First successful paw poke 4.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lys7

Member
We finally got it!!!!!!!!!! Our first successful paw poke. It read 4.1 . This is +11. From what I just read online it said: This is an average non-diabetic cat's level[3][4], but leaves little margin of safety for a diabetic on insulin. Don't aim for this range, but don't panic if you see it, either. If the number is not falling, it's healthy.

This means he is really low, correct? Please help me interpret this. We are supposed to be feeding and shooting in an hour. Here I was thinking he was high all day. His legs were wonky this morning and he has now urinated 3 times today. One was an ocean. He slept outside most of the afternoon.

I sort of want to try and test again to be sure but I don't want to push my luck. Thoughts??

Thank you,

Alyssa
 
Hi and congrats to you for your first successful test! And yes 4.1 is way to low for you to shoot. Whenever I get a number really low or really high, I usually do a second test to make sure it wasn't a wonky number. When it is PMPS time and you test again, if Hotch's numbers are under 11.1, stall and do not feed. Retest in 20 minutes to see if the number will come up. Sometimes the anticipation of eating will bring up the numbers. If the number won't come up and you have to skip the shot tonight it is better to be safe than too low. We have a saying around here, it's better to be too high for a day than too low for a minute.

I saw that you are transitioning from dry to wet and if you have been successful with that, the lower numbers could be reflecting that change. It's a good thing you are testing. ;)
 
We just shot again (after many tries), and he was 4.0. I thought for sure the first one was wonky.. I guess not. It was time for him to eat and have his insulin but we definitely did not shoot. We have not fully transitioned yet, because we haven't mastered the home testing, so he still gets his 75 kibble + 1/4 can of wet for dinner.
 
Can we get you to set up a Spread sheet like the rest of us use? It will really help for the peeps here that are giving dosing advice to be able to help you and see what the pattern and trends are and how much you are shooting. I will give you the link and if you have any questions or need help to set it up just let us know and someone will help you.
How to create our spreadsheet
 
@Bobbie And Bubba , I would love to get a spreadsheet going once we can regularly get blood from him. Tonight was a bit of a nightmare and it took two of us. I feel like I may have scarred him from being picked up and held in my arms.
 
When you test him do you give him a "poke treat" Low carb of course. All I have to do is shake the bag of bonita flakes of Young Again Zero Carb Treats and Bubba come running. Even if you are not successful in getting blood after a few tries, give him a treat and praise and let him go. Soon he starts to associate the poke with the treat and it make test time so much easier.

Again congrats in the testing today. It is a huge feat!
 
Oh, yes! We have been giving treats after the rice sock and vaseline. Tonight we didn't use the rice sock since he was rolling around, trying to escape my arms, and we were trying to be quick. Thank you :) I may have had tears in my eyes once we got it. :p We have been trying so hard to get it.
 
Keep up whatever you are doing Alyssa, you are making great progress with getting him used to testing! I hope one day soon he will look forward to test time and the special attention and treats it brings. :bighug:
 
Great job Alyssa! Sorry I was out...I have a Saturday night group I go to. Thank goodness you were testing! Do you have a special testing spot? Gypsy knew when she heard me rattling the box of strips that it was test time and would go sit in our spot. She knew that she had to hold still and get tested there. It took a bit, but she got used to it and I think being in that one spot helped since she knew what it meant. And the treats of course!!
 
As soon as I picked him up he started squirming :(. He was 5.1 - I guess we won't be giving insulin this morning either. He woke me up at 6am meowing for food.
 
As soon as I picked him up he started squirming :(. He was 5.1 - I guess we won't be giving insulin this morning either. He woke me up at 6am meowing for food.
Well these low numbers are very exciting! This make no insulin for over 24 hours? I am not familiar with his history. Was he on a steroid prior to the Diabetes DX?
 
His last shot was at 730am yesterday, so 23.5 hours ago. He actually was given a long lasting steroid toward the end of last year (think it was supposed to last 10 days). He licks sores on himself. Thankfully we are down to only one small area on his leg and one near his armpit.
 
Steroids can cause transient diabetes, that is why I asked you if he had been on one because for to have such great response to being on insulin for such a short time is amazing. Also, with you getting him off the dry kibble and feeding low carb food can bring the numbers down incredibly. Do you know what his BG was when he was diagnosed?
 
Steroids can cause transient diabetes, that is why I asked you if he had been on one because for to have such great response to being on insulin for such a short time is amazing. Also, with you getting him off the dry kibble and feeding low carb food can bring the numbers down incredibly. Do you know what his BG was when he was diagnosed?

When we went in for the initial bloodwork, it came back at 26.1. I started giving him the wet Purina that night. We went back two days later and he was 24.7 .
 
When we went in for the initial bloodwork, it came back at 26.1. I started giving him the wet Purina that night. We went back two days later and he was 24.7 .
When the vet takes the BG, kitty is so stressed and we find that the BG can be anywhere from 100 -150 points higher due to that stress. I am so glad that you are home testing otherwise Hotch could have been in real trouble shooting that low. Keep up the good work! :cat:
 
Alyssa, so glad you are posting here in the ProZinc forum now. The folks here will give you great advice and help you keep Hotch safe. Also thrilled to hear you have managed a few more tests. Great job! I'm sure Hotch will get a little more comfortable with the process very soon. With the numbers you have been getting, it looks very promising for you to be able to get Hotch OTJ (off the juice) especially if you can get him onto a strictly wet diet. If you continue to get low readings and are not giving insulin, you can make the diet change without fear of hypoglycemia. GO Hotch! :D
 
WTG with getting a reading and what a great number for Hotch! Hoping he keeps giving you these nice numbers (anti-jinx!). My Cooter was one of the lucky ones, his diabetes was caused by steroids. When his pancreas finally kicked in it was very quick, and he was just suddenly too low to give insulin too. Hoping this is what you are seeing with Hotch! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top