? First shot, bg already down a little.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ivana R

Member Since 2019
Hi all,

First of all, thank you so much for the wonderful support. It has been so helpful both emotionally and physically knowing what tips and tricks to look out for, you all are wonderful :)

We had our first shot of insulin today at the vet and we went from yesterdays 361 to 341. Tomorrow morning will be my first time doing it on my own and will update. Is this a normal decrease from a single shot?

Thank you again for your replies!
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/high-glucose-otherwise-healthy-7-year-old-male.212851/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/newly-diagnosed-very-hesitant-on-giving-shots.213072/
Here are your welcome and other post from the main forum. If you can link them to your current post it will give helpers a full view of the picture and they won't have to go hunting for your last post.

Hi all,

First of all, thank you so much for the wonderful support. It has been so helpful both emotionally and physically knowing what tips and tricks to look out for, you all are wonderful :)

We had our first shot of insulin today at the vet and we went from yesterdays 361 to 341. Tomorrow morning will be my first time doing it on my own and will update. Is this a normal decrease from a single shot?

Thank you again for your replies!

We are very happy to help in any way we can......we understand the stress of having a newly diagnosed kitty with FD.
Can you put in your signature what type of meter you are using....human or Alphatrak please as it makes a difference..
Also when you are able to, do you think you could set up a spreadsheet to put the BSL numbers in? We always look at the SS when offering assistance and it is a wonderful tool for you to see how Geppy is responding to the insulin.
Here is the link. If you have any trouble setting it up just post and someone will help you.......I had to get help:rolleyes:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

Every cat is different (ECID) in its response to insulin. Some cats show an immediate response but often cats take a while before they show much response. Insulin is a hormone so acts differently to something such as an antibiotic. So it is a wait and see really.
But if the preshot is below 200 you may be advised to skip the dose. The best thing to do if you get a number under 200 is stall, don't feed and post and ask for help. Make sure you put HELP NEEDED WITH DOSE in the subject line. Test again 20 minutes later to see if the number if on the rise. The reason we say don't shoot below 200 is because you don't have any data on Geppy yet and we don't know how he will react to the insulin.
In all likelihood he will be higher than that but that is something for you to keep in mind, for when the occasion arrises.
BSLs ( blood sugar levels) fluctuate during the day and from day to day. They don't just come down and stay down. So a change from 361 to 341 is quite normal and really the difference is not much at all.
If you are ever unsure what to do always post and ask for help.
Good luck with starting out.........
Test during the cycle as well as before every shot so you can see how low the insulin is taking Geppy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top