First home test for Shelby

Status
Not open for further replies.
Finally got blood from my turnip - as it were! :)
No BG this morning due to the cat running away... 1u 20 min after eating
Just did a BG at +10 (kitty burrito FTW!) and she's at 108
I'll PMPS in about 2 hrs and see where she's at
 
First blood is always the hardest. That kinda sounds like a vampire movie line.
 
108 at +10 is a pretty low number. We expect them to be moving up by then so they are in the 200s by preshot time. Was she? I hope you can get some levels; looks like she might need a small reduction.

If she is heading away when you want to get blood on the strip, you can always get the drop on your fingernail and test from there.
 
Sue - thanks for the info. She's been so tough to test, and has been hiding before/during/after testing and shooting. so I only got the 1 BG from last night. Today she was at 64 PMPS so I'm gonna keep an eye on her, do another test about 30 min. No AMPS because -again- having to flush her out of her hiding spots.
 
That was my thought. I'm gonna give a 1/2 dose (.5U) tomorrow, sequester her in the guest room and run a curve.

On a side note - Susan - I see you're near me! I'm in Arvada. Who's a vet you trust that's local?
 
We are close! Unfortunately I am not crazy about my vet. We moved here 3 years ago and I picked the nearest vet. I no longer have a diabetic so it isn't as big of a deal. I don't know anyone who is a good Fd friendly vet. I can only suggest interviewing them on the phone or at their office without your cat. Two of the most important questions could be: Do they support home testing? What kind of diet do they suggest?
 
So you ended with a 71 PMPS? Wow! I'm wondering how low she went through the day....with that kind of PMPS she could have stayed pretty low all day.

I'm thinking a dose reduction is definitely in order. Giving 1 unit on a yellow got you to a green preshot...are you able to get an AMPS today?
 
I agree. She is requiring less insulin. I know it's difficult but you need to get a preshot test daily as she is giving you some normal numbers and giving insulin on a number in that range could be dangerous. Some people block the bed and couch with boxes so she can't get in. Or keep her in a room with nowhere to hide.
 
PMPS 238

@Sue and Oliver (GA) or anyone else - should I go with the .5U as I did this morning? Or go back up to the 1U like she has been? I'm thinking the .5 to see what she does. If I do that, I'll run another BG before bed.
 
I'd stick with .5 for a few more cycles. One unit on a higher number (277) yesterday gave you an unshootable pmps. Let 's see if she settles in and gives you a lower nadir in the next few cycles.
 
Yep, I agree. I'd stick with that dose for a few cycles and see if that helps bring her gently down. :)
 
AMPS 351.
She'd only eaten a little bit between BG and shot, so will recheck in a bit.
Staying on 0.5U for another day or 2 and we'll see how she does. Going to try for a curve tomorrow and at least a nadir today.
 
Good morning Nikki ~ hope Shelby will eat some for you. Does she often not eat well? Hope you can get a nadir reading today and a curve this weekend would be a really good idea. The more you test, the easier it gets and the more used to she gets. You are doing a great job! :cat:
 
Good morning!
Little backstory to Shelby - she was feral when we got her at 8 weeks, and a former friend scared her so badly thr week after we got home, that it's been a struggle for her to trust anyone, so she's been a really flighty cat ever since. New people coming to the house - she hides, any change the house - she gets her nose in a snit. She often won't eat if someone is standing over her.

However...I just checked and her bowl is clean, and I saw she was eating again right after her shot! A good thing is, she loves the new food and the other cat hates it, so it's easy to monitor her food intake!
 
That is good news. Some kitties on the forum are real finicky eaters. It looks like you already know about the rule - no food for 2 hours before the AMPS and PMPS tests. If you accidentally give them food, it skews the test results.
 
Yep, I AMPS, then put food down and make sure she eats, then shoot roughly 20 min later. It's been interesting, but just another step in the morning routine.
 
That is lovely! It may be that her pancreas is helping out -'which would be great! It makes dosing more difficult because it can be an on and off thing. The pancreas might "wake up" for awhile and then "rest" awhile. You will need to stay on top of her numbers and give her a tiny bit if she needs it (maybe 0.5 minus a few drops?)
 
311 at PMPS so I'm sticking with the 0.5U tonight and thru tomorrow.

She's actually fairly compliant so far about ear sticks and shots. Flushing her out of her hiding spots is another thing! She'll get a curve tomorrow depending on her AMPS.
 
That is probably the case - a high number from lack of insulin. Always good to be safe. The numbers from yesterday look great! Let's hope for a repeat in the future.
 
Good to know. Tonight she was 176 so I suspect she'll be mid 300s tomorrow since no PM shot.
Tomorrow also brings the rise of the back-to-work schedule (I'm a teacher), so it's going to be a steady 6am AMPS and roughly 6pm PMPS.
 
In good news, since you had to skip, you can change the shot schedule with no problem! Her numbers are good, but it would be great if we could get her 2 shootable preshot numbers.

Have a good school year! I used to teach a few years back, and I remember those first few days are exhausting!
 
So...yesterday and today she's has no pm shot, but AMPS numbers have been in the 350s
Should I back her am dose down a hair to see if we can get her into a shoot-able PM range?
I'm currently on U40 syringes, but it's not a problem to go and get the 100s.
 
I'm using U100's. Much finer needle. Lately I just use the kitchen calculator and multiply the dose x 2.5. The conversion chart works well too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top