? First time dosing, do I have 1.5U correct

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pookie kyle/Dalton

Member Since 2021
My name is kyle !! We just got our new baby pookie today from our foster and I am to give him his dose in the next hour but this will be my first time, so I have been practicing with cranberry juice and a test needle, THAT WILL NOT be used on pookie!! I was hoping to get any advice to see if I'm getting close to the right dose !! I've tested and taken a few photos of my test ones
upload_2021-3-16_19-27-42.jpeg

upload_2021-3-16_19-27-58.jpeg

upload_2021-3-16_19-28-11.jpeg

upload_2021-3-16_19-28-25.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-3-16_19-27-42.jpeg
    upload_2021-3-16_19-27-42.jpeg
    31.5 KB · Views: 144
  • upload_2021-3-16_19-27-58.jpeg
    upload_2021-3-16_19-27-58.jpeg
    37.2 KB · Views: 144
  • upload_2021-3-16_19-28-11.jpeg
    upload_2021-3-16_19-28-11.jpeg
    35.4 KB · Views: 137
  • upload_2021-3-16_19-28-25.jpeg
    upload_2021-3-16_19-28-25.jpeg
    19.5 KB · Views: 143
The meter I am using is a human one yes ! Pookies foster mom helped us order it!! And yes I love close to Toronto here :)
OK you should go into your spreadsheet and do you see where it says at the top
Alpha Trak and replace it with Bravo Meter
we can already see on the SS where it says Using Alpha Trak

Then if you know how to do it insert a line above 3-16-21 and put switched to human meter , if you can't we have someone to do it for you, or you can ask the foster mom to do it .
It's important that we know you switched

@Pookie kyle/Dalton

@Bandit's Mom could you help Kyle with this Thank you Bhooma :cat:
 
Last edited:
Hi Pookie, Kyle and Dalton and welcome to the forum.
That’s great you have adopted Pookie.....lucky boy!
Hey @Diane Tyler's Mom, they look like they already have the 1/2 unit syringes to me.

Are you feeding Pookie a low carb diet?
We recommend feeding before the shots and again during the first half of the cycles, giving a snack a couple of times. So that is at least three feeds each cycle.
Don’t feed for the 2 hours before each preshot as we don’t want the BG food influenced.

If you get a preshot number under 200 (11) to start with, stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. Also post and ask for help.

The take action number with the human meter is 50
(2.8). That is when you give some honey or high carb food to being the number higher,

Always test before every shot to see it is safe to give the insulin and again at least once during the cycle to see how low the dose is taking Pookie.
Lantus insulin dosing is based on how low the insulin takes Pookie, not the preshot BG.
The PM cycle is just as important as the am cycle and it is a good idea to get into the habit of always getting a before bed test in.
If that test is lower than the preshot BG, I would set the alarm and test again in a few hours to see the BG is still a safe number.

I would commend getting a hypo kit set up in case you need it.
You will find a link in this link https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
Bron
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top