First Successful Gluose Test.. Scary High Reading :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeremy & Henry the Cat

Member Since 2012
Well I was finally able to do a glucose test on Henry. I got enough blood, he cooperated, and no problems with the meter. He tested at 405 though. :( This was an hour after his injection. I'm scared, and I don't understand why it's so high! He's been eating okay and hasn't been acting funny. I'm going to call the vet in the morning. Any advice or suggestions?
 
I have been trying new injection spots, the one before this test was in a bit of skin between his thigh and belly. Maybe the last one didn't get into his system?
 
Don't panic......you got blood, you got a test in :thumbup , ride it out. I see you are using a One Touch meter. I have used the OTU meter since '98.......just the good old Ultra, not a mini or a smart, etc. Once you get up into the higher 300 numbers the OTU is known to read higher than some other meters. See what the morning brings and if possible and if you have ketone urine stix, test his urine just to be on the safe side. If you don't have either KetoStix or KetoDiastix, I would recommend buying some to test for ketones. You also might have missed on the shot......maybe not all went in. FWIW, I love and trust my OT meter, especially when you get down to low numbers. Just hang tight till morning and test then.
 
Thank you. I think I'm going to test him throughout the day tomorrow to try to get a curve. I've never heard of KetoStix or KetoDiastix but I will look into them! This may be a dumb question, but how do I get a urine sample?
 
Some use fish tank gravel in the litter box. Some just put the strip underneath when cat is peeing and get the strip wet. Some use a cup to catch the urine. I use a huge plastic ladle and once the cat starts peeing I put it under and catch urine. Then I pour the urine into a clear plastic cup so I can test and retest if needed. Most pharmacies carry the strips. Ketostix just test for ketones in the urine. KetoDiastix tests for glucose and ketone. Just ask at the pharmacy at Walmart, CVS, etc.
 
Oh it's just like testing except the other end ;-) One person would use a straw for length with the strip shoved in one end. I keep the stix near the box along with ladle and cups so I can just grab the ladle, put it underneath, catch the pee, pour into cup and then I can test. Sometimes soap becomes a must if you get peed on. My ladle has a really long handle too. Orginally I started with a normal gravy ladle and when I found the one I have now I was thrilled. Thank God my grandaughter did not voluteer to the cashier what it was for when she asked me about why I was buying such a big one nailbite_smile
 
400 seems high but it's not uncommon for a new diabetic and only an hour after his shot time. My Scooter's been on insulin for 10 months now and he gets reds every now and then too. Take a deep breath, you'll be ok!
 
Actually he's been on insulin for about a year and a half. He just got switched from Lantus to Prozinc about a week ago. I just started home glucose testing though.
 
Hi Jeremy & Henry.

Teronto and I are new FD Adventurer's. Brand spanking new babies as a matter of fact, so I can't offer any advise. Just encouragement and support. Teronto has had some pretty Yuck readings on me. Especially in the beginning, only a couple of weeks ago. I've seen "Hi" staring back at me from the meter. For my meter, that's anything over 600 I'm not sure if that's true for other meters. I would assume it is. But you never know. And tonight we started off at 449...I'm pretty sure that's effects from today's hypo. :(

I'm glad you're testing. Testing is such an important part of FD. I hope Henry was as tolerant of you learning to test as Teronto was with me.
 
Thanks. I've been a lazy cat dad, but I'm trying to make up for it. Henry has been a good sport, but I wouldn't call him tolerant. I can barely handle his crying when I stick him in the ear. I'm not looking at all forward to 4-5 ear sticks tomorrow, and I"m sure he won't be pleased either. He'll get used to it though, and he always gets a nice long brushing after the ordeal. Thanks for the support.
 
Ry & Scooter said:
400 seems high but it's not uncommon for a new diabetic and only an hour after his shot time. My Scooter's been on insulin for 10 months now and he gets reds every now and then too. Take a deep breath, you'll be ok!

