First post. Hello everyone!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay okay Carolyn, I just tested and his BG is........wait for it...........wait for it..........

125!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :thumbup :thumbup :YMHUG:

I am so grateful!
 
Carl & Bob in SC said:
First off, AWESOME news! Does Thomas not have a tail, or is it just hidden in that picture? Very handsome little man!

I have a question for people well versed in Lantus/Lev. Having been dosed at 6u bid for a while, could the numbers today be somewhat related to the depot, and maybe it isn't empty yet?

Carl

Carl, he has no tail, no stump no nuthin.
 
LOL, well, Bob has a hint of something. Maybe one vertebra and a puff of fur. Affectionately known as his "nubbin"... You know when cats get all puffed up when they are trying to look tough? When Bob does that, his "tail" looks sort of like he's imitating a peacock. Just a inch long fan of fur.

Carl
 
Thanks for the pic! He looks sleepy, but otherwise good. Is Thomas continuing to improve -- with his walking, facial tic, strength, etc?

Update: The link above contained a picture of Thomas earlier this morning, but now when I click on the link, I see the photo of a young lady instead (??????)... just an FYI
 
Hmmm I get a picture of a person LOL.

Hopefully your vet knows he almost killed your cat and will learn from this. Scary as heck. I'm still in awe that Thomas survived. I bet Thomas doesn't think that way though - he is a fighter.

Great updates. I've been following along and looking for updates often.

There are some cats that are on insulin a very short time. I wonder if its pancreatitis or something causing the elevated BG numbers. The experts can comment on this. When Maverick passed my friend called me and told me about on of the shelter cats where she volunteered. He was diabetic and did nothing but sleep and he had started biting staff. I agreed to foster him. I avoided him when I went in three months earlier and adopted two non diabetic cats. I couldn't deal with a diabetic and my sick dog I thought. But I did agree to foster him because I knew I could probably get him in remission with the tight regulation lantus board's help. I tested him the first day before I gave him his shot and he was 49! They were giving him 2 units of Humilin N without testing. He has been playful, talkative and never bites since he's been here. And he tests at 49-51 every month we do his test. Hef is very lucky to have survived. I don't know how he did as long as he did. And he's only three years old. I'll be on the lookout for pancreatitis flares for him. I was also a failed foster - he's now a member of our family.
 
LOL I have no idea who the lady is or how THAT happened. Weird. I corrected the link. Hopefully it will stay corrected.

Yes, he is at 99 percent. Jumping up on the bed, no tics, eatting normally, talking etc. I now believe in miracles.
 
On behalf of the 549 people who viewed your posts over the last 2 days, let me just say "Phew" (big sigh of relief)!!! LOL! So glad this had a happy ending and that Thomas is almost back to 100%!!!! Give him a hug from me, and keep testing to make sure his BG stays low. I have read that some cats go into remission, but then relapse after a time. Hopfully Thomas is not one of them. But if you continue feeding him the wet, low carb food you have a better chance of maintaining his remission (or so I have read). :) Best of luck!!!!!!!!!!

Melanie
 
As per Carolyns advice I have removed the 911 from this thread (sorry still learning the ropes) She did want me to mention the vets reasoning for giving the Dextrose so agressively right after the hypo. I was spinning and spaced it. The Dr. wanted Thomas's brain to have alot of sugar to heal. Because the tics etc indicated there was trauma to the brain. I am just putting this forth for info, not advocating for it simply explaining her reasoning. I will also make a final post to summerize what I have taken from all of this.

In the meantime, here is Thomas 10 min. ago.

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b192/ ... Better.png
 
Wow, he's looking pretty darn good for a kitty who has been through all he's been through in the past 48 hours. :smile:

Carl
 
I stopped by to visit Thomas and Jeff this afternoon and drop off a different meter/strips donated by another FDMB member. I about fell over when I was greeted at the door by Thomas! And, I do mean that literally. :shock: This is one miracle boy! :mrgreen: He is jumping and walking around just fine. Super friendly and totally chill, letting a complete stranger come in and poke his ear. Good boy! cat_pet_icon

Thomas had a BG of 103 when I tested, approximately 45 minutes after eating. It sounds like Jeff will test at least once a day for a bit, requested by his vet! Because this is a peer review board, I will share that I suggested testing before a meal and a few hours after on occasion. I also thought this would be a good opportunity, since Thomas is having some trouble eating kibble, to just cut it out completely. Jeff does have another cat eating dry food, so he may appreciate if others have suggestions on how he can manage a multi cat household and special diet. Unless he is interested in switching the other cats to wet????

At this point it is hard to say if Thomas will ever need insulin again. If Jeff monitors and his BG's increase, I'm sure he will ask us for guidance alongside his vet's recommendations. We can get him set up with a ss, the correct syringes, hypo kit, etc. Until then we just celebrate Thomas being alive and well!

Since I have been on the board, I have seen few cats overdosed like this with such severe consequences. Let alone survive with no permanent damage! I believe every living being is here to bring something to the world. I think one of the messages Thomas leaves for us is loud and clear...home test your cat while giving insulin. I will definitely bookmark this (or Jeff's summary) as a reference for those who are unsure if they should hometest. Not to scare, but to help others understand the potential consequences. They are life threatening.

Thank you Jeff for reaching out and asking for help. Thank you for taking such good care of Thomas, and loving him no matter what. He really is one of a kind. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top