Jen and Putty
Member Since 2011
Putty is a 10 year-old neutered male indoor domestic shorthair tabby(no, he's not just a cat :lol: ). For the last 5 years he has been pretty heavy (18-20lb on a frame that should be around 14). A few weeks ago I noticed a drastic increase in his water intake and urine output. He was also choosing to lay down next to his litterbox instead of following me around like normal. He also quit getting on our bed (pretty high) where he has slept almost every night. After about 3 days of this I took him to the vet, KNOWING it was diabetes. His bg was 482. He was down to 14lb. Thankfully we got him diagnosed and on insulin quickly. The game plan was lantus 1 unit bid for a week, then increase by 0.5 units per day if glucose readings indicate it was necessary. They wanted him on hills prescription diet W/D and when I was hesitant, telling them I really wanted to try low carb, they talked me into trying the hills prescription diet M/D. I bought one bag, did some more research and switched him to blue buffalo wilderness (grain-free dry food) and wet food. He was on lantus for about 10 days and his bg came down. Once it was staying below 150 we skipped a shot and kept testing. That was 8 days ago and he hasn't had any insulin since. Now my concern is that his bg is too low. He's running around 53-73 but not acting like anything is wrong. The vet wants me to add carbs back into his diet but I don't want to yo-yo him back into diabetes. They want his bg closer to 80-100. Any advice is appreciated!