? Fluffy PMPS 204 +1 176 +2 114 dropping too fast?

Kayleegoose

Member Since 2025
I just checked the +2 a few minutes ago and it said 123. I just checked again and it says 114. Both with ReliOn. Posting yesterday and today’s Libre charts even though today’s is way off to show the drop. It says 180 when it’s really 114??. What do I do? This is too fast. Yesterday was all high.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2025-12-11 at 7.31.17 PM.jpeg
    Screenshot 2025-12-11 at 7.31.17 PM.jpeg
    144.9 KB · Views: 17
  • Screenshot 2025-12-11 at 7.31.32 PM.jpeg
    Screenshot 2025-12-11 at 7.31.32 PM.jpeg
    185.7 KB · Views: 15
Feed a couple of teaspoons of regular food then check again at +3. With the +2 being lower than preshot, it’s a good indication that you will need to continue to monitor this cycle more closely, and feeding with onset at +2 will help get some new carbs on board.
 
That was quite a drop from what you're used to seeing. It's so scary to see lower than usual numbers. Let's hope it's a good sign for him, and that could mean he's found a good dose for now!
I hope he stays in good numbers for you, and no surprises! 💙😻
 
Feed a couple of teaspoons of regular food then check again at +3. With the +2 being lower than preshot, it’s a good indication that you will need to continue to monitor this cycle more closely, and feeding with onset at +2 will help get some new carbs on board.
I gave him some regular food at +1 when I saw the direction we were headed. Gave him half a can of fancy feast grilled chicken in gravy after your message and just tested. He’s at 109.

Edit- wanted to add the regular food I gave him was half a can of fancy feast pate that I normally give him at +4
 
Great job, thanks for the update, looks like he’s flattening out. Nice to see some blues :cool:. If you could make a note on your SS in the remarks that you fed 1/2 can FF grilled chicken which is approx. 12% carb and test again at +4 to see if he continues to stay flat. I’ll watch for your +4.
 
Great job, thanks for the update, looks like he’s flattening out. Nice to see some blues :cool:. If you could make a note on your SS in the remarks that you fed 1/2 can FF grilled chicken which is approx. 12% carb and test again at +4 to see if he continues to stay flat. I’ll watch for your +4.
Libre suggested he started dropping again so I confirmed with the ReliOn it’s down to 100. Should I feed him more? I’m very scared because his lowest numbers don’t usually happen until later in the cycle
 
Small variances on the handheld like you see between 114, 109 and 100 are generally considered the same number since there is an allowable meter variance. I believe Wendy mentioned in one of your original posts on main that nadirs are usually around +6. There are instances where you may find late or early nadirs, but as long as he continues to stay flat, I would hold off on additional food. He’s still in safe numbers, and the goal is to help steer him but not over feed too many carbs to where whatever continued effects of the insulin are impeded. Save the carbs for later if you need them.
 
Small variances on the handheld like you see between 114, 109 and 100 are generally considered the same number since there is an allowable meter variance. I believe Wendy mentioned in one of your original posts on main that nadirs are usually around +6. There are instances where you may find late nadirs, but as long as he continues to stay flat, I would hold off on additional food. He’s still in safe numbers, and the goal is to help steer him but not over feed too many carbs to where whatever continued effects of the insulin are impeded. Save the carbs for later if you need them.
Got it, thank you. Didn’t know about the variance but that makes a lot of sense and makes me feel better
 
Small variances on the handheld like you see between 114, 109 and 100 are generally considered the same number since there is an allowable meter variance. I believe Wendy mentioned in one of your original posts on main that nadirs are usually around +6. There are instances where you may find late or early nadirs, but as long as he continues to stay flat, I would hold off on additional food. He’s still in safe numbers, and the goal is to help steer him but not over feed too many carbs to where whatever continued effects of the insulin are impeded. Save the carbs for later if you need them.
+4 is 92 on the ReliOn
 
