First post

Hi and welcome Dinah and Shari to the forum.
I live in Sydney and will help in any way I can. Which city do you live in?
I can see you have been getting lots of good advice.

I am glad you have been testing for ketones since they appeared. I would do it daily if that is possible.
The best way to combat ketones is by giving insulin (don’t skip any doses)…more about this later… and making sure Shia is eating lots of food.
I would give him a snack of low carb food every couple of hours especially during the first half of all the cycles when the insulin is working the strongest.

I would follow the tight regulation, if he is not eating any dry food, as you can increase the dose more quickly. And you are testing enough to do the TR. Do you work from home or are you away for most of the day?

We can’t get 1/2 unit syringes in Australia but they can be bought from overseas. I will give you a link to INFORMATION FOR AUSSIE CAREGIVERS. It has useful information in it for you. There is a link to buying 1/2 unit syringes from the UK but someone told me they were not shipping at the moment. I found another place for them but I will have to look for it again. I will post it when I find it.

If you get a preshot BG under 200 I would stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising, and post and ask for advice. WE don’t recommend you skip a dose, if there are ketones in the history if all at possible.

If you could get your signature set up that would be very helpful….information about that here https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

ask lots of questions. It is overwhelming in the beginning and you may have to read through this thread a couple of times to take it all in.
Keep asking questions.
Bron
 
Hi and welcome Dinah and Shari to the forum.
I live in Sydney and will help in any way I can. Which city do you live in?
I can see you have been getting lots of good advice.

I am glad you have been testing for ketones since they appeared. I would do it daily if that is possible.
The best way to combat ketones is by giving insulin (don’t skip any doses)…more about this later… and making sure Shia is eating lots of food.
I would give him a snack of low carb food every couple of hours especially during the first half of all the cycles when the insulin is working the strongest.

I would follow the tight regulation, if he is not eating any dry food, as you can increase the dose more quickly. And you are testing enough to do the TR. Do you work from home or are you away for most of the day?

We can’t get 1/2 unit syringes in Australia but they can be bought from overseas. I will give you a link to INFORMATION FOR AUSSIE CAREGIVERS. It has useful information in it for you. There is a link to buying 1/2 unit syringes from the UK but someone told me they were not shipping at the moment. I found another place for them but I will have to look for it again. I will post it when I find it.

If you get a preshot BG under 200 I would stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising, and post and ask for advice. WE don’t recommend you skip a dose, if there are ketones in the history if all at possible.

If you could get your signature set up that would be very helpful….information about that here https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

ask lots of questions. It is overwhelming in the beginning and you may have to read through this thread a couple of times to take it all in.
Keep asking questions.
Bron
Hello Bron & Sheba
Thank you for your time we are in rural Vic very small town about 3h from Melbourne.
Am testing & dreading the ketones as it is how he was diagnosed then had another episode not so long ago so Am doing my best to test if not every day its up to 3 days max…now I also know what he does when it starts ….
He isnt on any dry only Fancy feast now though was also on meat up to 2 weeks ago
I managed to organise myself around his insulin & to stay as close as possible…..
I’ll dearly appreciate the link for syringes as the estimate on the ridiculously tiny BD ultra fine II is insane….thanks !!!!
Hardly ever skipped apart from once when I was unwell myself & he was on a number under which vet said not to shoot :-/
No clue what the signature set up is but looking it up now
Am on a Phone so its a big new world for me
Thanks again D & Shai
 
Hi and welcome Dinah and Shari to the forum.
I live in Sydney and will help in any way I can. Which city do you live in?
I can see you have been getting lots of good advice.

I am glad you have been testing for ketones since they appeared. I would do it daily if that is possible.
The best way to combat ketones is by giving insulin (don’t skip any doses)…more about this later… and making sure Shia is eating lots of food.
I would give him a snack of low carb food every couple of hours especially during the first half of all the cycles when the insulin is working the strongest.

I would follow the tight regulation, if he is not eating any dry food, as you can increase the dose more quickly. And you are testing enough to do the TR. Do you work from home or are you away for most of the day?

We can’t get 1/2 unit syringes in Australia but they can be bought from overseas. I will give you a link to INFORMATION FOR AUSSIE CAREGIVERS. It has useful information in it for you. There is a link to buying 1/2 unit syringes from the UK but someone told me they were not shipping at the moment. I found another place for them but I will have to look for it again. I will post it when I find it.

If you get a preshot BG under 200 I would stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising, and post and ask for advice. WE don’t recommend you skip a dose, if there are ketones in the history if all at possible.

If you could get your signature set up that would be very helpful….information about that here https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

ask lots of questions. It is overwhelming in the beginning and you may have to read through this thread a couple of times to take it all in.
Keep asking questions.
Bron

Will have to tetry the signature tomorw
In the meantime

Caregiver Sandra / Dinah
Kitty Shai black oriental male 11/05/08
07/06/21
Glargine
Accu check instant S
LC wet Fancy feast Classic meat and ultimates
itchy ear vet unsure 13/04 specialist referal to dermatolog if I dont wish to try apoquel

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1xiZiV6v296Xo22Dsw6Ck5v_VrgAhynR-exmyH9ivDL8/edit
 
Back
Top