First time

Status
Not open for further replies.
There isn't a direct conversion between human and pet meters, but most of our Stickies are written based on human meters, and we can definitely help you start to make sense of it all.

As far as the spreadsheet - I know a couple of people have switched over, so they may have a better idea than this....but I am thinking it might be easier to just download the spreadsheet for the human meter, and then cut and paste your current data into that spreadsheet, then add a note across the top of the AT2 data that says it was with that meter, and then another bar indicating the beginning of the human meter. If you look at my spreadsheet around 3/13/17, there is a row I inserted to indicate a big food change that we made -- so maybe something like that?

Then update the link in your signature to the new spreadsheet.

Does that even make any sense? I feel like I didn't explain it very well. o_O
 
So her +2 number was 213 and her +6 number is 404, I did get a human meter and will try and figure out how to switch the data over
 
Ok I believe I got the spreedsheet updated and I will start with the new meter in the morning just to make it easier to document on the new sheet. I know that Djamila told me that my take action number for the pet meter was 68, what will it be on the human meter?
 
Ok I believe I got the spreedsheet updated and I will start with the new meter in the morning just to make it easier to document on the new sheet. I know that Djamila told me that my take action number for the pet meter was 68, what will it be on the human meter?
It's 50 on a human meter because those read lower than the pet meter.
 
Not very techie but I think it goes like this:
  1. copy your SS URL
  2. open your signature
  3. in the text box, type in the name you want for your SS and highlight it
  4. click on the paperclip icon at the top of the text box
  5. paste your SS URL into the dark blue bar that appears and click "save".
 
Any of the Relion meters work and the strips are cheap. I believe the Prime has the cheapest strips, but the Micro and Confirm use the smallest blood sample (@Yong can correct that when she gets here since I don't actually use that meter).
Hello!
Yes the ReliOn Prime uses 0.6µl with cheaper test strips. Confirm/Micro only use 0.3µl which is what AT2 is listed as but I feel like AT2 takes a little less even :smuggrin:.

Can you add some more information to your Signature too? :p To include at least the following:
  • Name / age
  • Dx date (diagnosis)
  • Insulin
  • Any other health issues
  • Meter
  • Diet
  • Time Zone and or general location :)
Is my understanding correct, that last night was her first insulin shot? Just looking at those AM cycles from 22/23 May :bookworm:
 
Oops. I didn't even have general location on mine! I'll add it now...
It's ok, it's just taken me like 4 months to remember you are west coast
crackup.gif
 
Ok signature updated!! Last night was her first insulin shot. The low numbers on the 22/23 I believe are from where my husband was testing and he likes to use her paw, I dont think he gets enough blood and it throws low numbers that way. I could be wrong but thats my guess because they are never that low any other time.
 
Thank you guys! I had to do a +3 instead of a +4 because she has settled in to sleep with the husband lol that reading was 313. So I will try 1.25 in the morning!
 
HI Kristin! Welcome to the board and the land of Prozinc. Glad to see you're getting a good handle on things, and the super experts are helping as they always do!
I need to get my location in my signature, too!!! Oops!
What prompted the vet visit to get the diabetes diagnosis for you?
 
Hi! Lola has anal gland issues and the poor thing had a flare up last week so we took her in right away! They said her levels were elevated (580 I believe) and that some of it could be due to stress, since cats blood sugar rises when their stressed but they felt it was a little too high and suggested I home test to find out. They were right, so now I am just trying to get her where she needs to be!! Everyone here has been great!!
 
I just wondered if the was a DKA (diabetic ketone acidosis) that made the vet so super anxious to get tons under control and to kind of freak you out. You had some decent PMPS without insulin...hoping you get it under cinema with a low dose.
 
Also, stress, illness, infection, and a vet visit areally all things that can raise BG, so maybe when Lola starts feeling better the BG will decrease at least some on its own. (Which is why it's so important to home monitor, so great job with that!)
 
I can't help but think Starfish issues again :p. To fill Kristin in, another member who just got her kitty OTJ (off the juice) had similar issue and referred to anal glands as starfish :smuggrin:

I've read anal gland problems often stem from poop issues.... The analysis glands are natural expressed with a good poop. Does your cat have problems with constipation or diarrhea?
 
I agree Lola was totally stressed out, so bad in fact that she didn't do any of her normal "stuff" for 3 days!! But I am happy to say this is the first morning I got a reading below 400! 316 woohoo!! So I may just stick with the 1 unit and see what happens. Good idea or bad idea?
Today is the first test with a human meter? That would explain the lower number.... Human meters run lower.
 
It's probably due to the switch to human meter. I do think that the 1 unit was fine this morning, but I'd go to 1.25 tonight if she's in similar numbers. That could be nice too since you can monitor and have all weekend to see how this dose works for her!
 
Yes, the human meter gives lower numbers, which is kind of nice for our feelings about this whole process. It looks like you're good to move forward with the increase to 1.25u tonight. Nice job getting the spreadsheet figured out, by the way.
 
I wasn't able to monitor as much as I would have liked due to basement renovations but she seems to be getting closer to where she needs to be! No red numbers for 2 days now!! It really is the small things in life that excite me
 
My kitties name is Lola!! She is almost 11 years old and super spoiled! We got her from a rescue when she 4 and we are so glad we did! I will update my sheet in the morning and enter where no shot was given. We feed her at 5:30am and 5:30pm, at those times she gets pro plan wet food. I did some research into low carb foods like I was told and then had to find something she would eat. She also gets a small amount of merricks limited ingredient dry food, sometimes she is super picky. So she got her shot with 1 unit at 5:30pm eastern time her bg was 337 and 2 hours later it is 114!! So glad I didn't give her the 3 units!! I will check it one more time before bedtime to see where she is! Thanks!!
Lola is gorgeous!
 
Well this morning she was in the blue before her morning dose, was I right in skipping that dose since she was in the blue?
 
Well this morning she was in the blue before her morning dose, was I right in skipping that dose since she was in the blue?
Good call. She was just on the margin and we generally say no shot under 200. As you accumulate more data you'll be able to revise that number downward a bit. Let your experience and comfort level be your guide. :)
 
Last edited:
It is better to be safe than sorry, especially since this is all relatively new for Lola. In the future though, if you get a number like that, you can try stalling for 20 minutes without feeding, and retest. Most of the time, the number will have risen high enough that you can give the shot. While sometimes a shot has to be skipped for the safety of the kitty, it's usually better if you can avoid skipping so that they don't run high for a cycle. The stalling technique usually works for kitties in higher numbers. You can stall for up to an hour past the normal shot time, and then you have to decide to either skip, shoot a reduced dose, or shoot the full dose. You'd only want to try the full dose if she was close to the 200 mark and you are going to be around to monitor (get extra BG tests).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top