First Time Blood Glucose Curve Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

ML & Da Bones

Member Since 2020
Hi there, our cat Bones has been doing seemingly well with his initial does of 1u x2/day on Vetsulin (we have Lantis ordered and on the way). Today is our first time do a blood glucose curve (Alphatrac meter) and we are getting some weird readings. We haven't finished for the day, but are hoping someone might have some insight on what is going. Despite the strange readings the only observed behavior that seems to have changed is that more hungry the last couple of days.

Any advice on getting more blood would be helpful too. We're drawing from his hind elbow callous. The prick doesn't bother him, but we have to work on squeezing out a small droplet and that is what stresses him out. We tried the paw pad but not much luck on blood there. His ear was similarly not productive.

AMPS - Low <20
+0: not able to get a reading (post insulin shot)
+2: 34
+3: 77
 
Hello Marian and Bones :bighug:

I'm pretty much a lurker here, but your first post has me very concerned. If your AlphaTrak readings are correct, Bones numbers this morning were dangerously low. And I cannot stress enough that insulin should never, never ever be given if a cat is reading Low on a meter. With any luck, Bones' liver is panicking right now, and flooding his system with extra glucose, because the Vetsulin will be kicking in any time now :nailbiting: Although your +3 reading is an okay number -- if the Vetsulin kicks in hard Bones' blood sugar could go plummeting. Please keep testing if you can, to make sure Bones is still going up!

@jt and trouble (GA) I know you tagged a few people, but is there also anyone available with experience in a possible upcoming hypo situation? Bones' numbers this morning were extremely low and dangerous, and the new spreadsheet shows 1u vetsulin was given. I've used the AT2 -- and if the strip code is put in correctly into the meter, I would've taken Sam to the emergency vet over them :nailbiting:
 
Thank you @jt and trouble (GA) :bighug::bighug::bighug:
:) I'm Esse, but my cat Sam always demands first billing lol! For an AT reading, Low is an emergency. But what really has me concerned is that insulin was still given :nailbiting: I'm hoping as hard as I can that it's a matter of the wrong test strip code, and that Bones was acting fine because the readings aren't accurate. But the increased hunger symptom is also worrying. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Any tips on getting a better blood droplet from our guy? How do you test?

Larger gauge lancets (26-28) help tremendously while the ear grows more veins and "learns to bleed". Warming the ear also helps tremendously.
 
Thank you @jt and trouble (GA) :bighug::bighug::bighug:
:) I'm Esse, but my cat Sam always demands first billing lol! For an AT reading, Low is an emergency. But what really has me concerned is that insulin was still given :nailbiting: I'm hoping as hard as I can that it's a matter of the wrong test strip code, and that Bones was acting fine because the readings aren't accurate. But the increased hunger symptom is also worrying. :bighug::bighug::bighug:



Larger gauge lancets (26-28) help tremendously while the ear grows more veins and "learns to bleed". Warming the ear also helps tremendously.
Om G I feel awful I hope everything is ok.:(:nailbiting::blackeye:
 
Om G I feel awful I hope everything is ok.:(:nailbiting::blackeye:

I hope so too. As soon as I read the post I got queasy to my stomach and hopped on my computer. At first I was really hoping those were world measurements, but they can't be with that 77 at +3 :( And it looks like Marian might be in Cali, same as me. Fingers crossed this is simply a meter coding error; that can really affect the AT2 readings.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Marian,

AMPS - Low <20
+0: not able to get a reading (post insulin shot)
+2: 34
+3: 77

I'm sorry for not replying sooner to the tag. I've not been on the forum this afternoon.

As Esse advises above, if those are true readings then those first two are dangerously low and indicate that the current dose of insulin is too high for Bones.


Despite the strange readings the only observed behavior that seems to have changed is that more hungry the last couple of days.
This could be another indication that the current dose is taking Bones too low and causing him to look for food to bring him back into a safe blood glucose range.

The 77 is in the normal range but it is VERY EARLY IN THE CYCLE and his BLOOD GLUCOSE COULD STAY LOW OR DROP DOWN AGAIN for hours. If you've not already taken Bones to the vet, please do the following:

IF BONES IS UNDER 70 PLEASE GIVE HIM SOME HONEY OR KARO. Rub it on his gums if necessary. This is the fastest way to bring numbers up. (See the hypo guide for more information). Then test no later than 20 minutes later to check that he is back above 70.

In addition please give Bones a small meal of the highest carb food you have on hand - preferably wet, but dry high carb will do - ASAP. Any boost from the honey will wear off quickly but the high carb food will help to keep BG levels up longer. If you only have high carb treats, feed him some of those.

