? FLUFFY JUST SWITCHED TO LANTUS TONIGHT (PMPS)

I can post a photo and they are 100U syringes
upload_2022-7-17_0-41-22.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-7-17_0-41-22.jpeg
    upload_2022-7-17_0-41-22.jpeg
    38.3 KB · Views: 232
Question: Fluffy is getting 3.5U's of Lantus.....when the depot fills over several days (not sure I understand that) but will it cause him to crash? Will the numbers get too low and cause me to greatly struggle to keep the glucose up? NPH is different than depots, they are not equal and does than mean I should have started Fluffy on 2U's or less and worked up? Fluff's had Lantus a full 24 hrs now and has stayed steady in the 300's....what's the process if the 3.5U's don't lower his numbers?


@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Bandit's Mom

@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Question: Fluffy is getting 3.5U's of Lantus.....when the depot fills over several days (not sure I understand that) but will it cause him to crash? Will the numbers get too low and cause me to greatly struggle to keep the glucose up? NPH is different than depots, they are not equal and does than mean I should have started Fluffy on 2U's or less and worked up? Fluff's had Lantus a full 24 hrs now and has stayed steady in the 300's....what's the process if the 3.5U's don't lower his numbers?
Here is a link to the DEPOT
Initially the depot takes up to 7 days to fill, then every time you increase the dose, it can take 3 more days for it to fill again.
The insulin is working from the beginning, but the full effect of the dose is not felt until the depot is full.
When it fills, it doesn't mean that Fluffy will 'crash'. That would only happen if the dose was too high. and we don't think that 3.5 units is too high a dose.
You will see as the days progress if this dose is the right dose, or it has to be increased or decreased.
It would not be in Fluffy's best interests to go back to 2 units again and then work back up as we could see that 2 units was not enough insulin.
If the 3.5 units does not lower his BGs enough after 7 days, then we will increase the dose by 0.25 units. Does that make sense?
 
Here is a link to the DEPOT
Initially the depot takes up to 7 days to fill, then every time you increase the dose, it can take 3 more days for it to fill again.
The insulin is working from the beginning, but the full effect of the dose is not felt until the depot is full.
When it fills, it doesn't mean that Fluffy will 'crash'. That would only happen if the dose was too high. and we don't think that 3.5 units is too high a dose.
You will see as the days progress if this dose is the right dose, or it has to be increased or decreased.
It would not be in Fluffy's best interests to go back to 2 units again and then work back up as we could see that 2 units was not enough insulin.
If the 3.5 units does not lower his BGs enough after 7 days, then we will increase the dose by 0.25 units. Does that make sense?
What do I do about Fluffys shot this morning?? I need to leave at 8:15 am, his shot time is 9:30?? Do I give shot at 8:15 or skip it??
@Diane Tyler's Mom
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Since this is going to happen every Sunday for you, consider moving his shot time to at least 9. 8:45 would be better. Then if you shoot at 8:15 it would only be 30 minutes early.

ETA: I know this will mean that on Wednesday nights his shot will be late, but I would rather have a late shot than an early one every week. Right now Fluffy’s numbers are all pink so it’s probably okay, but later on it will be more significant.
 
Last edited:
How long before 8.15? Have you taken any recent BGs or the preshot?
When are you going to be coming back home and are you going to be able to monitor this cycle?
I'll be home by 1p. I skipped am shot cuz idk what to do and no one in forum yet seen my post before I had to leave.

I'm going to check his blood levels as soon as I get home and will continue to check every two hours as much as possible I did really good yesterday in between 9:30 a.m. and 9:30 p.m. I only missed a 5:30 blood test
 
Since this is going to happen every Sunday for you, consider moving his shot time to at least 9. 8:45 would be better. Then if you shoot at 8:15 it would only be 30 minutes early.

ETA: I know this will mean that on Wednesday nights his shot will be late, but I would rather have a late shot than an early one every week. Right now Fluffy’s numbers are all pink so it’s probably okay, but later on it will be more significant.
Okay I can switch his shot times till 8:45 and then he'll just be late on Wednesdays anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour so with that in mind how do I treat his p.m. shot tonight? Since he didn't get a morning shot and in switching to 8:45 for his shot time, do I just go with 8:45 pm then for tonight?

@Diane Tyler's Mom
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Too late! I'm praying he's going to be okay I didn't know what to do didn't get any response before I had to leave his morning BG was 316 before he ate
Tell me again what time zone you are in? I replied this morning at 7:19 am, but that was my time (Eastern). Did you skip the shot this morning? I will look at his Spreadsheet, but if you did skip then that resets the cycle count.
 
Okay I can switch his shot times till 8:45 and then he'll just be late on Wednesdays anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour so with that in mind how do I treat his p.m. shot tonight? Since he didn't get a morning shot and in switching to 8:45 for his shot time, do I just go with 8:45 pm then for tonight?

@Diane Tyler's Mom
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
@Wendy&Neko
Okay, I see now that he did not get a shot this morning (sorry, reading these posts out of order) and so just go ahead and shoot at whatever his new shot time will be.
 
Okay I can switch his shot times till 8:45 and then he'll just be late on Wednesdays anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour so with that in mind how do I treat his p.m. shot tonight? Since he didn't get a morning shot and in switching to 8:45 for his shot time, do I just go with 8:45 pm then for tonight?

@Diane Tyler's Mom
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
@Wendy&Neko
And, in case I wasn’t clear… yes just shoot at 8:45 tonight… your time. Eastern?
 
Okay, I see now that he did not get a shot this morning (sorry, reading these posts out of order) and so just go ahead and shoot at whatever his new shot time will be.
Ok. Weill be switching to 8:45 and see how that goes. Nothing is written in stone and I can only keep trying until I find something that works I guess. I don't know if there's a time where there doesn't have to be modification twice a week I was trying to figure out a good time where there would only have to be one regular modification a week that's why I have switched it to 9:30. But if it is better to be late than early, that is, defining late as anytime past shot time up to 1 hour then I guess 8:45 would be a good time
 
Ok. Weill be switching to 8:45 and see how that goes. Nothing is written in stone and I can only keep trying until I find something that works I guess. I don't know if there's a time where there doesn't have to be modification twice a week I was trying to figure out a good time where there would only have to be one regular modification a week that's why I have switched it to 9:30. But if it is better to be late than early, that is, defining late as anytime past shot time up to 1 hour then I guess 8:45 would be a good time
Shot times, optimally, will not vary by more than 15 minutes per day. I realize that you don’t have a perfect time yet. I always shot earlier in the morning because of this. You can alter the shot times by as much as 30 minutes in a single cycle or 15 minutes in each cycle per day. Beyond this, there could be impacts on the numbers- but hopefully there won’t be too much if Fluffy’s case. Lantus does do better with consistency, but the depot should help with this.

More info: Shooting early can act as a dose increase and shooting late can act as a dose decrease.
 
Back
Top