Fluffles 48 @3.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fluffles

Member Since 2017
Hi everyone,
No pm shot for fluffles last night and decreased dose to 1u this am. PMPS 102, advice on what to do needed, thank you
 
Do you have enough carbs and testing supplies? 102 is not too far from 90 (thinking of the SLGS protocol). Fluffles has been giving you good numbers lately, especially with the no shoot...

If you feel comfortable, I vote shot... but I not super comfortable giving advice, so you can ignore me LOL

You can also feed MC for the meal and shot the number dose. I do that sometimes when I don't want to skip and mess up momentum.

ETA :
@Kris & Teasel
@Judy and Boomer
@Bron and Sheba
 
Hi. Sorry nobody has gotten back to you besides Cass. We shoot anything above 90 with SLGS. Would you be able to monitor?
 
partial dose maye? any one? thoughts?

stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes

I held off for 1/2 hour and retested and he was 133 so I felt more comfortable and I did give him 1u

Yeah!!! Good for you!! The fact that he came up without food is a good indication that the last shot is probably wearing off. You'll want to test again at +1 and +2 so if you need to intervene, you can do it early instead of waiting for it to become an emergency
 
Hi @Mandy & Rex Yes I can monitor, when I read it I must have missed the part that says 90, I saw something about new cats under 150 no sot. But I held off for 1/2 hour and got 133. Thanks for getting back to me, and good to know the number is 90, Thanks
 
Thank you @Chris & China, great minds think alike! I still get nervous and don't want to make mistake but learning more everyday and I don't want to jinx anything but I feeling really optimistic about how he is doing right now. So grateful to you all for being patient teachers and supportive friends!
 
saw something about new cats under 150 no sot.

That's true, but remember, as you gather more data on your cat, that "no shot" number comes down

I know you're doing SLGS, so 90 is the lowest you'd ever shoot, but those of us doing TR (and with enough data on how our cats respond to both insulin and food) will shoot anything above 50 (like I did this morning!)
 
Hi @Mandy & Rex Yes I can monitor, when I read it I must have missed the part that says 90, I saw something about new cats under 150 no sot. But I held off for 1/2 hour and got 133. Thanks for getting back to me, and good to know the number is 90, Thanks
You have shot a 97 before so I didn't think about 150 being the cut off point. You monitor enough now.

I agree about getting a +1 and +2 to start with. How are you doing?
 
Just got 124 at +1. I think I shot that 97 before I really what I was doing too well, but good to know 90 is the cut off now. It seems to me that his nadirs are later in cycle than one would expect? Does it look like that to you? or is he just kind of going where he goes right now and not creating much of a curve yet?
 
Just got 124 at +1. I think I shot that 97 before I really what I was doing too well, but good to know 90 is the cut off now. It seems to me that his nadirs are later in cycle than one would expect? Does it look like that to you? or is he just kind of going where he goes right now and not creating much of a curve yet?
I felt yesterday AM cycle was from breaking a bounce and that's why he was going down all day. But I do see other cycles where his nadir was around +10. Last month, it was closer to mid - cycles. He's not making it easy to pinpoint. ;)
 
oh ok that makes sense! I guess everything will become more clear with more data. I wish the stupid monitor didn't break and I just bought relion to begin with, I feel like I would have a clearer picture if it weren't for that time with no data, but overall pleased with how things are going. Hoping one day he will join the ranks with Rex! but one day at a time :)
 
I may be jumping gun here, but I don't want to be stuck tomorrow morning not knowing what to do. At +2 he was 97, if he goes below 90 tonight should I reduce to .75u tomorrow. His reductions are so close together, just not sure what do if he goes lower tonight. thanks
 
I would go ahead and feed him a couple teaspoons of his regular low carb food NOW and test again at +3
Right. This is feeding the curve to try and flatten it a bit.

But as to your question, if he does go under 90 at any time, take the reduction unless he's high in the morning then you want to shoot 1u again.
 
I want to chime in and say (also being new since August) that the first time I gave that shot under 100 at night I was TERRIFIED, but it gets so much easier. Mostly having the numbers to back it up is what lets you do it confidently. If you look at Starbuck's chart, we also had a bunch of reductions close together because the vet started her out too high.
 
Last edited:
@SarahNOLA that's a good looking spreadsheet! Nola is doing great!
Yes I'm a stage where I'm so afraid I'm going to do something wrong. I had the same issue with my vet. She jumped him from 1 to 2 before I was home testing and after a curve at the vet and he got so sick that the vet recommended taking him off the insulin all together and starting him on something else. Thankfully the wonderful on this site told me to try cutting back to 1.5u and he's been improving everyday since. So very grateful that this site exists and that there are people out there willing to give their time and share their knowledge. Thanks for your help and encouragement that it does get easier!! I really appreciate it!
 
uh-oh, 48 at +3.5

Have you retested??

This is when you should have some high carb food like Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers....when they drop below 50, you pop the top, put it back and "squeeze" the gravy into another bowl (the gravy has most of the carbs)....then give a couple teaspoons.

Test again in 20-30 minutes....and again 30 minutes after that....and then 1 more test an hour later.....so anytime they drop below 50, you want to continue to test for 2 hours from the last time you have to feed anything high/medium carb.

If (after the high carb) they go in safer numbers, you can feed a little low carb food to (hopefully) encourage them to stay up without going too high (we call it "surfing"), but if they drop below 50 again, the whole 2 hour clock starts over
 
Hi @Chris & China, thanks so much for the advice, I didn't know about the squeezing out the gravy but I feed him a couple of teaspoons of LC at after+2 test and then a couple of teaspoons of HC after +3.5. Retested at +4 76 and +5 82 so we seem to be heading out of the danger zone. I was going to go sleep but I guess I should do one more at 5.5? thanks for checking in on us! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top