? First time doing a curve. AMPS 412 +2 369 +4 324 +6 340

Status
Not open for further replies.

MélanieW

Member Since 2017
I'm doing a curve today and I'm noticing than I'm getting different numbers when testing both ears (324 in one at +4 and 274 in the other at +4). I'm wondering if this is why I got two yellow earlier on, but nothing more recently.

I'm following the SLGS protocol (Noah eats dry food and only in small portions throughout the day) and will need to up the dose Wednesday with the numbers I'm getting. Called the vet and he is recommending a dose increase by 0.5 units. Do you guys think that is too much?
 
Blood glucose manufacturers can have errors up to 20%. That 324 and 274 are within that range. I wouldn't worry about the difference, but celebrate that yellow.:)

With SLGS, as long as the nadirs (lowest points seen) are above 150, you increase by 0.25 units. Most vets aren't used to people taking the time to make such small measurements. Some cats are sensitive to really small changse in dose. My Neko would occasionally be sensitive to 0.125 units when she was on smaller doses. Yes, that's very tiny. I used a digital caliper and magnifying glass to try to get the dose right. However, at the beginning most cats don't need such small dose changes.

Can you remind me again why you are following SLGS instead of Tight Regulation. You test quite a bit. TR would have you increase by 0.5 units now.
 
I would love to do the tight regulation (I work from home 4 days per week and testing often is not a problem), but I was told Noah needs to be on wet food for me to follow that protocol. He just won't eat it. Tried force feeding it to him this morning and he spit it in my face. I tried putting dried freeze chicken on top of it (he loves dried freeze chicken) and he still won't try it. I know he needs to eat because of his insulin so I try a bit each day, but I need to make sure he is eating enough.
 
Oops, sorry, you are right about SLGS and dry food. It can be a slow proces. Trying just a tiny little bit mixed in with his regular food each day, and try increasing the amounts each day or so.
 
Have you been able to get syringes yet?

I do agree that Noah needs a dose increase - i have read that people can do a 0.25u amount by setting the dial for 0.5u, expressing that amount out and counting the drops as you go. Pointing the needle at the ceiling can help with creating one drop at a time. When you are confident on how many drops you get out of 0.5u, figure out how many would be half of that, which would be what's in 0.25u. Then you can set your pen to give 3.5u, and squeeze out the number of drops for 0.25u before you put the needle in Noah. That should be a 3.25u dose.

By the way, as long as you are using the pen needle dispensing mechanism, the pen needs to be kept at room temperature. The cold affects the mechanism, which is why Lantus says to keep it at room temperature. At room temperature, the Lantus manufacturer says that the insulin is good for 1 month. Lantus is expensive enough that most people want to use it til the last drop.

Since people here are using a syringe to give insulin they keep the pen in the fridge so that it lasts as long as possible. One more reason to get syringes. The most important reason to use syringes is because you can be very accurate in your dosing.
 
Melanie, some of us have had a chance to talk about Noah and think it would be ok to go ahead and increase his dose with the next shot. At whatever point you see this. With as high as his numbers are, it won't hurt to do it a day early.

You've done a super job of getting tests in.

There is one other relatively low carb dry cat food that I'm aware of - and EVO brand. Do you have that available in Canada?
 
Thank you so much for your replies! Today is my day at the office for the week and I will increase his dose tonight and will stay with him for the rest of the week to monitor him carefully! I got the syringes ready to go! I'm still looking for EVO or Young again in Canada but no luck so far! I can order online but shipping fees are really high and customs seems to be a problem in some cases! I did not try wet food today as I had to work from the office but I will try putting some in his dry food tonight! I could
probably start a shop with all of the food I'm buying just to see if he will eat it.

I'm starting to see Noah go back to his usual behavior but so far I'm not seeing it in numbers!

I must remind myself that he was only diagnosed three weeks ago but patience has never been my strong suit.

I can't thank all of you enough for helping me with Noah!
 
Unfortunately, Evo has discontinued shipping their product to Canada. :(

Linda ( @MrWorfMen's Mom ) has a Canadian kibble addict and may have some ideas for lower carb dry food available here. Have you ever tried freeze dried raw?

Good luck with the increase tonight.
 
Thank you!
I'm hoping to see yellow at least! I usually love pink but not in here!

I never tried freeze dried food, but at this point I'm willing to try anything. Would you be able to give me more information of what specific kind of brand I should try?
 
Primal has some freeze dried raw cat food. http://www.primalpetfoods.com/product/list/c/14 I have seen samples in some stores, or very small packages to try. Ideally wet or raw is better because cats need water, but it might be a start. Freeze dried raw seems to be a newer "fad" in food. You may be able to find others. Stelly and Chewy's is another one.
 
Hi Melanie and Noah!

As Wendy indicated, I have been blessed with a die hard kibble addict who has refused to touch wet food since she joined our family 6 years ago. Your choices here are not ideal but there are a few that are much better than most.

Go Fit and Free is about 14% carb
Nature Variety Instinct Raw Boost is 15%
Nature Variety Instinct Ultimate Protein is 15%
There is a new dry food called Tiki Cat Carnivore which appears to be about 15% but I have not got the "as fed" values to confirm this yet.

Wet food would be best but sometimes our cats just don't co-operate as we would like them to. As Wendy indicated, if you can get Noah to eat the freeze dried, that would be your next best option but if dry food is necessary, the above are your best options.

Unfortunately, EVO left the Canadian market about a year or so ago presumably because of market share but I think it may also have been influenced by the new pet food regulations put into place by our government who seem to be treating pet food like illegal drugs. Young Again is expensive and with the possible problems getting shipments across the border, it isn't an ideal option for us.
 
Hi Melanie and Noah!

As Wendy indicated, I have been blessed with a die hard kibble addict who has refused to touch wet food since she joined our family 6 years ago. Your choices here are not ideal but there are a few that are much better than most.

Go Fit and Free is about 14% carb
Nature Variety Instinct Raw Boost is 15%
Nature Variety Instinct Ultimate Protein is 15%
There is a new dry food called Tiki Cat Carnivore which appears to be about 15% but I have not got the "as fed" values to confirm this yet.

Wet food would be best but sometimes our cats just don't co-operate as we would like them to. As Wendy indicated, if you can get Noah to eat the freeze dried, that would be your next best option but if dry food is necessary, the above are your best options.

Unfortunately, EVO left the Canadian market about a year or so ago presumably because of market share but I think it may also have been influenced by the new pet food regulations put into place by our government who seem to be treating pet food like illegal drugs. Young Again is expensive and with the possible problems getting shipments across the border, it isn't an ideal option for us.


Thank you so much for taking the time to write down all of these food recommendations. I'm afraid Noah is even picky with his kibble, so I might have to try a few of these. I did manage to find the Wellness Core but Noah won't eat it. I will try to find some freeze dried. At this point, I'm willing to try anything to try to cut down the amount of carbs he is eating.
 
I know about fussy felines very well. I forgot to mention the Wellness Core but obviously that's not an option anyway. Mine would not touch the Go or Wellness but she loves the Ultimate Protein. Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top