Hi Pookie, Kyle and Dalton and welcome to the forum.
That’s great you have adopted Pookie.....lucky boy!
Hey
@Diane Tyler's Mom, they look like they already have the 1/2 unit syringes to me.
Are you feeding Pookie a low carb diet?
We recommend feeding before the shots and again during the first half of the cycles, giving a snack a couple of times. So that is at least three feeds each cycle.
Don’t feed for the 2 hours before each preshot as we don’t want the BG food influenced.
If you get a preshot number under 200 (11) to start with,
stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. Also post and ask for help.
The take action number with the human meter is 50 (2.8). That is when you give some honey or high carb food to being the number higher,
Always test before
every shot to see it is safe to give the insulin and again at least once during the cycle to see how low the dose is taking Pookie.
Lantus insulin dosing is based on how low the insulin takes Pookie, not the preshot BG.
The PM cycle is just as important as the am cycle and it is a good idea to get into the habit of always getting a before bed test in.
If that test is lower than the preshot BG, I would set the alarm and test again in a few hours to see the BG is still a safe number.
I would commend getting a hypo kit set up in case you need it.
You will find a link in this link
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
Bron