stanleythecat
Member Since 2012
I've been lurking for a week or so now, I think I am on the right track with Stanley, hoping for a little feedback with my numbers.
Stanley was diagnost end of April, I took him in for a check up because he had been sneezing alot. He has a herpes virus. With his low weight and rough looking coat we did a round of bloodwork and found out was diabetic with his bg at 444. Changed his diet to purina DM and 1 unit of Lantus twice a day. Week later vet tested his bg at 178. We were very pleased, vet asked us to return 2 weeks later to do a curve. The curve didn't look so good, he tested high to begin with and it just went higher (sorry I don't have the exact numbers - I believe it was in the high 300's.) Anyways, vet wanted to switch his insulin. I was in shock because Stanley was a whole new cat - very social again, coat was beautiful again, gaining weight, very playful - playing alot with our youngest cat which he never did before. His litter box use was so much better (we had alot of accidents outside the box) We were leaving for the weekend and I didn't want to change his insulin at that point. (My sister thankfully was willing to give him his shots!) I haven't been back to the vet since.
This is where I began to research things more. I am 1000% convinced that his curve was so high because of the all day vet visit. Stanley is an indoor cat and usually hides when others are in the house. I bought a monitor to do testing at home. Sadly, it sat for a few weeks before we used it - my bad. Anyhows, last Tuesday we noticed Stanley was twitching a bit. So my husband and I decided we better tackle the testing. After alot of pokes and frustration, we got a reading of 37! It was close to midday feeding so we gave him his food ( I have now switched him to Whiskas pate) did another test and it was rising. Needless to say, we spend all last week perfecting our technique of home testing and although I am very nervous about it, skipping some insulin shots.
Any feedback on what I am doing would be greatly appreciated! And I have successfully done 2 tests today without the help of my hubby! yay!
(I am hoping my spreadsheet will attach to this post lol)
PS we have 3 cats - all were Friskies dry food junkies - all have been on wet food since we found out how bad the dry is!
Tina
Stanley was diagnost end of April, I took him in for a check up because he had been sneezing alot. He has a herpes virus. With his low weight and rough looking coat we did a round of bloodwork and found out was diabetic with his bg at 444. Changed his diet to purina DM and 1 unit of Lantus twice a day. Week later vet tested his bg at 178. We were very pleased, vet asked us to return 2 weeks later to do a curve. The curve didn't look so good, he tested high to begin with and it just went higher (sorry I don't have the exact numbers - I believe it was in the high 300's.) Anyways, vet wanted to switch his insulin. I was in shock because Stanley was a whole new cat - very social again, coat was beautiful again, gaining weight, very playful - playing alot with our youngest cat which he never did before. His litter box use was so much better (we had alot of accidents outside the box) We were leaving for the weekend and I didn't want to change his insulin at that point. (My sister thankfully was willing to give him his shots!) I haven't been back to the vet since.
This is where I began to research things more. I am 1000% convinced that his curve was so high because of the all day vet visit. Stanley is an indoor cat and usually hides when others are in the house. I bought a monitor to do testing at home. Sadly, it sat for a few weeks before we used it - my bad. Anyhows, last Tuesday we noticed Stanley was twitching a bit. So my husband and I decided we better tackle the testing. After alot of pokes and frustration, we got a reading of 37! It was close to midday feeding so we gave him his food ( I have now switched him to Whiskas pate) did another test and it was rising. Needless to say, we spend all last week perfecting our technique of home testing and although I am very nervous about it, skipping some insulin shots.
Any feedback on what I am doing would be greatly appreciated! And I have successfully done 2 tests today without the help of my hubby! yay!
(I am hoping my spreadsheet will attach to this post lol)
PS we have 3 cats - all were Friskies dry food junkies - all have been on wet food since we found out how bad the dry is!
Tina