First week of Lantus and AMPS low

Status
Not open for further replies.

lesleymweick

Member Since 2013
Hi I'm a newbie started giving insulin one week ago. Vet recommended 2.5u BID, but reading here I realized this was way too much! I have been giving her 1u, but yesterday and today her AMPS was less than 150 so I withheld her dose. I put her on wet food 10days ago and she eats it but much slower than her dry food. She does eat her food overnight. Please look at her numbers and tell me if I should do something different. She is drinking and peeing normally.
 
Hi and Welcome :-D

So far, so good. You're doing right to skip, right now, when her numbers are below 150. Eventually, as you get more data, we will encourage you to shoot lower numbers, but for now skipping is fine.

Please read and re-read the Stickys at the top of this page and print out the hypo instructions and put them with your hypo kit.

In order to know if she needs a dose adjustment, you'll need to get some mid-cycle tests, as we base the dose on the nadir which is the lowest point in the cycle. The nadir is usually around 5 to 6 hours after the shot is given with Lantus.

Also, when you give insulin, it would be great if you could get a test at about 2 hours after the shot, as that will tell you and us whether it looks likely to be an active cycle where you will need to test more often or not.

I know it sounds like a lot of testing, but it's the best way to see how the insulin is working, and to keep Molly safe.

Ask all the questions you have, and don't be shy ;-) .
 
Good Morning & Welcome Lesley! ~O) Gosh what a beautiful kit you have. cat_pet_icon Kudos to you for starting home testing :RAHCAT Ask, ask, ask away with any question! Happy to have you on board~you & your friend are in GREAT hands!!!
 
Welcome to the tight regulation forum!

A few spot checks at night would be good since currently that seems to be the only time you can shoot ( although hopefully that will change soon)

A pmPS +2 or +3 would be good. It would give you more data to see how she trends plus an idea of how low she goes at night. A spot check at pmPS+5 to 7 sometime would be very informative!

Wendy
 
Morning guys! Just wanted to stop by and welcome you! ! So glad you found us! Dyana's advice is great. There is so much info on here, don't be afraid to ask if you have questions. Have a great day!
 
TheBowHuntress said:
Good Morning & Welcome Lesley! ~O) Gosh what a beautiful kit you have. cat_pet_icon Kudos to you for starting home testing :RAHCAT Ask, ask, ask away with any question! Happy to have you on board~you & your friend are in GREAT hands!!!
Thank you, she is my sweet sweet girl!!! I adopted her 8 yrs ago when she was 5 and she is truly my girl cat_pet_icon
Thanks to all especially Wendy, will try to do some pm testing tonight!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!!

Dyana and Wendy's points are well taken -- about a few additional tests, that is. Given that you're having to skip shots, I'm thinking that it may make sense to reduce your dose a bit further. Generally, when you're starting out, if you have to repeatedly skip a shot, it often makes sense to reduce the dose so you can shoot twice a day. I'd give some thought to reducing to 0.75u or even 0.5u since we don't know how low Molly's numbers have been going. Not giving insulin twice a day means that the insulin depot is really not being given a chance to form.

I suspect you're seeing these lower numbers due to the change to low carb, canned food.

Do you have syringes that are marked in half unit increments? It will make dosing a bit easier if you have these kind of syringes.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Welcome to Lantus Land!!

Dyana and Wendy's points are well taken -- about a few additional tests, that is. Given that you're having to skip shots, I'm thinking that it may make sense to reduce your dose a bit further. Generally, when you're starting out, if you have to repeatedly skip a shot, it often makes sense to reduce the dose so you can shoot twice a day. I'd give some thought to reducing to 0.75u or even 0.5u since we don't know how low Molly's numbers have been going. Not giving insulin twice a day means that the insulin depot is really not being given a chance to form.

I suspect you're seeing these lower numbers due to the change to low carb, canned food.

Do you have syringes that are marked in half unit increments? It will make dosing a bit easier if you have these kind of syringes.
Thank you! Yes I do have the u100 3cc syringes, they do have a 1/2 unit mark. She goes under the bed all day and won't eat if I'm in the house. and appears at 4pm wanting my attention.She wanders around at night and eats, then she usually cuddles up besides me. I think wet food has really made a difference!
I tested her urine today, trace of glucose no ketones
 
rhiannon and shadow said:
Hi,
I'm glad to see you made it over here. This is the best place for you to be.
Welcome!
Thank you, just looked at your SS, loved seeing the green and blue!!! must ask though did you stick ears only, it worries me the amount of testing needed. I'm a neonatal ICU nurse and I know my wee preemies heels get really messed up with all the sticks we have to do.
 
Hi
most of us test on the ears.
Apparently, there are few nerve endings in the ear so it doesn't hurt (much).
During the 1st week or 2, as we learn how to test and the kitties ears learn how to bleed better, the ears may get a bit sore.

Always apply pressure after poking - a folded up tissue will work - and add some neosporin with pain relief, or equivalent.

I sometimes test Honey when she's asleep and she doesn't even flinch/move/lift her head - it can't be painful with that sort of no-reaction.

Nice to see you over here...
 
just a tiny dab of the neosporin. You don't want them to have enough to lick off. They shouldn't eat the stuff.
The nice thing is a little dab even before you stick helps the blood bead up in a nice little blot , instead of dissipating into the hair.
 
Molly doesn't seem to be too annoyed by the actual stick. She is more annoyed at being held. I worry that I blow her veins but so far my sticks have been good.
 
Hello there, did you manage to get a +5,6 or 7 in today? With those blue numbers you want to keep an eye on how low she is going.

Wendy
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Hello there, did you manage to get a +5,6 or 7 in today? With those blue numbers you want to keep an eye on how low she is going.

Wendy
Wendy I had to work yesterday, today and tomorrow (12 hours). Her PMPS at +15 was 137 but I knew she would eat overnight so I gave her 0.5 units. This morning at +9 her AMPS was 107 i know it would climb more but she eats less in the day so I held her shot. last night she slept beside me and I felt her get up and eat and come back to cuddle me. This is her normal behaviour. I am off Saturday and I'm going to do a curve to get a much more accurate picture.
Did you find that your cat eat less on wet food?
Thanks for checking on us I really appreciate it! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top