"Fluff" from 4U to zero in 30 days

Status
Not open for further replies.

Los Gatos

Member Since 2014
His numbers have been dropping and the past few days I've given him a diet of 95% wet and a sprinkling of dry. It sure cuts down on the testing.
 
AMPS of 141
PMPS of 107
PM+4 of 84
He did not get any insulin today, just wet food and whatever kibble he could get away with. Poor thing, every time he went for the kibble, he got yelled at. He takes that very personally.
 
Gosh, Kevin,

I agree with Cindi; Fluff's numbers are looking great! :smile:
(And are those Alphatrak numbers?)

Does Fluff like freeze dried meat treats? Maybe that would give him the 'crunch' he craves but without the carbs..?

Keeping fingers and paws crossed here that remission may soon be on the cards for him (touching wood/anti-jinx etc, etc, etc...)
 
Elizabeth,
I've never given them the freeze dried treats but actually was thinking of that the other day. I know most cats love eating them as the staff at the adoption site likes to "treat" our fosters on adoption days.

Rachel,
I don't think I'll be teaching anything soon and if it were up to my vet, I'd still be giving him 3U. Most of the spreadsheets I've looked at are not nearly as "even" as his. If this can keep up for a few more days, I can start to experiment with different foods and dosing required with them. I think I might even have a dose for those "kibble" days I'd like to give him.

Thank you all.
He had a AMPS at 141, the same as yesterday. Additionally, I gave him snacks of wet between testing times.
 
The only kibble that are < 10% are Evo Cat and Kitten (8% calories from carbs) and Young Again 0 carb (5% the way we calculate it).

You can use freeze dried meats or poultry for crunchy treats. Ex PureBites
 
My Herb went diet-controlled after 1 week of food change and one week of .5u - sometimes the diet makes all the difference. Kudos to you both!
 
I just got in the Young Again and will see how he does with that. He is slowly climbing but has not hit 200 yet, just at 198.
 
As he had been on insulin 30 days and you are testing regularly, I'd consider lowering the no shoot number to 180/150 - whatever you are comfortable with. You can always start with a drop and then, after you see how well that does and how long it lasts, add more if needed. So basically chase the number and shoot once it goes above your limit (as long as he is definitely rising, it is over at least +10 or so since the last shot and you can monitor)

I wouldn't mess around. Sometimes waiting too long to restart insulin can mean it is harder the second time around. And you are playing with fire with even a few pieces of dry. Although some cats do okay with Young Again; some have elevated numbers.
 
Sue,
His numbers did not drop to the numbers previous to the first dry food attempt and now I need to try the YA for a few days to see what that does.

The reason being, I need to use a feeder and he will get no wet at all for three days unless I board him. I can't trust anyone there to monitor him and give him his dose. Every now and then he will go low and if they shoot him then, I'll get the call - "Your cat is sick, what would you like me to do?"

When I go on a long trip, it is going to get much worse. My son will take care of him and I'll be lucky if he doesn't get ketoacidosis. He will forget to pull up the carby food and you know who will have a snack.

I'm also using the Alphatrack, so that gives me some leeway in numbers also. If I can't get his numbers to level later on, so be it. I'll just be buying more needles and insulin more often. I usually won't shoot under 180+ as I can judge 0.5-0.75 units anything less than that and I'll do him in eventually.
 
The best way to measure those tiny amounts is with the conversion chart and U100 needles. You can measure a drop with U40. Pull up an amount of water you can easily measure (maybe .5?) let drops out, counting as you go. Now that you know how many drops are in .5, you can draw it up and let the drops out, save one.

An automatic feeder with frozen wet pucks won't work? Stella and Chewy's might be another option, if he likes it. It is a freeze dried raw food.
 
Not for 3+ days and considering the amount of cats I have. The Superfeeder is the only option other than hiring a nurse/vet tech. The bathroom is taken by a FIV cat and I'll have to cage another as she does not play nicely. Which leaves the rest to mill about the feeder.

I'm already using 3/10ml syringes so the U100's won't do me any good as the smallest is 3/10ml anyway. Until I find out different where I need to have his numbers below 130 consistently, I won't do the drop method.

And if I can't give him a shot for whatever reason, the other yahoo's around here will OD him for sure w/U100's.

All the freeze dried foods have too much other stuff in it for my liking.
 
Even the Purebites? (The dog version is less expensive and may be broken into cat sized pieces.)
 
I've only checked into the kitty version, so I have no information on that.
If I'm going to spend $30/lb on food, I'd rather it be what I want. That kind of money for carrots, peas and potatoes is a bit much.
The only dry stuff which I prefer is the YA or the EVO. They eat Wellness for wet but I may change that. If he can do well on the YA, I'll start switching everyone to it. Until I find out it isn't helping keep my cats alive and well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top