Fluffys 2nd thread 05/29/24

FluffyP

Member
Continuation from:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-high-insulin-dose.290171/page-2#post-3182931

So far so good! 2.5: feels like a dose Id like to see more but since I won't be home to test I'm going to reduce to 2.25 for AM cycle. I have a family member who will stop by at +4 to ensure he gets at least his one snack.

Also to note yesterday, in addition to his great Numbers, was the most active I've seen him in a while. We still have work to do on his neuropathy but I think there are positive signs. He was up and down the couch multiple times and even jumped up on to the first level of his cat tower which I hadn't seen him do in weeks!

Once again thank you for all your help @Suzanne & Darcy and @Shelley & Jess
 
Last edited:
I’m glad you did decide to do the additional.25 reduction today. Thanks for sharing the photo. I love Fluffy’s sweet face! I’m also very glad about the +4 snack!
 
Fluffy earned another reduction! Hooray. Looks like continuing with 2.25 would have been better (especially with the lower preshot last night as he was trending down from yellow during the day.). When are you off work again? I think you should just cut the dose down to 2 units and see how that goes (even if he’s a bit high at AMPS due to last night’s green.) I do not mean a temporary reduction for just the one cycle but to give 2 units going forward. It will become evident if he needs to go back up in dose.
 
Fluffy earned another reduction! Hooray. Looks like continuing with 2.25 would have been better (especially with the lower preshot last night as he was trending down from yellow during the day.). When are you off work again? I think you should just cut the dose down to 2 units and see how that goes (even if he’s a bit high at AMPS due to last night’s green.) I do not mean a temporary reduction for just the one cycle but to give 2 units going forward. It will become evident if he needs to go back up in dose.

I work today and tomorrow still. 2 units sounds good. I think it's a safe dose while I work today as well since we starting a little higher today. I may do 1.75 while I'm at work tomorrow but I guess it depends on tonight's PM cycle and the preshot number tomorrow. Cross that bridge tomorrow.

And wow the more I do these tests the more I see that the +2 test really can set the tone for the rest of the cycle. I had a feeling he was a gonna go a bit low last night.
 
I work today and tomorrow still. 2 units sounds good. I think it's a safe dose while I work today as well since we starting a little higher today. I may do 1.75 while I'm at work tomorrow but I guess it depends on tonight's PM cycle and the preshot number tomorrow. Cross that bridge tomorrow.

And wow the more I do these tests the more I see that the +2 test really can set the tone for the rest of the cycle. I had a feeling he was a gonna go a bit low last night.
I agree about seeing where he is tonight and tomorrow! And yes… the +2 is such an indicator of things to come. Sometimes I have a hard time getting people to do it … they want to wait until +4. How is he acting and feeling? Blood tests getting any easier?
 
I agree about seeing where he is tonight and tomorrow! And yes… the +2 is such an indicator of things to come. Sometimes I have a hard time getting people to do it … they want to wait until +4. How is he acting and feeling? Blood tests getting any easier?

He seems good. He was feeling up to playing with his cat toy last night for a bit and just kinda hanging around where I was. Hoping the zobaline and BG regulation helps with his legs over time cause I'd like to see him regain that mobility.

And he's doing good with the tests, I've also gotten more and more efficient and get the process over with quicker so that helps. I think he's beginning to associate them the treats more also. If I feel like he's in a safe spot and he makes it clear he doesn't want to do it I'll let him take the lead, like that day he went to go under the bed after we did a few tests back to back.
 
He seems good. He was feeling up to playing with his cat toy last night for a bit and just kinda hanging around where I was. Hoping the zobaline and BG regulation helps with his legs over time cause I'd like to see him regain that mobility.