That is true. Hopefully you fed him around the time he received his shot. Food will cause the BG to spike, even as much as a 100-200 and that is normal. Test again before his next shot. Most likely his BG reading will be much lower. Great job on testing and welcome to the vampire club. :lol:
 
Lots of praise and petting today when you are doing the tests - and treats! They have no nerve endings in their ears so we don't think it really hurts (evidenced by the many cats who eventually purr through the whole thing) so it's a matter of you being confident, poking fast and rewarding him. It will get easier - promise.

Here's something to help you through your curve today: Henry's SS

It's a copy I made. I can transfer it to you so you can input his numbers or you can set up your own for him here: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207 I can help you put it in your signature if you like.
 
I can barely handle his crying when I stick him in the ear
I think he's got your number and is faking you out. Some cats do "jerk" after the poke because the sipping of blood, which is done immediately, tickles them or feels weird to them. Lots of praise and brushing coming up today...good luck.
 
Jeremy,
Another method for getting the urine for ketone testing is to use an old teaspoon (I call it the "peespoon"), and once Henry has started peeing, slide the spoon down under his belly from the front and catch some urine mid-stream. I never get litter in the urine sample this way, since I keep the bowl of the spoon close to his body, and it's easier to catch the urine in the peespoon than it is to make sure the strip was saturated. You can actually hear a difference in sound when the urine starts hitting the spoon instead of the litter, so you know the spoon was in the right place at the right time.

Also, during testing, if you put some low-carb treats in front of Henry, it will distract him from the testing and make testing a positive experience. I used sardines packed in water (no salt) when I started testing Pumbaa back in April, and after about a month, I no longer had to bribe him with treats.

And, are you using a rice sock to get the blood flowing to his ear? (Old sock filled with rice and heated in the microwave for a few seconds to warm it up. Massage it against his ear and it warms the ear up and gets the blood flowing easier.)

Good luck to you and Henry!

Suze
 
His first test of the day went well. His reading was down to 355. Still high, but not so scary. He gets his injection in an hour, then I'll do another check about an hour after that. I set up a spreadsheet and added it to my signature. Wish me luck!

Thank you Suze for the tip. I'll try the "peaspoon". I did use a warming sock. The last couple times I've been able to get a good amount of blood. It looks like Pumbaa is also a black and white cat! They're the best. :)
 
Hurray! Great that you got the test and a spreadsheet. You and Henry are on your way! The U column is for units given, so please add that. It is important that you get him used to having a test before he eats and before you give the shot. At some point, he could be too low to get the amount of insulin you are planning to give, and you need to know that. The +1 test can be food influenced and is not as "true" a number as the prefood number. (We suggest no food for 2 hours before each preshot test.)

It will be interesting to see where he is midcycle. That will help you see how the insulin is working and whether a small increase or decrease is needed.
 
Ah, I didn't know he shouldn't eat before I test him. He's usually always got something in his bowl, as he's kind of a grazer. Is there a guide somewhere to how to use the spreadsheet? I don't really understand all the columns! When and how often should I be checking his blood on a normal day? Before each shot? Sorry for all the questions, it's just a bit overwhelming at first!
 
Well. the good news is that may be why you have been getting higher readings. This can turn out to be positive news! It is fine to let him graze during the day and night - just try to stop the food 2 hours before. (Many of us use automatic feeders which we can set to move to an empty slot at that 2 hour mark.

amps = morning preshot number
U = units of insulin given
+1 is one hour after the shot, +6 is 6 hours etc.
pmps= evening preshot number

You are doing great - this is such a steep learning curve at first. Just keep asking questions.
 
Correction...I use an old tablespoon. It's wider than a teaspoon making it easier to catch the urine.
 
I don't think I'm going to try to get a curve today after all. I'm not sure either of us are comfortable enough with the testing just yet to be doing it all day. I'll check him again this evening though. Is the norm to test twice a day before the injections? Should I take his food away a couple hours before each one? I think I just need to get into a routine like I did with his injections, and this will be much less stressful.
 
