it but she requires blood tests not more than a month old and all medical records. I’m pretty sure they all do.
 
Good morning from Wisconsin, USA. After a night of watching Olive continue to climb, the morning started out on a better note. Olive kept jumping on me in bed and yowling for me to feed her this morning, actually cutting me off as I made my way to the fridge, where she tries to patiently sit and wait. Then because I'm not fast enough she sits on her haunches and paws at my leg. It's so cute. She's absolutely loving the FF Turkey and giblets and it's like she can't contain herself before getting more. She ate nearly half a can at the AMPS and I gave her 0.01 IU. To the very best of my ability I should add. I KNOW it's definitely a lot smaller than the 0.25IU. What surprised me the most was that going by her track record, she always keeps climbing, but between +9 and +12 she actually dropped from the BG of 493 to 444 when I expected her to be in the upper 500 if not into the 600 range. For now the best we can do is do what we think is best for Olive, which unfortunately isn't the raw food we want to give her. So Fancy Feast it is. I'll be interested in showing this spread sheet to the new holistic vet on the 25th and telling her everything that's happened so far and getting her take on the nutritional end of things. I already know she's a believer in raw food but what she might say is best for Olive right now is yet to be determined. I have seen the benefits of a raw food diet in my KD kitty whom I lost at the end of April.:( She almost died just one week into the vets special kidney disease food, so we took her health into our own hands (Just as we're now having to do with Olive) and by switching her to raw it extended her life by 4 years and in the end it wasn't KD that claimed her but cancer. She was a happy kitty until those final weeks. We've watched how raw food has transformed our other cat, Cindy, into a kitten again and Cindy is about 14-15. I know vets seem to be anti-raw, but I'm a firm believer in it. I wonder what it is about raw that these vets are against when cats are obligate carnivores by nature. Anyways, for the rest of the day I'm going to feed Olive whenever she's hungry, not really sticking to any kind of time schedule as I have. The important thing to me is getting some weight back on her first.
 
This is what I used this morning to eyeball her .01IU It was most beneficial. I'm going to try pasting a photo of it into this and see if it shows up. Hope it's not too large.
bd-magni-guide-328233.jpg
 
Good news! I just got a urine sample and it's negative for Ketones! Hooray
Yaaaay I agree with picking up the food and refrigerating it . Zoe is a grazer never eats her food all at once or even half. Right now I put her dish in a pan of water (to keep the ants out) and put ice cubes in the pan to keep her food cooler.
 
Yaaaay I agree with picking up the food and refrigerating it . Zoe is a grazer never eats her food all at once or even half. Right now I put her dish in a pan of water (to keep the ants out) and put ice cubes in the pan to keep her food cooler.
This comes to mind to help you out. These are marvelous. We bought two of these about 3 years ago...one for food and one for water during the phase of Sophie's life when we HAD to leave her raw food out for a little while just so she could graze. After 2 hours we always dumped what remained, but the food always stayed COLD. With Cindy, she eats her food so fast there's no need for it anymore. It might be just the thing for you.
https://www.petco.com/shop/en/petco...82&gclid=CPm59r-wzesCFXiUxQIdBdwC_w&gclsrc=ds
 
This comes to mind to help you out. These are marvelous. We bought two of these about 3 years ago...one for food and one for water during the phase of Sophie's life when we HAD to leave her raw food out for a little while just so she could graze. After 2 hours we always dumped what remained, but the food always stayed COLD. With Cindy, she eats her food so fast there's no need for it anymore. It might be just the thing for you.
https://www.petco.com/shop/en/petco...82&gclid=CPm59r-wzesCFXiUxQIdBdwC_w&gclsrc=ds
Wow thank you for that. It looks plastic???
I hesitate using plastic. Actually the pan of water with added ice cubes works pretty darn well. Course you have to be able to stay home all day to replenish the ice. That doesnt work for everyone.
 
This handsome devil to my left is my Waldo
Hi Waldo!
Wow thank you for that. It looks plastic???
Mine was all stainless steel as I don't use plastic either for anything raw. If it's no longer stainless steel I'm sure you can find one out there that is. The ice pack in mine is actually the exact shape as the bowl itself which was way cool and it kept everything cold for a good 8 hours.
 
Mine has two uses: Keeps food relatively cool (when I keep on top of it) But more important keeps ants out.We have a voracious ant problem here. :rolleyes:
 
Olive's done really good today after the 0.01 IU this morning. She's at 224+10 so She's still got two more hours to climb. It should be safe to shoot then, right? I'm so excited because I got 1 3/4 cans of FF down her today. It's a nice start in the right direction. I'll check back later to see if anyone has responded.
 
Olive's done really good today after the 0.01 IU this morning. She's at 224+10 so She's still got two more hours to climb. It should be safe to shoot then, right? I'm so excited because I got 1 3/4 cans of FF down her today. It's a nice start in the right direction. I'll check back later to see if anyone has responded.
How exciting! Best wishes for Olive. Glad she likes the FF!
I have to start dinner so hold on for more replies
Please give Olive some scritches from me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top