? FLUFFY JUST SWITCHED TO LANTUS TONIGHT (PMPS)

Scarlette & Fluffy

Member Since 2022
We are new to this Forum! Since his diagnosis, the vet had him on Novolin-N. His BG's are all over the place. Haven't been able to get him regulated. He was on 4U's of Novolin-N. Tonight I switched him to Lantus 4U for his PMPS dose. His NG was 515. His AMPS/PMPS times are 9:30/9:30. If you want to know why at that hour, please see this post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/insulin-regulation.265853/

Fluffy is the only known Sugar Baby!

Any tips, tricks, suggestions, help or recommendations will be dually noted.

Let me introduce you to the rest of my fur babies: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/photo-gallery.265866/

They are all 12 years and older with one exception, Nallah is 5 or 6 years old. Nallah I acquired at age 6mos. Abbey, the oldest of 17yrs I inherited when my sister unexpectedly passed. Baby was dropped off in my yard (I think she was 1-2 yrs old) The rest I had since they were kittens.

Fluffy is extra special to me! If you want to read our story, click here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fluffys-special-story.263184/

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/15C7YGq1rmCDe0RBZCatzTR9UyslMbgcWDiZGOSq7Wsg/edit?usp=sharing
 
Last edited:
Please a try and get some tests in during the cycles so we can see how low the dose is taking Fluffy. It is really important that we see how low the dose is taking him. Landus dosing is based on the nadir or lowest point in the cycle, not the preshot.
I can see that he is bouncing from the novolin N so I think the 4 unit dose may be too high.
See what @tiffmaxee and @Suzanne & Darcy think as they have been posting on your threads.
 
Last edited:
Hu Scarlette see you made it over to the lantus forum
When you do your new post for tomorrow can you do it like this
We do a new post everyday on the Lantus forum and link the previous days post to it
So for tomorrow
Date Fluffy AMPS # and any other tests you do after that then PMPS#
To add those tests to the right you will see the word Tool Threads tap on that then tap on Edit Thread add those tests and tap Save

Can you go back to your previous thread and read posts #58, 61 and 62 the numbers are to the right of each post, just want to be sure you saw them :cat:
@Scarlette & Fluffy
Previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/insulin-regulation.265853/
I read all about Fluffy and how you were reunited with him
Unbelievable , I'm so so happy you found him. It's truly am amazing story
 
Last edited:
Please a try and get some tests in during the cycles so we can see how low the dose is taking Fluffy. It is really important that we see how low the dose is taking him. Landis dosing is based on the nadir or lowest point in the cycle, not the preshot.
I can see that he is bouncing from the novolin N so I think the 4 unit dose may be too high.
See what @tiffmaxee and @Suzanne & Darcy think as they have been posting on your threads.
Ok..that information has me worried! Many in the forum instructed me to give 4U of Lantus. I dunno if I'm gonna get any sleep tonight!

11:30 pm his BG was 306 (+2), will check again at 1:30 am.

What will it look like if it goes too low? His behavior?
 
Ok..that information has me worried! Many in the forum instructed me to give 4U of Lantus. I dunno if I'm gonna get any sleep tonight!

11:30 pm his BG was 306 (+2), will check again at 1:30 am.

What will it look like if it goes too low? His behavior?
Yes I looked back and I can see you were advised to start at 4 units.
I think it is hard to tell if 4 units is the right dose with no tests in the pm cycles.
Can you put the +2 306 in the SS please? That is quite a drop from 515 at PMPS so I would get another test in at +4 to see if it is still dropping. If you post that result I will watch out for it.
Have you given Fluffy a snack after the +2 test?
 
Yes I looked back and I can see you were advised to start at 4 units.
I think it is hard to tell if 4 units is the right dose with no tests in the pm cycles.
Can you put the +2 306 in the SS please? That is quite a drop from 515 at PMPS so I would get another test in at +4 to see if it is still dropping. If you post that result I will watch out for it.
Have you given Fluffy a snack after the +2 test?
Yes I added it to the spreadsheet and his 1:30 am reading was 380. I think his eyes look a little bit glassy. Im scared.
He did have a little less than a quarter of a kid of wet food at around 11:30 after his reading I was a little nervous cuz his eyes look glassy add that only would have equated to no more than 2 tablespoons plus about a tablespoon of dr. Elsey's dry chicken.