How about giving a couple teaspoons of his usual food now? Still holding pretty nice and steady. Very nice cycle so far! Are you ok to test again around +5 or +6?
Sure, I just gave him a little food. I’m good to test again at those times. I will likely be up all night worrying about him anyways. His lowest ever number was at +8 about a week ago. Maybe the food will keep things even though this time. He seems totally fine. Just as hungry and spunky as normal.
 
yes, I saw that cycle on your SS and wondered if that was the one you were concerned about. That cycle looks a bit different though…you started out in flat pinks and then it looks like he broke a bounce, which can have later nadirs. This evening he’s gone down from preshot then stayed nice and flattish since +2.
 
yes, I saw that cycle on your SS and wondered if that was the one you were concerned about. That cycle looks a bit different though…you started out in flat pinks and then it looks like he broke a bounce, which can have later nadirs. This evening he’s gone down from preshot then stayed nice and flattish since +2.
Yes that’s the one that terrified me :) I was worried this was similar since he had such high numbers yesterday. That makes me feel better though, so thank you again!!
 
You’re welcome, I can completely understand since you’ve not really had many cycles with movement, so it’s easy to get worried when you’re not sure as you get into better numbers. This is a good thing though! The more time he spends in lower numbers the better, and hopefully it will become the norm not the exception. Glad to hear he’s feeling spunky :smuggrin:
 
You’re welcome, I can completely understand since you’ve not really had many cycles with movement, so it’s easy to get worried when you’re not sure as you get into better numbers. This is a good thing though! The more time he spends in lower numbers the better, and hopefully it will become the norm not the exception. Glad to hear he’s feeling spunky :smuggrin:
Thank you ♥️ ReliOn at +5 is 96
 
Lovely! This is what we call a surf!

View attachment 75703
That kind of looks like him 😸

So you think I shouldn’t worry about a crazy drop at +8 then? I’ll still check +6 of course.

For the morning, I don’t think many people are on here at 5:30 AM so want to check now maybe. Do I keep the same dose if he’s 150 or higher? What about 100 or higher (not likely but just in case)? Since I had to help manage the curve tonight, does it mean it’s currently too high of a dose or it’s ok?
IMG_0310.jpeg
 
I tried to find one that might look like his avatar :). Just out of curiosity does the Libre give you any alarms with these greens? No, I think as flat as he is, he will stay flat or start to rise. The other cycle he dropped and continued until +7-8 where he flattened. See the difference? This time was earlier.
 
I tried to find one that might look like his avatar :). Just out of curiosity does the Libre give you any alarms with these greens? No, I think as flat as he is, he will stay flat or start to rise. The other cycle he dropped and continued until +7-8 where he flattened. See the difference? This time was earlier.
That makes sense. It’s funny you say that because right after my last message the Libre alarm went off and was showing his glucose at 65. I tested with the ReliOn because the Libre is usually good at indicating incoming drops or jumps and it still said 94
 
Handsome Fluffy deserves a few belly rubs from me for being so good at accepting the testing! It’s fairly likely he’ll start a bounce tomorrow. Last time you did a reduced dose with blue preshot and had a chance to see how that worked out. If you’re not sure, you can post for help.

No I don’t think it’s too high a dose right now, and most cats do well with small snacks. It’s just finding the best times that is a bit of an experiment. Remember he stayed in nice safe numbers and the more time he can spend in these numbers hopefully the less time he wants to spend in higher numbers.
 
Handsome Fluffy deserves a few belly rubs from me for being so good at accepting the testing! It’s fairly likely he’ll start a bounce tomorrow. Last time you did a reduced dose with blue preshot and had a chance to see how that worked out. If you’re not sure, you can post for help.

No I don’t think it’s too high a dose right now, and most cats do well with small snacks. It’s just finding the best times that is a bit of an experiment. Remember he stayed in nice safe numbers and the more time he can spend in these numbers hopefully the less time he wants to spend in higher numbers.
102 at +6. I can’t thank you enough for your guidance tonight. We both appreciate it so much!
 
