Lisa & Leo
Member Since 2012
Last thread: Dosing thoughts for K T and Cooper
Cooper's SS
Cooper has been on 1.2u for 6 cycles and he has had a couple nice smilies and at least one bounce from pretty yellows. None of the normal cycles had a nadir that was greater than a 50% drop. Therefore, all the cycles support increasing the dose in the next day or so.
My mom, Kathy, would be comfortable seeing a few more "smilie" cycles first, before increasing the dose to 1.4u. She is doing a terrific job wearing her Patience Pants and not rushing to increase the dose!
I've explained pros and cons to her. This includes that we would still consider increasing the dose if we don't see smilies, because sometimes if there isn't enough insulin, the BGs can be high and meandering. The protocol suggests several high and flat cycles mean a dose increase. We just want to avoid increasing the dose while he is bouncing, and mis-interpreting a high bounce value as a "real" high value. That's why we trial a dose for many cycles and let bounces settle out.
At this point, if today and tonight's cycles look like yesterday (a bit of a bounce at AMPS from yellows and a normal smilie cycle at night), then tomorrow morning would be about the earliest we could increase the dose.
What are your thoughts on this? Would you expect to see *no* bounces like yesterday morning for 3-6 cycles before increasing? How "settled" should he be before increasing the dose.
Thanks for your insight!
It would be up to mom @K T and Cooper, but I told her I would post the question to get your perspective deciding a dose increase.
Cooper's SS
Cooper has been on 1.2u for 6 cycles and he has had a couple nice smilies and at least one bounce from pretty yellows. None of the normal cycles had a nadir that was greater than a 50% drop. Therefore, all the cycles support increasing the dose in the next day or so.
My mom, Kathy, would be comfortable seeing a few more "smilie" cycles first, before increasing the dose to 1.4u. She is doing a terrific job wearing her Patience Pants and not rushing to increase the dose!
I've explained pros and cons to her. This includes that we would still consider increasing the dose if we don't see smilies, because sometimes if there isn't enough insulin, the BGs can be high and meandering. The protocol suggests several high and flat cycles mean a dose increase. We just want to avoid increasing the dose while he is bouncing, and mis-interpreting a high bounce value as a "real" high value. That's why we trial a dose for many cycles and let bounces settle out.
At this point, if today and tonight's cycles look like yesterday (a bit of a bounce at AMPS from yellows and a normal smilie cycle at night), then tomorrow morning would be about the earliest we could increase the dose.
What are your thoughts on this? Would you expect to see *no* bounces like yesterday morning for 3-6 cycles before increasing? How "settled" should he be before increasing the dose.
Thanks for your insight!
It would be up to mom @K T and Cooper, but I told her I would post the question to get your perspective deciding a dose increase.



