Fluffy's new numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.
This morning Fluffy's blood level was 540 and increased his insulin from 1.50 to 2.0. Ten hrs later his level was 344. Should I give him tonight 2.0 or decrease it back to 1.50. Thanks
 
You have so little data that it is hard to know. Assuming that your evening number before the shot will be higher than 344, you could shoot the 1.5 and be very safe. I think you would be safe with the 2 units also, but it is not as sure a deal. It could be that the food and the insulin have just started to work and you may be seeing lower numbers.

It will be much easier for you (and us) to decide on a dose when you have more numbers Tomorrow get your preshot number and try to get some mid cycle numbers - like 4, 5, or 6 hours after the morning shot. That will help us see how the insulin is working.

All: I helped Rose with her spreadsheet and she wanted an idea of what numbers to look for. Rose, here is a VERY general guide, knowing that every cat is different.


Treated but not regulated [often above 300 (16.7) and rarely near 100 (5.6), poor clinical signs]
Regulated [generally below 300 (16.7) with glucose nadir near 100 (5.6), good clinical signs, no hypoglycemia]
Well regulated [generally below 200-250 (11.1-13.9) and often near 100 (5.6), no hypoglycemia]
Tightly regulated [generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]
Normalized [60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin]
 
I would love to see that little explanation of regulated added to the Sticky if it's not already. It's really a great guideline.
 
Just took Fluffy blood It was 183 He has not eaten in about 3 hrs. This is probably too good to be true. Will take another in about an hour. Let me know what you think about that :-D
 
That's a great number. I didn't look at your ss. What was his amps? How long ago was his am shot?

Edit- I'm a bit confused by your ss. The 183 that you just posted is shown as being 5 hours after you were supposed to shoot last night. Did he not get a shot last night or this morning? I thought at first that maybe you were in a different country when I saw your ss, but I see that you are in Florida. So...confused.
 
Your 183 on your SS is in *tonight's* +5. Move it to this *morning's* + so that it won't get confusing, please :-D
 
So we need to tidy up your spreadsheet and we will celebrate.

You had a number yesterday at +10, 344. Did you get a number at pmps - right before you shot last night? How much did you end up shooting - 1.5 or 2 units? Did you get an amps this morning? (The number before you shot) How much did you shoot this am? Now you have 183 5 hours after the morning shot?

If you are confused about how to put these numbers in your spreadsheet, just give me a call. We can do it together and get on track.

BTW, 183 is a nice number mid cycle!! :razz:
 
Hi Fluffy's mom,
may we know your name?
i just took a look at your SS and was deeply hoping we could see a little bit more testing.
the preshot tests are a must.
and mid cycle's whenever you can are very nice especially in the begininng. This is the way to really help the Fluff and potentially keep you out of the vet's office and who knows, maybe even get fluff off of insulin. without the data we will never know and sometimes, more often than not, missing pre shot tests can be very dangerous. and costly.
Lori
and tomtom too!
 
The reason I do not do more testing during the day is because my husband and I are in and out alot of the time. We are rarely home all day. I need help on drawing blood. The last couple of days I had to stick Fluffy about 3 or 4 times to get blood and then it was not much. It seems that the problem is holding the ear down on the sock. I try to put the sock behind the ear hold both and then try to stick at the same time. It I get no blood I have to start over. Poor baby has pin pricks all over the edges of both ears. I try to push hard again the sock but the ear slips and the pin does not prick. I am sticking him on the outer edge of the ear but when I get blood there is so little I have to squeeze the ear to get more blood and he conplains. I am using Relion and have it set at 4 or 5 What is the answer? Thanks :?
 
Here's a link to some of my testing tips:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... 873#p67873

I don't have experience with the reli-on poker. But the OTU poker a 4 or 5 was good.

The ear needs to get good and warm. I put the sock underneath then hold the other hand on top of the ear. You should feel the cold ear tun warm and the warmth come though the ear into your palm.

Were are you located approx? We could try to find someone nearby from the board to come past and give you a tutorial.
 
It's hard at first, but his ears will learn to bleed much easier. Do you know what gauge lancets you're using? I used 26 to start with. They are pretty fat, but they were the best for producing a reliable drop of blood. Now I use 28 gauge. You don't have to hold the sock behind his ear-i do, but I can see how holding all that stuff can be tricky. You can just hold a folded tissue behind his ear, or even just your finger (but you may get poked every so often).
 
Rose,

You can also double poke. When you get through once, then just quickly poke again to enlarge the hole. Have you tried the vaseline to help the blood bead up?
 
Oh, the gauge may be the problem. 30 is really skinny - works fine once the ear "learns to bleed" but may be too fine for a new diabetic. I would try 25-26 gauge.

Until you can get some fatter lancets, try the double poking.
 
the sock is too bulky...that was just meant for warming the ear. try a cotton ball.
 
I always used the sock. :lol: It really helped to get the sock really tight with the rice in it so it had something against the back to prick against.

I know the newbie kit "socks" are not really socks. So....

Back to the athletic sock debate - then when I poked though and got blood on it or it just got grody I could wash it and use a new sock. But def not as cute as the newbie socks.
 
I found that vaseline made an enormous difference---the pooling of the blood made it much more visible. And I did not use a sock. I used a small medicine vial filled with very hot water. The curve of the vial fit right into Squamee's ear, and was a hard smooth surface to poke against. ( and a snap to clean).
 
It sounds like you are getting better at testing. Another trick to help the ears bleed is to massage the ear before and after poking to help get the blood moving. Massage towards where you poked. Also remember even if you are not successful, to give Fluffy a treat.

I live in Jacksonville. Feel free to PM me if you need more help with hometesting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top