Thank you for watching!
 
Yes I added it to the spreadsheet and his 1:30 am reading was 380. I think his eyes look a little bit glassy. Im scared.
He did have a little less than a quarter of a kid of wet food at around 11:30 after his reading I was a little nervous cuz his eyes look glassy add that only would have equated to no more than 2 tablespoons plus about a tablespoon of dr. Elsey's dry chicken.

Thank you for watching!
Looks like he is not going to drop any more tonight. With Lantus, the depot fills over a period of days so you won’t see the full effect of the dose until the depot is full.
That amount you gave as a snack is plenty.
You are doing a good job looking after him. Keep getting the pre shot BG, and if you can get a couple of tests in each cycle, that will tell us how he is going with the dose. If possible always test during the cycle until you see the BG starting to go back up again..it should do that by around +6 or +7.
keep asking questions and post if you are concerned about anything.
 
Looks like he is not going to drop any more tonight. With Lantus, the depot fills over a period of days so you won’t see the full effect of the dose until the depot is full.
That amount you gave as a snack is plenty.
You are doing a good job looking after him. Keep getting the pre shot BG, and if you can get a couple of tests in each cycle, that will tell us how he is going with the dose. If possible always test during the cycle until you see the BG starting to go back up again..it should do that by around +6 or +7.
keep asking questions and post if you are concerned about anything.
I just did BG. 406 am BG 332
 
Looks like he is not going to drop any more tonight. With Lantus, the depot fills over a period of days so you won’t see the full effect of the dose until the depot is full.
That amount you gave as a snack is plenty.
You are doing a good job looking after him. Keep getting the pre shot BG, and if you can get a couple of tests in each cycle, that will tell us how he is going with the dose. If possible always test during the cycle until you see the BG starting to go back up again..it should do that by around +6 or +7.
keep asking questions and post if you are concerned about anything.
I don't know how much Lantus to give him at 9:30 a.m. today I'm not going to do another four units. How many units should I give him?
 
I don't know how much Lantus to give him at 9:30 a.m. today I'm not going to do another four units. How many units should I give him?
This is a good question. Why will you not give him four units? What is your fear? Last night he stayed in the 300s, which is a very high glucose level. I can see when I read through the thread from last night that you were afraid. Any number over 50 is safe for a cat, so he was miles away from a hypo. I just wanted to say that first. It’s okay if you are not comfortable giving the 4 units. What would you like to start with? Whichever dose that you feel comfortable with and finally decide upon should be held for one week (14 cycles) unless a reduction is earned. Testing would be necessary for mid-cycle both A.M. and P.M. for us to see how low the dose is taking Fluffy.
 
I think you will find I was the one who thought that 4 units might be too high Suzanne as there was no testing in the pm cycles and it looked as if the BGs could have dropped low overnight at times. That was my hesitation in suggesting 4 units.
He didn’t drop low last night but he did start off with a high pre shot as he had no insulin for the cycle before or some reason.
If Scarlette is uncomfortable with shooting 4 units then I think 3.75 units would be fine.
 
I think you will find I was the one who thought that 4 units might be too high Suzanne as there was no testing in the pm cycles and it looked as if the BGs could have dropped low overnight at times. That was my hesitation in suggesting 4 units.
He didn’t drop low last night but he did start off with a high pre shot as he had no insulin for the cycle before or some reason.
If Scarlette is uncomfortable with shooting 4 units then I think 3.75 units would be fine.
You think so? Now you had me worried. I was uncomfortable because of the lack of pm BG tests too. I’m just trying to see what Scarlette would be comfortable with because I don’t like pushing people.
 
