Nan & Amber (GA)
Member Since 2016
Olive: not just dinner, I want dinner and a show!!!!
But here's the kicker...I had to show HIM where the quarter mark was. He kept telling me that the half unit mark was the quarter mark, so I kept politely telling him it wasn't. When he tried counting the lines he said, "Oh yeah, you're right!"
A digital caliper...had no clue what one was until I saw a photo I just googled. So if anyone on here uses one, can you please send me a link to the one you bought and where you bought it? Home Depot has a lot of them but I'm clueless on which one is the right one to get and then how to use it. I'm going to try the colored liquid and putz around with the old syringe today to see what I can come up with. Good advice.Yeah, this is a real problem at these small doses. The inconsistency in marking the "zero" line drove me absolutely batty! Maybe it doesn't matter much for human insulin dosing, where you're shooting 10, 20, 30 units, but it sure makes a difference for a cat!
There are a couple things you can do. The simplest is probably to make up a syringe with colored liquid to serve as the standard dose you want to give. Then when drawing up insulin, basically ignore whatever lines are on the new syringe and just compare to your standard dose. That will give you consistency from dose to dose, whatever the syringe manufacturer is doing!
To get even more precise, a lot of people use digital calipers to do basically the same thing. I never used them, so I can't offer too much advice here, but many people swear by them!
Thanks so much. I just looked it up and then called our local store (yes! Actually have that store 20 minutes away! So I'm heading out now to pick one up. Then all I'll need to do is figure out the correct settings for my Walgreens syringes.Here is the link to calipers. Even with whole and large doses, using them all the time makes for consistent dosing. Couldn't do without them especially when half asleep in the morning.
Well, I certainly do appreciate everything. I'm a stickler for testing, as you can see by her spreadsheet, so I'll retest in an hour. Yes, we are following SLGS. I'll have to post over on the LBL and get some extra feedback as you suggested. Yeah, hubby and I are thinking as much as we love and want her on raw food, that for now adding more carbs to the diet would only benefit her. How many carbs would be safe though? We have some RAWZ turkey and salmon which would provide her 1.22 carbs for the day and RAWZ Duck and duck liver that would offer 2.17 carbs for the day. As apposed to the raw she's eating that only offers 0.4. I'm certain that the raw food is filling her up too quickly and she can't eat as much at one sitting. You aren't the only one who's suggested she eat more carbs. So did the vet. But she wanted her on the Purina DM which we are reserving as the last straw since it's filled with poor nutritional ingredients. Yes, we tested her for ketones during the one and only time we caught her before she used the litterbox and that was day before yesterday and she was okay at that point.That's better. Hopefully this late in the cycle Olive'll stay up. Just to be sure, to be sure, I'd suggest testing again in an hour.
Now, you have a problem. If you're following SLGS, Olive has just earned a dose reduction of 0.25 units because her BG has fallen below 90 on this cycle.
The best I can suggest to you, Robyn, is that you post on the Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir board and ask for advice on dosing. I've given you my two penn'orth before, namely that, for the time being, I think you need to seriously consider increasing the carbs in Olive's diet to a point where you're able to administer the insulin she needs safely and consistently. As Olive is underweight she also needs extra food to help her maintain the muscle mass she still has and to help her gain weight. I think your girl needs carbs and calories. Other FDMB members may have a different view.
Have you managed to start testing for ketones?
Mogs
.
Have a good night and thanks for all the help today. We definitely need to change her diet and see what happens. I wish her vet appointment wasn't a month out. Is there a food out there that's similar to the Purina DM? Until tomorrow.I don't think any ultra-low carb food is going to help this situation. There's only one way to determine the level of carbs that might help this situation and that is to feed them and see what impact it will have on Olive's ability to receive enough insulin safely. There may be some experimentation required. If it were my cat I'd be looking to start with a food closer to the 10% carb mark and take it from there. Again, this is only my take; other members may have very different views.
I'll be signing off for the night shortly. I hope that you'll get good help on the LBL board.
You just may be surprisedI'm going to switch to the FF instead of the raw just to begin boosting her up.
What a blessing it would be.You just may be surprised![]()
Can you give cats egg yolk, Paula?You can add some powdered egg white for a little extra calories and protein
Fingers, toes, paws, crossed.What a blessing it would be.
I got honey all over her fur.
Okay, will do that. Do I return to the 0.25IU for the AMPS first cycle tomorrow morning or go skinny?OK. Let's go down to 0.1U tonight, and going forward keep working on upping the carbs. I don't think Olive is ready to go off insulin yet, but she's rapidly running out of runway here.
Can you give cats egg yolk, Paula?
Mogs
.
Okay. Will try this. I printed out the information I got on how to use the caliper, but I'm having a hard time since not one single syringe of mine reads the same at the zero line. If hubby can't help me I may just have to eye ball the 0.1 mark and hope I get it right.No-- 0.1U is your new dose going forward.
Yes it's suppose to help with hairballs. I have used powered egg yolk but it's hard to find where only ingredient is egg yoke.
EZ Complete, FoodfurLife seems it and you can get it on Amazon or from tgem.
She was 204@+3 during the night, I somehow forgot to record it on the spread sheet. I didn't test after that until the AMPS. Without insulin in her I took advantage of not having to worry about her dropping and got some much needed sleep. But I did get up in the middle of the night, which would have been around her Nadir had she gotten insulin, and checked her levels which was BG 204 +3. At this point I don't know what to do but allow time to pass as we try and build her up on FF. Even skinny 0.25 is causing way too low of BG. Without it she shoots above 400. Maybe the 0.1IU will be the trick in the meantime, providing I measure it properly and that she actually does get the dose I inject.I’m wondering given the low numbers today and no tests to see how low last night you might be better skipping insulin tonight.