And he's doing good with the tests, I've also gotten more and more efficient and get the process over with quicker so that helps. I think he's beginning to associate them the treats more also. If I feel like he's in a safe spot and he makes it clear he doesn't want to do it I'll let him take the lead, like that day he went to go under the bed after we did a few tests back to back.
I hope so too (about the mobility). He’s not even that old! He should have a lot of good years ahead of him. :cat:
 
Yup I'll be at work today (my Friday) so I'll do 1.5 because he's clearly a very determined kitty :cat:

Then I'll have 3 more days of being off work to see he's got in mind :)
 
Fluffy seems to have settled down a bit on this 1.25 unit dose. I guess you went back to work today?

Was actually planning to follow up today with y'all. I'm still off today. Plan was to get a +4 and +6 reading today since he was a bit higher at pre shot. The 1.25 seems like a nice safe dose especially when I'm at work but based on the numbers it seems like 1.5 might be closer to the "ideal" dose.

I'll update the SS as I get some more numbers today but curious on everyone's thoughts so far. Try a 1.5 on PM before I go back to work tomorrow morning or let the 1.25 ride out for a week and see where we end up?
 
Was actually planning to follow up today with y'all. I'm still off today. Plan was to get a +4 and +6 reading today since he was a bit higher at pre shot. The 1.25 seems like a nice safe dose especially when I'm at work but based on the numbers it seems like 1.5 might be closer to the "ideal" dose.

I'll update the SS as I get some more numbers today but curious on everyone's thoughts so far. Try a 1.5 on PM before I go back to work tomorrow morning or let the 1.25 ride out for a week and see where we end up?
Unless he has some rising numbers this afternoon, I would hold the 1.25 dose for 7 days and really let it settle and see how he does on that dose long term. I agree that the 1.5 is probably a better dose for him in terms of more desirable numbers, but the 1.25 may be more where you want to keep him when there are going to be long stretches with no tests. We want to see what kind of nadirs he gets on the 1.24. It doesn’t have to be a full 7 days if you are going to be off work again before that, but holding the 1.25 for a while will let things stabilize. Insulin needs can change (in either direction) so we will see how it goes.
 
Just checking in on Fluffy. It looks like he’s doing pretty well overall on this dose.

Thank you for checking in :) . Yep I feel like he's really settled into this dose pretty well. Numbers are really consistent and safe. His demeanor has also improved over the last 3 days or so. Much more active. He's still walking on his hocks but I'm tempted to say he's walking further distances and going up and down the chairs I have around the place much more often than he was the week prior.
 
I started him on 1 pill a day about 2 weeks ago? Maybe 2 and a half. I increased to 2 pills a day about a week ago though.

He's also figured out his automatic feeder for the snacks so that's really good as well
 
I started him on 1 pill a day about 2 weeks ago? Maybe 2 and a half. I increased to 2 pills a day about a week ago though.

He's also figured out his automatic feeder for the snacks so that's really good as well
It could take a couple more weeks, I guess. Good news about the auto feeder!
 
How is everything going with Fluffy? He’s been getting some good numbers.

Hello! Thanks for checking in. Yup everything been going pretty good. .75 seems like a good safe dose for him. Sometimes I'll go down to .5 on a lower preshot number or if I know I won't be able to test much through the day, like today. But yes, he seems to be doing quite well

Unfortunately still not too much improvement in the neuropathy department but I'm still trying the zobaline and hoping eventually we turn the corner. At the very least he hasn't gotten any worse in that regard. As long as I have steps set up he's able to get up onto the bed and couch on his own.
 
Hello everyone, just wanted to share a brief positive update. Fluffy had continued show really nice stable numbers, he's currently on 0.5 units responding really well I think.

But mainly wanted to happily report that I have seen a drastic improvement in his neuropathy! He's back to climbing and jumping regularly, and I often find him battling his sister over the top spot on the highest tower I have :cat:. These things would've been unheard of even a month ago. He's still on a zobaline tablet at every meal but I just wanted to share the good news about his neuropathy recovery. :)
 
Fantastic news about Fluffy! I am really happy to hear this. He must be so much happier, too. He certainly was doing great on .75 units. Why did you reduce the dose? I can’t tell what he’s doing on .5 units during the day, but maybe you will be off work soon and be able to get some daytime tests.
 
Back
Top