I think you will find I was the one who thought that 4 units might be too high Suzanne as there was no testing in the pm cycles and it looked as if the BGs could have dropped low overnight at times. That was my hesitation in suggesting 4 units.
He didn’t drop low last night but he did start off with a high pre shot as he had no insulin for the cycle before or some reason.
If Scarlette is uncomfortable with shooting 4 units then I think 3.75 units would be fine.
And BTW, your help was excellent last night. I was so pleased to see that this morning when I was getting caught up on the thread. Much appreciated!
 
I would be comfortable with 3.75 units or even 3.5 units if Scarlette feels more comfortable with that. What do you think, Scarlette. If 3.75, you will need to pull the plunger to in between the 3.5 mark and the 3.75 mark. Eyeball it as best you can.
 
Scarlette, just as a reminder, the procedure will be:
(1) no food for two hours before testing/shooting time;
(2) test and feed and shoot insulin all within about 10-15 minutes time.

Some people shoot while the cat is eating; I did. As long as Fluffy is eating normally, it’s all okay.
 
This is a good question. Why will you not give him four units? What is your fear? Last night he stayed in the 300s, which is a very high glucose level. I can see when I read through the thread from last night that you were afraid. Any number over 50 is safe for a cat, so he was miles away from a hypo. I just wanted to say that first. It’s okay if you are not comfortable giving the 4 units. What would you like to start with? Whichever dose that you feel comfortable with and finally decide upon should be held for one week (14 cycles) unless a reduction is earned. Testing would be necessary for mid-cycle both A.M. and P.M. for us to see how low the dose is taking Fluffy.
His eyes were glassy and He seemed strange too me. I know my cat and his behavior seemed slightly off. But I wanna know if it is still recommended for 4U's? I'm thinking 2 but I'm scared. You guys are the experienced folks....I still don't quite understand this diabetes journey. My mind is not clear. Fluff seems better this morning. I can't explain how he was after the last injection, but he just didn't seem quite right. He seemed a lil "High" for a lack of better description. I'm trusting this forum to guide me.

I truly appreciate everyone reading and watching and commenting. These cats are so hungry this morning Abbey is batting at everyone....she's the bossy one, thinks she's the queen! LOL My inheritance kitty. She's the oldest too!

If the conscences still thinks that 3.75 is good ok but I dunno if the 100U I have indicate .25 line markers on it.

Can I get a link of an example of the proper way to post in Lantus.. I'm a pretty smart person but I just feel like I can't think straight and I'm tired.
 
Last edited:
His eyes were glassy and He seemed strange too me. I know my cat and his behavior seemed slightly off. But I wanna know if it is still recommended for 4U's? I'm thinking 2 but I'm scared.
The glassy-eyed appearance could not have been caused by dangerously low BG because he was in the pinks all night. But I agree that you know your cat best. It could be anything, of course, but it’s possible that he felt a little odd in BG numbers that he’s not used to? It seems like he ate his snack all right so that a good sign.
 
His eyes were glassy and He seemed strange too me. I know my cat and his behavior seemed slightly off. But I wanna know if it is still recommended for 4U's? I'm thinking 2 but I'm scared. You guys are the experienced folks....I still don't quite understand this diabetes journey. My mind is not clear. Fluff seems better this morning. I can't explain how he was after the last injection, but he just didn't seem quite right. He seemed a lil "High" for a lack of better description. I'm trusting this forum to guide me.

I truly appreciate everyone reading and watching and commenting. These cats are so hungry this morning Abbey is batting at everyone....she's the bossy one, thinks she's the queen! LOL My inheritance kitty. She's the oldest too!

If the conscences still thinks that 3.75 is good ok but I dunno if the 100U I have indicate .25 line markers on it.

Can I get a link of an example of the proper way to post in Lantus.. I'm a pretty smart person but I just feel like I can't think straight and I'm tired.
See my post about this from a few minutes ago. Can you find it?
 
Would you like to just go with 3.5 this morning to make it easy? Of course, we will wait to see his number before shooting.

post #18 was where I talked about drawing 3.75 units.
 
