First time of a BG 48 HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eliza&Giuseppe

Member Since 2014
Giuseppe was at 72 this morning on his AMPS so I fed him then gave him his normal 2U of levemir then checked his BG at +5 and he's now at 48!! I have fed him and will recheck in 30 mins to see if he is coming up any. I talked to someone that explained the "shoot low to stay low" so I thought I was doing the right thing but now I'm second guessing and wondering if I did the right thing… If someone could please take a look at his chart and tell me if I did something wrong? I am very very new to all this and still need a ton of help. Thank you so much in advance, kinda scared right now
 
On a human glucometer, we really want them to stay above 50 mg/dL.
Your dose may be a smidge too high to do that - I'm on my phone which doesn't reliably see spreadsheets.

Give 1-2 teaspoons of high carb gravy or a couple drops of Karo or other syrup.
Wait 20 min
Re-test
If still below 50, repeat
Continue until 3 rising glucose tests in a row and past nadir (which can be as lat as +9 to +12 with Levemir)

I've put a post out in Lantus, where a few more folks are posting.
 
Hi Eliza!

You want to reduce Guiseppe's dose by 0.25u because of the 48 you got today. So his new dose will be 1.75u. If you are confronted with a low number at preshot, don't feed him and post immediately for help on the Lantus/Lev TR forum. We can help you figure out if its safe to shoot or if you should stall a few minutes and wait for him to rise. That forum is here.

Shoot low to stay low is a saying that belongs with people who are following the tight regulation protocol. the goal of that protocol is to get cats into normal numbers so their pancreas can heal and they can go off of insulin, becoming diet-controlled. Cats that are newly diagnosed have the best chance, so we encourage people to get into it right away. There is a pdf on the TR page here - look about 5 paragraphs down from the top of the page for the PDF you can download, that explains about the Tight Reg Protocol. It is the only protocol for treating a diabetic cat that has been published in a professional veterinary journal.

i posted to your facebook post, but for the sake of peer review i prefer to give dosing advice here on FDMB. The facebook group is meant to be a social arm of FDMB, rather than a primary place for advice.
 
Thank you so much Julie for getting back with me so quickly. He is due for his next shot here in 20 mins
I'll review the tight regulation protocol and get with the program asap, he was just diagnosed so that would be wonderful to get him OTJ
 
it's a good protocol, eliza. that board is very busy - i pretty much stay there unless someone does what BJM did tonight and flag a post that said you needed help. You've got your spreadsheet going and know how to hometest - go ahead and post on the TR page. People will teach you how to apply the TR protocol to Guiseppe - it takes a little while to get the hang of things but you'll get it.
 
I just wanted to say a giant thank you to you for all your help yesterday and let you know Giuseppe is doing very well today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top