Always test before giving a shot, always. Taking food away 2 hrs. prior to normal shot time is good to do. You don't want food to be a factor in testing. A spot check maybe at +5 or +6 wouldn't hurt. Also, once testing becomes routine, never ever shoot without getting a test. I don't care if Henry throws you beautifull curves, becomes completely regulated, etc.....never become so sure you think you know where he'll be and then skip testing. We've seen it on the board......cat is doing great, basically well regulated, numbers pretty much the same every single day, owner backs off on testing and HYPO happens. Mishka does not believe in curves....she likes to be different every single day and has been that way for 9 years no matter the insulin type. I do spot checks and there have been those days that I am so thankful I do because I've caught her in time to ward off a hypo situation. Never take anything for granted or expect every day to be the same. Test before shooting no matter the years of being diabetic.

Mishka gets a pre shot test twice....first one earlier than normal time so if I get like a 165, I can then test at normal time and see if she is going back up or still going down. She's a game player :roll:
 
Hi Jeremy,

I know this is stressful for you, but you need to give yourself a warm reassuring pat on the back because you really have learned an awful lot in a very short space of time. And that 'learning curve' that you're one will soon level out somewhat and you'll suddenly find yourself thinking, "Hang on, I know how to do this...!"

Yes, testing is stressful at first. I never, ever, ever thought that my cat would tolerate testing. But even as I type this he's sprawled out next to my computer keyboard just hoping that I test him - because he gets treats when I test him and my desk is our 'testing spot'! :lol:

Yes, if you can, always - at the very least - get a test before you give insulin (what's called a 'pre-shot' number). And the general advice here is that you don't give a shot if your cat's BG is 11(200) or below. The next most important test to get is one maybe five (or six in some cats) hours later when your cat's BG will be at it's lowest. Any shots in between, and especially on the way DOWN will be hugely helpful to you.

Regarding high numbers, my cat Bertie was the King of them! Initially he didn't respond to insulin at all, and I felt absolutely sure that he was doomed. (And I'm Scottish born and nobody does 'doomed' like the Scots! ;-) ) However, here we are, nearly six years after his diabetes diagnosis and he looks way better now than he did back then!!!

Chin up, Jeremy; you're going to do just fine! But PLEASE be patient with yourself...
 
I just did another test at +6 and he was down to 200! Yay! I'm still not sure why his numbers were so high this morning, but I'm starting to suspect it's because of the food. Tonight I'll be sure to take his food a couple hours before his evening injection and test.

Thanks for all the kind words and advice, everyone.
 
AWESOME!!! Glad his number came down. Bet you had a sigh of relief.

FD is so stressful. You're in the right place. Everyone here has been so helpful to Teronto and I over the last couple weeks. I'm not sure how I would have managed without this forum and the all the advise and knowledge I've found here. They've been an invaluable resource for us.
 
That sounds fantastic, Jeremy! If you can get another number in an hour or so, it will give you a better idea of whether the nadir is really +6 or whether he continues to drop. It will be interesting to see if he makes it back up to 200 by tonight preshot time. If not, please come on for some advice before shooting.

Looking great!
 
57 is okay but you will watch to monitor to see that he doesn't go down into the 40s. If he gets there, give him some of the gravy off the higher carb food and retest in 20 minutes. If he goes into the 40s, come on and start a new thread and ask for help.

Looks like he won't be up to 200 for his shot. Time to reduce the dose.
 
Even if he is up to 200 (which doesn't seem likely?) I would not shoot three units again. He had a long run on three units when he started in the mid 300s; it would be likely if he dropped that same percentage starting at 200, he could likely get in that 40 range.

This is the most difficult part of starting at a high dose. You have to guess how much to reduce and worry if it will take him too low. It's why we suggest starting at that one unit and then slowly and carefully increasing, as your testing indicates.

What do you think (assuming he is above 200) about a restart at one unit, hold it for a couple cycles and add .25 -.50 unit if the numbers indicate?
 
I think one unit would be the best way to go. When he got on the Prozinc he had actually been off insulin for a couple of days (I was broke and ran out), and it was up to 500+. So the vet probably stuck with 3 units to get him back to normal. I guess I'll just have to see where it it as 10:30pm (his PM injection time) and go form there! Thanks for all your help, Sue!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top