I suppose over the time I’ve been here, seeing lots of spreadsheets and bouncy kitties, mine being one of them, it gets easier to spot. Not that cats are entirely predictable. Even looking back to how Fluffy reacted to hitting greens the last time, it was a good indication he would likely do it again. When a kitty is less regulated in the beginning at least, bounces usually clear within 6 cycles. That said, not all kitties are bouncers, and bouncy kitties over time will spend less time bouncing as they get better regulated, and/or they won’t bounce as high. I already see real progress in his spreadsheet, Fluffy isn’t getting into the high readings, and he isn’t bouncing from just hitting yellows.

I particularly like the description in this post (post #2) Info - New Dose Wonkiness (NDW) and Failed Reductions

When they are bouncing, most definitely you can take a break from numerous ear pokes. Bounces also give the caregiver (you) time to go do something you enjoy ;). His +2 today being significantly higher pretty much says he’s not going to be up for shenanigans :)
 
I suppose over the time I’ve been here, seeing lots of spreadsheets and bouncy kitties, mine being one of them, it gets easier to spot. Not that cats are entirely predictable. Even looking back to how Fluffy reacted to hitting greens the last time, it was a good indication he would likely do it again. When a kitty is less regulated in the beginning at least, bounces usually clear within 6 cycles. That said, not all kitties are bouncers, and bouncy kitties over time will spend less time bouncing as they get better regulated, and/or they won’t bounce as high. I already see real progress in his spreadsheet, Fluffy isn’t getting into the high readings, and he isn’t bouncing from just hitting yellows.

I particularly like the description in this post (post #2) Info - New Dose Wonkiness (NDW) and Failed Reductions

When they are bouncing, most definitely you can take a break from numerous ear pokes. Bounces also give the caregiver (you) time to go do something you enjoy ;). His +2 today being significantly higher pretty much says he’s not going to be up for shenanigans :)
This is also very helpful, thank you so so much. I had maybe one more question. With TR and discussing reduced doses, that post mentioned this below:

When practicing TR you're looking to bring kitty's numbers down to that of a normal cat (50mg/dL to 80mg/dL) and under 100 overall. Therefore, when following TR you'll want to hold the reduced dose:
  • until kitty falls below 50 mg/dL and earns another reduction, or
  • unless the reduction has failed (if you see BG numbers trending upwards after any bounce clears... you'll want to take the dose up), or
  • for at least a week (stabilize the cat) if kitty's numbers maintain that of a normal cat (50mg/dL to 80mg/dL) and under 100 overall


When they refer to “numbers” do they mean the nadirs? Or in order to reduce the dose, the numbers all need to stay between 50 and 80 for a week? That sounds impossible to me 😅 and scary to let the numbers get to 50. Even if they’re saying they have to stay between 50 and 100 for a week sounds crazy to me right now but maybe this is because I’m newer to this.
 
So, that part of the post is referring to what to do after you’ve reduced a dose. For Tight Regulation, yes, the goal is to try and achieve consistent cycles where the cat is getting blood glucose numbers (not just nadirs) in the 50-80 range. There are a few ways for newly diagnosed kitties to earn a reduction when following TR, going under 50 on human meter is one of them. There are some kitties who get tightly regulated who can achieve the range of 50-80 so that’s also another way to earn a reduction if they can stay there for a week, it is recommended to reduce the dose. Kat’s cat Trixie is one example:

Trixie's Spreadsheet

You can see how reductions were done around end of September, and then actually to where she needed no insulin at all.

I believe Wendy previously mentioned high dose conditions in one of your earlier posts on main? Seth’s cat, Bell has IAA, you can see how well he has been able to figure out Bell’s patterns.

Bells_Spreadsheet
 
So, that part of the post is referring to what to do after you’ve reduced a dose. For Tight Regulation, yes, the goal is to try and achieve consistent cycles where the cat is getting blood glucose numbers (not just nadirs) in the 50-80 range. There are a few ways for newly diagnosed kitties to earn a reduction when following TR, going under 50 on human meter is one of them. There are some kitties who get tightly regulated who can achieve the range of 50-80 so that’s also another way to earn a reduction if they can stay there for a week, it is recommended to reduce the dose. Kat’s cat Trixie is one example:

Trixie's Spreadsheet

You can see how reductions were done around end of September, and then actually to where she needed no insulin at all.