Okay. I was hanging around and waiting. I see from your spreadsheet that you shot 3.75 units. I have to go take care of a sick kitten now. I will check back in later. Try to get a +2 (test taken two hours after the shot.).
 
Would you like to just go with 3.5 this morning to make it easy? Of course, we will wait to see his number before shooting.

post #18 was where I talked about drawing 3.75 units.
yes 3.5U's, but I already gave his AMPS dose at 9:30, it was probably closer to 3.5, but there are no .25 line indicators so it was tricky... so is it okay for PMPS to go with 3.5U's??
 
The glassy-eyed appearance could not have been caused by dangerously low BG because he was in the pinks all night. But I agree that you know your cat best. It could be anything, of course, but it’s possible that he felt a little odd in BG numbers that he’s not used to? It seems like he ate his snack all right so that a good sign.
What are the syringes you are using for the lantus?
Are they the 3/10 ml syringes?
Can you post a photo?
I can post a photo and they are 100U syringes
 
Yes I'll go with 3.5 and stay there until his numbers dictate otherwise, okay??
Yes. If you feel more comfortable beginning with 3.5 units, then begin that tonight. After his depot of insulin if established and you have gathered data regarding how low the dose is taking him, we can reevaluate the dose.
 
So to start a new post for today. Go to the Lantus /Levemir /Biosimilars forum (where we are now) and in the upper right of your screen you will see a box that says Post New Thread. Click that, and begin your new Thread Title. For today, so far, it will say 7/16 Fluffy AMPS 360. Then type something in the text box for today. Anything you like. You can just say that you gave Fluffy 3.75 units and will test again at +2, but that tonight you will shoot 3.5 units because you are more comfortable with that. Whatever you want. If you can also put in the link to this thread that would be very helpful. We always make a new post for each day on this forum and link the previous thread in there. It helps people so much to be able to quickly and easily read up on what’s been happening with your kitty. Does this help?
 
I see you got a 388 on Fluffy at +2. Good. It’s similar to his AMPS test. No worries. Can you get another test in maybe in another two hours?
 
@Scarlette & Fluffy
When you start your new post for today on the lantus board like Suzanne explained above in post #41
To add additional after the AMPS test look to the right you will see the word Tool Threads tap on that then tap on Edit Thread add those tests and tap Save
You can go back and add your PMPS# tonight
 
Do I also add the mid-cycle testings?
Yes. When you get a BG test, go to your thread and edit the title to add in the various numbers. Look at how some other people do it. Some write AMPS 360, +2 388, +4 ###. Etc. adding in the numbers into the thread title helps people to help you in a pinch; they can see quickly what’s going on. Sometimes for the evening cycle you want to delete the morning ones and start fresh with new numbers - it kind of depends on how many numbers you have and if your title is getting too long.
 
Please a try and get some tests in during the cycles so we can see how low the dose is taking Fluffy. It is really important that we see how low the dose is taking him. Landus dosing is based on the nadir or lowest point in the cycle, not the preshot.
I can see that he is bouncing from the novolin N so I think the 4 unit dose may be too high.
See what @tiffmaxee and @Suzanne & Darcy think as they have been posting on your threads.
Question: Fluffy is getting 3.5U's of Lantus.....when the depot fills over several days (not sure I understand that) but will it cause him to crash? Will the numbers get too low and cause me to greatly struggle to keep the glucose up? NPH is different than depots, they are not equal and does than mean I should have started Fluffy on 2U's or less and worked up? Fluff's had Lantus a full 24 hrs now and has stayed steady in the 300's....what's the process if the 3.5U's don't lower his numbers?
 
Last edited:
I can post a photo and they are 100U syringes
upload_2022-7-17_0-10-12.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-7-17_0-9-27.jpeg
    upload_2022-7-17_0-9-27.jpeg
    40.2 KB · Views: 101
  • upload_2022-7-17_0-10-12.jpeg
    upload_2022-7-17_0-10-12.jpeg
    38.8 KB · Views: 326
Back
Top