first time split dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marci and Buddy

Member Since 2009
My computer crashed last week and google erased my SS, haven't been able to get it back, so no #'s,
but Buddy has been doing ok---mostly blues for a few days, some green and yellow.
Past 2 days esp. good, but tonight at +6 he was 56o ! Never been higher...i gave him a shot, .75u (his dose has been a fat 1 u for 2 weeks now.) should i wait another 6 hours to give him the rest ( a fat .25), or give him more, or shoot sooner than 6 hrs? I've never split dosed before--would really appreciate some help.
 
Marci I'm confused as to what you did? Did you give him the .75U at +6? So you're asking when you can give him more? This is not what "split dose" means. You split a dose to extend duration, not bring down a high number.
Most likely the 560 is from a rebound response. Buddy may need his dose lowered, so the .75U is probably fine. It will probably take a day or 2 to see yellows and blues again though.
I can't stay up to advise further. If you give a small dose such as .25U 6 hours after you gave the .75U it won't hurt him, but extending a cycle like that when you don't want to messes up future results so it will be even more difficult to figure out what is going on and if he actually rebounded or what.
It sounds like you're asking if you should give him more insulin because of the 560. If it's just 6 hours till his next dose/prshot, I think you would be fine to wait and give his regular dose then, but maybe alittle less, a regular 1U than a fat 1U.
 
yes,I was trying to bring him downfrom the 560 by giving him 1/2 at +6 and the other half at +12....but it sounds like you think i should give him a 1 u
at +12,which i will do. (i did think that is split dosing but guess i misunderstood.) Thanks very much Vicky.
 
I know you already did the dosing, but if you gave 1u at amPS and then .75u at +6, I would not give another 1u at pmPS because then you are adding almost 50% more insulin for the day plus creating a big overlap. I might have given .15u at that +6 and then the regular dose at pmPS, or .5u and then .75u at pmPS. It really depends on what his numbers have been lately.

I sure hope you find your SS. I don't think Google would delete it. You probably lost your link to it. If you lok into Google and then go to Google docs, you might be able to find it. You can print a copy to PDF and save it on your computer, but if you don't do a back up and you crash again that file will be gone. Having the SS on Google is supposed to be the safest thing. They will keep multiple back ups on different servers.
 
Buddy is ok-i think it was good to give the 1 u at +12, after the .75 at +6....but i'm running out now late and plan to respond more in detail later tonight.
thanks for thinking of him. :smile:
 
Sheila-my computer had a software issue and i am unable to insert any #'s to my SS. i plan to take in for the geek squad to fix it at Best Buy. Vicky- Buddy is mostly blue/yellow, but still rebounds badly with reds atv +10.I reduced his dose from a fat 1 to 1u...maybe thta will help?
 
Marci, try logging in into google/gmail. There is a small login up in the top right corner. It will bump you out every so often and you can't add any numbers to the SS, or edit, or anything. Since I have a gmail account, when I am logged in my gmail address appears in that upper right corner instead of the log in prompt.
 
logging in

thanks Sheila, but I have done that -still doesn't make a difference :-x .i need to reset the SS.,if that makes sense.
 
I don't know how to reset the ss either. You might want to post about this issue in the Tech Support forum. Maybe someone has experienced this and can walk you through it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top