I believe Wendy previously mentioned high dose conditions in one of your earlier posts on main? Seth’s cat, Bell has IAA, you can see how well he has been able to figure out Bell’s patterns.

Bells_Spreadsheet
Yes, I just scheduled the tests for IAA and acro for next Monday since we passed the 72 day mark on insulin. I have been checking out Bell’s spreadsheet lately since they had to go up to the dose we’re at. The high dose is the part that scares me I think. Like if he were to have a pre shot value of 100 or less I would be so scared to give him the regular high dose. Maybe it will make more sense to me when things even out in the future though
 
Most caregivers slowly reduce the preshot level they are comfortable shooting, based on their experience and as they gather data. No one would expect you to shoot a number you’re not comfortable with, especially if you don’t have enough data with lower preshots yet :bighug:. Lots more reading I can send you, but I don’t want to overwhelm you…and you’re supposed to be taking a day off from this feline diabetes thing :smuggrin:
 
Most caregivers slowly reduce the preshot level they are comfortable shooting, based on their experience and as they gather data. No one would expect you to shoot a number you’re not comfortable with, especially if you don’t have enough data with lower preshots yet :bighug:. Lots more reading I can send you, but I don’t want to overwhelm you…and you’re supposed to be taking a day off from this feline diabetes thing :smuggrin:
I thought i was getting a small break today too, but the libre is up to its old tricks again. Showing a dramatic nose dive to 150 when the ReliOn says he’s at 233… I would love to go it without this thing but I’m a worrier if that wasn’t obvious and I’m not sure how people manage without being able to have some idea of what’s going on all the time. I’ll probably have to put a new one on him because it’s saying “sensor error” even though it should have 8 days left 🙄
 
I have no advice since I am new....but I just had to say your boy is soooooooo handsome. He has earned the Fluffy name.

We are also using Libre and those alarms are a pain in the butt! I understand why it is there but still. We get sensor errors every once in awhile but they *tend* do rectify within an hour. Which Libre are you using? 2+ or 3+?
 
I’ll probably have to put a new one on him because it’s saying “sensor error” even though it should have 8 days left 🙄
I'm not sure if you're running into the same issue we are, but our last few Libres have lasted less time because (I think) his fur is growing back more quickly now that he has his 'winter fluff' going in the cooler weather.
 
I have no advice since I am new....but I just had to say your boy is soooooooo handsome. He has earned the Fluffy name.

We are also using Libre and those alarms are a pain in the butt! I understand why it is there but still. We get sensor errors every once in awhile but they *tend* do rectify within an hour. Which Libre are you using? 2+ or 3+?
Haha thank you. When I adopted him and they said his name was Fluffy I was like eh that’s kinda boring..and tried to make him “Franky”, but he really is so fluffy that he had to be Fluffy 😸 we’re using the 3 and I think it’s resolved itself already. It just makes me not trust them when it happens! It always shows a big dive and then throws the error. Trying to scare me I think
 
I'm not sure if you're running into the same issue we are, but our last few Libres have lasted less time because (I think) his fur is growing back more quickly now that he has his 'winter fluff' going in the cooler weather.
This makes soo much sense!! For the past two I’ve replaced early, I even said to my husband I was shocked how fast his hair had been growing under it. Winter coat really does explain it though!
 
So far on today’s SS those are Libre numbers? Depending on when you got that 233 on Relion, I’d suggest if you can test with Relion again at +11. I’d like to see how he is trending. And if you’d like to start a new post for today with his numbers, we can keep an eye a little easier on today’s BG news. You can just link this post for history, it makes it easier to follow.
 
So far on today’s SS those are Libre numbers? Depending on when you got that 233 on Relion, I’d suggest if you can test with Relion again at +11. I’d like to see how he is trending. And if you’d like to start a new post for today with his numbers, we can keep an eye a little easier on today’s BG news. You can just link this post for history, it makes it easier to follow.
So far the AMPS was ReliOn and the 233 at 6.5. The rest were libre numbers I started adding to at least track the general curve. I will start a new one
 
Back
Top