First time of a BG 48 HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eliza&Giuseppe

Member Since 2014
Giuseppe was at 72 this morning on his AMPS so I fed him then gave him his normal 2U of levemir then checked his BG at +5 and he was at 48!! I fed him and did a recheck after 30 mins and he went up to 52 so I waited 2hrs and tested again and he's back down to 48. I talked to someone that explained the "shoot low to stay low" so I thought I was doing the right thing but now I'm second guessing and wondering if I did the right thing… If someone could please take a look at his chart and tell me if I did something wrong? I am very very new to all this and still need a ton of help. Thank you so much in advance, kinda scared right now
 
Hello! Im still new to this board, and I use Lantus, so I cant advise you. Of it were mine I would try to keep him over 50 by feeding a teaspoon or 2 of regular low carb food, and retest/repeat every 20-30 min until he comes up and stays above 50 and rising. good luck and hopefully someone who is more experienced will answer soon!
 
On a human glucometer, we really want them to stay above 50 mg/dL.
Your dose may be a smidge too high to do that - I'm on my phone which doesn't reliably see spreadsheets.

Give 1-2 teaspoons of high carb gravy or a couple drops of Karo or other syrup.
Wait 20 min
Re-test
If still below 50, repeat
Continue until 3 rising glucose tests in a row and past nadir (which can be as lat as +9 to +12 with Levemir)

I've put a post out in Lantus TR, where a few more folks are posting and gave the link to your Levemir post.

I also answered on your Levmir post, this same response.
 
Just keep feeding that cat with anything higher carb that he will eat... food, pancake syrup, honey, whatever.

I am looking at your spreadsheet and really wondering what I am reading.... you gave 20 units by mistake a few days ago? its a wonder that cat is alive.
 
Thanks guys he is up to 103 now and I'll continue to test him till I get three rising numbers. Yes, you read correct I gave him 20U on accident and didn't even realize what I had done till the next morning. I was using the levemir flex pen needles till I read that they are not trustworthy and you should use syringes. I have never used a syringe in my life and my mom was helping me, she is in the medical field so I trussed her to let me know if i was doing everything correctly. Well when I drew the insulin out she and I both thought it looked like a lot but we didn't give much thought and gave it to him. The next morning when I tested him he was soooo low and I called her ASAP and we figured it out. Needless to say I triple check his dosage every time now and I thank my lucky stars he's alive. I would have never forgiven myself had something happened over such a preventable error. So that is why I am freaking out about him being low today, I don't want anything to happen to him over my mistake ever again.

Thank you guys for all your help, I don't know where I would be or what I would do if it wasn't for FDMB
 
Thank you for the quick responses everyone!

So say his BG keeps rising for the next couple hours, should I give him his next dose of insulin? Also should I reduce it?
 
Please remove the 911 icon from your first post now that the cat is safe.

Secondly, I would have liked to see you do a test in the middle of the night last night since he went so low during the day.

Today's higher numbers are a result of a bounce caused by the BG getting so low. A bounce is when the liver releases glucose in order to "rescue" a cat whose BG is perceived by the body to be too low. Over time, the liver gets retrained to understand that low is not always bad.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top