First time testing

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm about to do my first test in about 10 mins and want some advice about the lancet pen. I notice it "shoots" the lancet. Will it prick the ear enough using this or do I need to manually poke him?
 
I don't use the pen but use the lancet freehand. I find that the clicking noise of the pen startles the cat and I also have better control freehand

When you look at the ear you should be able to see the vein running around the edge of it. You want to aim for between the vein and outer edge of the ear. Also use a paper towel or cottonball to support the ear. Either massage the ear before and after you poke to get the blood to flow or you can warm it using a warm washcloth or rice sock.

Don't worry if you do not get blood on your first time. Sometimes it takes some time for the ears to learn to bleed. That is why the massaging helps. Massage towards the area you poked.

Also, if you do get the vein, don't worry it won't hurt your cat. It just bleeds a lot more blood then you will need. You can hold your finger or a tissue over it for a moment until it stops bleeding. If you don't and your cat shakes his head, your walls may look like a scene from CSI. :lol:

Good luck with your first test and welcome to the Vampire Club. :mrgreen:
 
Got it first time!!!! YEAH I am so happy! And Pepper didn't mind a bit! His BG is 251 So do I really want to give him the 2U? I am switching him to wet food today and don't want to send him into hypo. What should I do next? Feed him and test again in 2 hrs? 1hr?
 
Great job!!!! :RAHCAT


How long since his last shot? Also, have you changed the diet yet? Did he have any dry food today?

For newbies we recommend that you do not give insulin if the reading is less than 200. So yes, you can give him insulin. The reason I asked the questions about is to determine if dry food had any affect on your reading and if you should consider reducing the dose.
 
Got the test the first time again! And Pepper still didn't mind. Yeah!

His BG is 231 this time. So it's gone down 20 points in 1 hr after 1U. Glad I didn't give him 2U, could have been too much.

Yes, he did have some dry this morning. Took it away about 2 hrs before his first test. He loves wet food so much I was thinking of just putting the dry food up unless I need it for hypo. Will continue to test him every 2 hrs now until at least 6 hrs after his next shot. Hopefully that will give me some good reference numbers to start with.
 
peppers mom said:
Got the test the first time again! And Pepper still didn't mind. Yeah!

His BG is 231 this time. So it's gone down 20 points in 1 hr after 1U. Glad I didn't give him 2U, could have been too much.

Just saw this...yes, I would drop the dose to 1u if you just removed the dry food. 2u is a pretty high dose.
 
You are becoming a pro at testing. :lol:

If you have taken all of the dry away and he is now on all canned food, you should consider keeping his dose at 1 unit for at least a week. This will give his body sufficient time to adjust to the dose before you can determine if you need to adjust it. We can help you in a week to decide if you need to increase his insulin and by how much. You will have enough data by then to determine it.
 
From all I read I know it will take a while for his body to adjust to the wet food and his BG could drop drastically when it does. Most of the food I have right now is all the VERY low carb food (1-3 carb) so it could drop a lot. I do have some that is a little higher too so if I see his BG dropping too much I'll give him some of the higher carb at his next feeding.

Oh, and I plan to feed him 4 times a day. I'm afraid he won't keep it down if I try only 2 times...that's an awful lot to put in that tiny belly all at once...lol He doesn't stop eating till it's all gone with the wet food.
 
Well Pepper and I both survived our first 12 hrs on wet food, 1/2 the usual insulin, and home testing. :-D It really hasn't been that hard to do, however having a VERY cooperative kitty sure did help. And of course all of your help also made it easy. Thank you all so much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top