I had a quick look at the Crave website and the paté you are feeding seems to be very low carb. If it's the only food you have, try mixing some honey/karo into it to increase the carb content.


I have read about the problems you're having at the moment with testing but please do as best you can to get tests every 20 minutes to make sure that Bones comes back up into safe numbers (ABOVE 70) and stays there.


Please excuse my use of block capitals above: I'm using them to emphasis key points quickly, I'm not shouting. :)

If you're not already at the vets, please post here for help.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Marian,

If all the information about the BG readings is correct then Bones dose is too high and needs to be reviewed before you give any more insulin.

Please speak to your vet about the readings you took on your Alphatrak meter as a matter of extreme urgency. If he's that low I wonder whether he might not need any insulin. Did you change his diet to a lower carb food since the initial dose was set? If yes, then there may be the possibility that the food change could have sent Bones into remission. Note that this is speculation because the only test information you have are the results today (and thank the gods that you are home testing!) but for safety I think it important to raise this as a possibility.

With such little information available I can't suggest any better than that. The only other general safety information I can offer is to recommend that you check Bones' urine for ketones while you're waiting for input from the vet not able to give any insulin safely. (This is a standard safety precaution when reducing dose or needing to suspend insulin treatment for some reasons.) Here are helpful resources:

Testing Your Cat for Ketones

Tips for Collecting Urine Samples

You can pick up ketone test strips at Walmarts or pharmacies.

I sincerely hope that everything is OK with you two. Please update us when you can.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Testing tip:

I note from your opening post that to date you've not been successful yet with getting blood samples from the ear. This is common in the beginning. One thing that might help you to get a sample is to really, really, really warm the ear a good bit more and for much, much longer than you might think would be enough. (I was quite taken aback by how much the ear needed warming when I first started testing.)

Another couple of quick tips:

* Hold the ear to help keep your kitty from shaking his head after the poke and sending the blood sample flying across the room.

* If he's a bit of a wriggler, collect the blood sample on the back of a clean fingernail and test it from there.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Additional information:

You may need to feed Bones several times between now and the end of the cycle to keep him in safe numbers.

- Test.
- If BG in the 70s or lower, give a heaped teaspoon of high carb food, or low carb food with some honey mixed into it, then test again in 20 minutes.
- If BG is over 100, don't feed. Test again in 30 minutes.

Keep repeating these steps until Bones has stayed above 70 for a total of 2 hours without any food.

Note: Once you're both safely through this, even if Bones' BG numbers go sky high, please do not give any more insulin until you have sought advice from your vet.

Again, I hope that all is well with you two.


Mogs
.
 
Hi Marian,



I'm sorry for not replying sooner to the tag. I've not been on the forum this afternoon.

As Esse advises above, if those are true readings then those first two are dangerously low and indicate that the current dose of insulin is too high for Bones.



This could be another indication that the current dose is taking Bones too low and causing him to look for food to bring him back into a safe blood glucose range.

The 77 is in the normal range but it is VERY EARLY IN THE CYCLE and his BLOOD GLUCOSE COULD STAY LOW OR DROP DOWN AGAIN for hours. If you've not already taken Bones to the vet, please do the following:

IF BONES IS UNDER 70 PLEASE GIVE HIM SOME HONEY OR KARO. Rub it on his gums if necessary. This is the fastest way to bring numbers up. (See the hypo guide for more information). Then test no later than 20 minutes later to check that he is back above 70.

In addition please give Bones a small meal of the highest carb food you have on hand - preferably wet, but dry high carb will do - ASAP. Any boost from the honey will wear off quickly but the high carb food will help to keep BG levels up longer. If you only have high carb treats, feed him some of those.

I had a quick look at the Crave website and the paté you are feeding seems to be very low carb. If it's the only food you have, try mixing some honey/karo into it to increase the carb content.


I have read about the problems you're having at the moment with testing but please do as best you can to get tests every 20 minutes to make sure that Bones comes back up into safe numbers (ABOVE 70) and stays there.


Please excuse my use of block capitals above: I'm using them to emphasis key points quickly, I'm not shouting. :)

If you're not already at the vets, please post here for help.


Mogs
.
Hi Mogs,

Thank you for the information, it has been very helpful. We are continuing to monitor Bones' behavior closely. I have not been able to get a large enough blood sample for another reading, even after several attempts in different spots. He is still acting normal and showing no signs of hypoglycemia, but should he I will give him some honey and carb-heavy food. I'm going to try for another BG reading here shortly to see what is going with this poor guy. I appreciate the advice of taking him to the vet, and I am keeping that in mind, as I know this can become very serious quickly.
 
Try warming his ear first use a warm washcloth in a baggie. Thats what I use to use. You can also try milking the ear to bring the blood closer to the spot you are going to poke.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top