First time in the black

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marci and Buddy

Member Since 2009
What a shocker when i went to test for the pm shot ohmygod_smile
he's been doing not bad on a thin 1u, sort of headed downward in #'s ,today he probably saw green ,
and whammee--black for first time in 2 1/2 years! I know the advise here has been is to lower the dose to try and avoid the
bouncing-is that still the same , even though he has been leveling out alittle, that is, until today?
 
That is an unusual number for the pattern he has been in - I wonder if he got into something, or if it was a bad reading.

I would not change anything at this point. If he starts having more high numbers, then maybe reduce a tiny amount. Maybe to .8u?
 
Why would you think 500 is an unusual number, Sheila? It looks to me like he had a more serious low today probably about +7 where the low was on the 24th. I'm going by his being at 113 at +5, which was lower than where he was at +5 on the 24th. I guess it's unusual because with all the rebounding we haven't seen it yet! Well, here it is.

Marci, you're in a serious rebound pattern with him, especially since a 500 has reared its ugly head.

You can lower the dose to.75U again and see if he does better, but he may need it cut to .5U before he comes out of the pattern. That much would probably reset the shed.

The other thing I'd like to add is it might be helpful to begin thinking of dose increases in smaller increments next time. When dosing around or less than 1U, changes should be made in less than .25U increments. .1U changes work miracles. Gandalf would bounce all over the place until I learned to make micro dose changes. I know that's the idea behind "fat" and "skinny" doses, but I still think there's too big of jump between even a fat .75U and 1U. Remember that it's a 25% increase between .75U and 1U! That's a lot. It's like going from 1.5U to 2U if you were on that high of dose if that comparison makes it easier to understand why I say it can be too much for some cats.

It's a little different when going down unless the cat is getting good BGs and earns a dose reduction. If you're going down to dump shed it's a good idea to drop a fairly large amount so that you're for sure under the optimum dose.

Look at it this way, you've tried a lot of different doses but none seems to be working for any length of time. Why is that? It could very well be the type of dose changes that have been made, ie. too large of ones. Does that make sense?

And I'm making my recommendation of dropping to .5U based on what he did on 6.27. You lowered the dose to .5U because he had a blue AMPS. The rest of his cycle was yellow, but it was a steady yellow. That's what we're looking for - stabilizing the cycles. So that day he got a 1U PM dose and he instantly dropped to green by +9, which is a good nadir hour on Lev. But think about it - his shed was emptied fairly well because of the .5U in the morning, but he was still able to drop to green the next cycle.

I'm sorry I didn't see that pattern previously. It's a pretty good indication that 1U is too much. Looks like the last time .5U was really tried was back in March, but it wasn't held for long.

Hope that helps. If anything sounds contradictory to something I've explained previously, please ask.
 
I was looking at his nadir as being more like +6, so not enough time to drop that much farther than the 114 at +5 yesterday, but I see your point. Without another spot check it's hard to know what happened. I just thought the 500 was a bit "out of sinc".

I will defer to Vicky on this one. He did drop into the 30s on 1.25u and 1u earlier this year, so most likely .5u +/- .1u is a better dose - held long enough to really see what the dose is doing.
 
Thank you both for the input-Buddy probably did drop lower than 114 yesterday,i'm sure,but still 525 was very unusual.
I do think it's a really good point about dose changing of smaller increments.Buddy is very sensitive to changes-i would never drop at .25u any more,even if he had below bg 40,but i think youre right about doing even less , like .1
i know i have to reset his shed-not sure why i'm so hesitant. Now he's is at +3 and in blue, times like this i am hopeful I may not have to start all over again at .50, because when i did thta he had horrible #'s , which is why i didnt stay at that dose very long.
Is it true that all yellows is better than some blue and yellow and a pink? How come?
i know this boucing can't be good for him, but i'm thinkning at least he gets in some blue and green here and there.But I know one of these days very soon i'll have to take the plunge and go down to .50.
Thanks very much for your help.
 
You're welcome, Marci. As long as he's acting pretty good and eating good, he's doing fine. I sometimes think the longer-term diabetics are more difficult to figure out what's going on than the new ones.

Try holding this thin 1U for a while, maybe he'll level out better with a more consistent dose. He sure gets a good response.
 
Marci and Buddy said:
are you just saying that cause you knwo it's what i'd like to hear or do you really think he's doing ok on this dose?

No, I'm not. I think it's likely he's had a lot of dose changes and it's been difficult to figure out how well any one particular dose has worked. That's the best thing to do when not sure which dose direction is best, more or less - choose a dose and stay with it for more than 5 days and see what it does.

I just noticed you asked this:
Is it true that all yellows is better than some blue and yellow and a pink? How come?

Steadier BGs are better because you know there is not bounce going on. Yellows aren't better as far as healing the pancreas go, but as far as how the cat feels, he probably feels better than going from 300s to 80 in one afternoon. Human diabetics say that feels bad.

I look for steadier BGs from cats who have been bouncing as a sign the dose is better. From that point you should be able to slowly raise the dose and get lower numbers without getting bounces.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top